We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay several times a year and always have good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Save Saved
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Birmignham, AL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay several times a year and always have good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Westin Crown Center has always provided excellent service. Helpful staff and even during their renovations project which we were to to expect ahead off our visit was not an inconveince in any way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Scott P- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. We are very fortunate to have you as a loyal guest and I am pleased to hear our staff consistantly provides signature service during your stays. The Westin is very excited about the new renovations going underway this month! We look forward to hearing what you think of the finished product! Thank you again for your warm feedback and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    772
    307
    151
    71
    41
See reviews for
243
245
72
562
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Crown Center and Downtown Kansas City has it all. Shopping great food, entertaiment, and histroical venues within walking distance or a short cab ride. We stay there once a year and always looked forward to our return. Great staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Marty H- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, so close to many of Kansas City's favorite attractions. I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the convenient location of the Westin and take advantage of the shops and restaurants, Union Station and the World War I Museum. It is great to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay. We value your loyalty and appreciate your warm comments. The Westin looks forward to having the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future and hear what you think of the new lobby renovations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolckow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great Service what I like is all you have at hand to do, center of lots of fun. My wife and I started staying here last year for our anniversary to shop and we like the playhouse called American Heartland Theatre great times you have to see a show. The lobby is fun to relax retail shop right off the lobby. Very nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Jim L- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you and your wife celebrated your anniversary here and continue to return. We value your loyalty to our hotel. The Westin takes great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am pleased to hear you enjoy the American Heartland Theatre! I am so pleased we are able to create a relaxing stay for you and your wife when you come and visit. We are renovating out lobby this month and are excited to hear what you think of the finished product! Thank you again for sharing your warm comments and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

My Fiancé and I planned a weekend trip here for some relaxation, celebration and shopping. The staff was courteous and efficient. We are very much looking forward to our next stay at the Westin! The staff truly makes it feel like a 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Maggifer- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your warm feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is such a pleasure to hear our staff was able to make you and your Fiances stay feel like a "home away from home." Customer service and very important to us and knowing we were able to create a relaxing and memorable stay is so great. The Westin is very excited to have you both back in the future and provide signature service. We will be renovating our lobby this month and cannot wait to hear what you both think of the finished product! Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have stayed at other Starwood properties and was expecting first class service but but from the curb this service " top notch ". It stayed that way the entire stay! For example, we couldn't find a vending machine on our floor. Rather than tell where, room service brought it to us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Gary B- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. We appreciate your loyalty to the Starwood brand and it is so great to hear our staff provided "top notch" service and were able to exceed your expectations. It makes me so happy to hear our staff was so accommodating to any of your needs during your entire stay. It is very important to the Westin to create a relaxing and refreshing stay for our guests. We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the future and creating another signature stay for you. Check out the great packages we offer for the new Union Station Exhibit as well as the Sea Life and Lego Land packages for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

This is always a good place to stay on business. The rooms are clean and the beds are absolutely the most comfortable around. The front lobby is a great place to meet and visit. The only weaknesses are that they have charges for Internet and for the use of their very nice workout room. Other than that, this place is great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Kemper07- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is a delight to hear you enjoyed your clean room and found the Westin Heavenly Beds comfortable. This is one of our favored amenities in our hotel and it is great to hear you enjoyed it. I am happy to hear you enjoy the lobby and find time to relax and visit. We will be renovating the lobby this month and it will be great to hear what you think of the new improvements! We value your loyalty to the Westin and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I travel to Kansas City about 4 times a year on business and normally stay near the airport. This time our meetings were held at the Westin Crown Center. I didn't realize the Hotel was in the city and was a little concerned.

First impressions mean a lot and Westin did their job. The Hotel is first rate, the door staff was courteous and professional and the entrance gives the impression of a five star organization. Beautiful lobby connected to a very nice bar and restaurant.

When I received my room, I was asked if I would like to move to a better view as they were working on the pool. Views don't concern me and told them not to bother. For the record, the view was fine anyways, outside my window was the WWI Monument and Muesum...along with the pool! Very nice at sun set.

The room, TV, bathroom (with water fall shower head) and bed were first rate.

The Hotel is connected to a 3 floor shopping mall with stores and restaurants, Lego Land, an aquarium (which I visited to kill time) and access to the Union Train Station. Many high end and middle places to eat. We ate at Pierpont's at the Station and the steaks were perfect.

Since it was Christmas time, the area around the hotel was decorated and it was fun to walk around.

The business accomodations were perfect for our meetings and there was plenty of space for the 200+ participants to meet during and after.

I hope we book here again. The price was perfect and the Hotel delivered!

Room Tip: One side has great views of downtown, the other the pool and WWI Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Christopher T- Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you were able to stay at the Westin during your business trip this time! I am so happy that we left a great impression and that our staff was friendly and accommodating upon your arrival and throughout your stay. The Westin Heavenly Bed as well as our new showers are a favored amenity by our guests and I am pleased you were able to relax and unwind with these wonderful amenties. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great to hear you were able to take advantage of the convenice of the restaurants and shops as well as the Link to Union Station. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future. We will be renovating the lobby this month and would love to have you back and hear what you think of the new improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.