We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value and a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm very familiar with Kansas City and like to stay near the Westport / Plaza area. Westin's never fail to disappoint and this property was no exception. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and well-appointed. Best of all, the price was very reasonable. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
SkyLordHeuksa- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax and unwind in the comfort of your Westin Heavenly bed. It means a lot to our team you consistenly enjoy your stay. We value your loyalty and look forward to creating many more welcoming stays for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    349
    173
    81
    46
See reviews for
267
271
77
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed at the Westin on April 3, 2013 in room 1441. Check in was very easy, very friendly and fast. Room was clean, spacious and had a great view of the WWI Museum and monument. Easy walk on the Link to Jack Stack BBQ and had breakfast at Einstein bagel in the Crown Center. (I recommend both).

The only reason I am not rating this Excellent is that there is a $5 fee to work out in the gym. The gym is one of the best I've ever seen in a hotel, but still. I am paying $200+ per night and you can't let me in to the gym? Also, there is an extra fee for internet. $9.95 for basic and $19.95 for premium.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in KC on business.

Room Tip: Go to Einstein Bagels for breakfast instead of the expensive hotel restaurant. Take the link to Unio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
NashvilleTNGuy- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is such a delight to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to provide quick and efficient service, allowing you to have more time to relax and unwind in the comfort of your room. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center, surrounding so many great KC attractions and it is great you were able to use our link covered walkway to dine at Fiorella's Jack Stack BBQ as well as visit all of the shops and restaurants in Crown Center. Your feedback means a lot to our team and we value the business you bring to The Westin. We look forward to having you back in the future to create another successful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

For the past 20+ years my sorority has held our Cotillion Scholarship Presentation for high school seniors in our area. We use various areas of the hotel (sleeping rooms, meeting rooms, ballroom, lobby area, restaurant, etc.) The staff are excellent. The hotel is clean from top to bottom. When the evening ended it was nice to retire to a comfortable sleeping room. Our choice will always be the Westin Crown Center. We love the newly remodeled lobby area. Such class!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
MelbaU- Thank you very much for sharing your warm feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am beyond delighted to hear that your Cotillion Scholarship Presentation was a huge success and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure everything ran smoothly. We take great pride in our Westin Heavenly beds and knowing you were able to unwind and enjoy the comfort of your room after a long and busy day is graet. Your loyalty to the Westin means so much to our team and we are honored to be your choice of hotel whenever you are in the area! The new lobby renovations are very exciting for us and I am happy you enjoy the new product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel in the past and the rooms are very well appointed with upscale amentities and the most comfortable beds you can ask for! The shower is amazing with the rain showerhead. The newly renovated lobby is beautiful. The customer service was outstanding. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
aztravelpro- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear each time you stay with us you consistantly enjoy your stay and are able to relax and unwind in the comfort of your Westin Heavenly bed. Our new rain shower heads are a huge hit with our guests and I am happy you loved the new touches as well as the amenities provided in your room. The Westin team values your loyalty and looks forward to serving you as our guest and creating many more top notch and welcoming stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed in corner room 1642 with excellent views of Kansas City, well appointed, clean and located next to Union Station and the WWI museum. While the staff in the hotel's bar/restaurant was a bit aloof and the food less than inspriring there are many great restaurants within walking distance.

I understand the lobby was recently renovated and it is beautiful. Overall this is an excellent hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
sfallsguy- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and were ablet to enjoy the comfort of your room with the beautiful view of Union Station and the World War I museum. We are very excited about the new lobby renovations and it is so great that you are happy with the finished touches! We truly value your business and look forward to having you back to our hotel to create many more relaxing and memorable stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I had the recent pleasure of visiting the Kansas City area for some NCAA Tournament basketball. My wife and I stayed at the Westin at Crown Center. Man did we come out a winner. While it's not a new hotel, it's well appointed with a great set of restaurants, an exercise room, and a heated pool. It was a kick to see families enjoying themselves in the pool amidst a boot topping snowfall. The convienent hotel shuttle provided a carefree ride to Sprint Center to watch some great basketball minus the hassle of driving in the snow and then paying 15+ dollars for parking. The Westin was close to almost everything on our weekend agenda. Three blocks away was the World War I Museum where I did some research on my Grandfathers' enlistment as an Iowa farmboy in 1917. A fantastic steak dinner at Plaza III in Country Club Plaza was a six minute ride away. An unexpected treat were the cinnamon rolls at Big Mommas there at Crown Center saved later for a great midnight snack. Each of the three full days of activities ended with our melting into our pillowtop matresses while watching the huge flatscreen TV---standard fare accou'trements indicative of a 'high-class joint'. A great value, at a great place, in a great town. johnirving409

Room Tip: Put yourself in the capable hands of their friendly and very professional Desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
john s- Thank you very much for taking your time to share you feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am thrilled to read about the great experience you had with us during the NCAA tournament and were pleased with our new lobby renovations! It is great to hear you were able to take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service we offer to Sprint Center as well as enjoy all of the local attractions walking distance or just a short cab ride away! Your business means so much to our team and we are very excited to get the chance to create such a memorable stay for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Westin Crown Center was the perfect location for our trip to the NCAA Tournament. A shuttle provided transportation to and from Spring Center every 15 - 20 minutes--with bad weather this was very important to us. The room was great, as expected, and we arrived early and got to check right in. We also got a late check-out to co-ordinate with our schedule of attending games.
The staff was friendly, knowledgable, very helpful, and most accomodating. Be sure to try the $5.00 breaksfast sandwich at the bar down by the newly remodeled lobby. It was delicious and the price was a real bonus!! I also ordered a latte to go with the sandwich--perfect combo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
klh-RCJH- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the NCAA tournament and that the location worked out perfectly for you! I am so happy that our staff was so friendly and accommodating, helping to arrange early and late check outs so you could enjoy the games! Your feedback means so much to our team and we look forward to serving you as our guest in the future to create another warm and welcoming stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.