We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Topeka, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I chose the Westin at Crown Center for my Honeymoon. Both my wife and I are students and did not have the time to leave the Kansas/MO area so I chose KC. It was a great choice! The beds are great! Rooms are clean! Staff was wonderful! I would recommend to anybody traveling in the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
13Drew- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear that you and your wife to chose to celebrate your honeymoon with us! I am pleased to hear our staff took great care of you and that you both were able to unwind and enjoy the comfort of the Westin Heavenly Beds. We value you business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you as out guest in the future and create another memorable and relaxing stay. Throughout the year we have great packages we offer on our website. For you next stay, check these these out. Thank you again for your warm comments and hope you enjoyed your honeymoon at the Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    349
    173
    81
    46
See reviews for
267
271
77
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family and I had a great stay at the Westin. We go each year over the Thanksgiving weekend to "kickoff" the Christmas season. We had a great time seeing the lighting of the Mayor's Xmas tree as well as shopping at the Crown Center shops. We also visited Union Station and also the Sea Life Aquarium. All of this is in walking distance and we never had to drive anywhere once we checked in!

Room Tip: During the Christmas season a view of the Mayor's Christmas Tree is a great view. Along with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dennis W- Thank you for taking your time to share you feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear your family has made it a tradition to stay at our hotel every year to kickoff the Christmas season. I am happy you all enjoyed the lighting of the Mayor's Christmas tree and were able to take advantage of the shops and restaurants in Crown Center as well as our new Sea Life Aquarium. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, surrounded by so many fun attractions. We value your business and look forward to having your family back again next year to create another memory. The Westin lobby will be going under renovation in December, it will be great to hear what you think of the finished product next time you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conifer, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've been staying at Crown Center for over 30 years and still have a great time when we visit. We were in Kansas City for my wifes birthday and had a great time. The Plaza is not far and is a great place to visit with shopping and great resturants. Rooms and service are excellent and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay with many ammenties. Resturants are all excellent and we have got to know several of the staff and even though we only get to KC three or four times a year they always remember us. The Street Car Named Desire is one our favorite places along with Milanos. Happy hour at Milanos is great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have great views and would recommend a corner room. However there standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Scott G- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I would like to thank you for your 30 years of loyalty to the Westin and am so pleased you chose to celebrate your wifes birthday with us. The Westin takes great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and it is so great to hear you enjoyed Milanos Italian Dining and a Street Car Named Desire. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your room service meals and that our staff is always friendly and accomodating. We truly value you as our guests and are fortunate to have you stay with us and create memories. We will be renovating our lobby in December and I am very excited to hear what you and your wife think of the finished product! Thank you again for your loyalty and your warm comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights after spending 2 nights in the Downtown Sheraton in St. Louis. This was much nicer. Beds were obviously very comfortable, but the toiletries were nice, the shower was better than expected, and the furnishings were very good for the price point.
It wasn't cheap, but it wasn't terribly expensive.

In terms of location, it's about 1 mile to the Power and Light district.
We took a taxi one time, and then walked the other 2 times. It was actually a good walk and we didn't feel like it was a bad area. But we were a couple of guys, and if my wife had been with us, we probably would have taken the taxi each night just to make her happy.

The customer service was very good.

The layout of the hotel is a little weird, but I think that is because of the shopping around it.
I would go here again, but I wouldn't have minded being closer to the Power and Light district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Eric D- Thank you for taking your time to share your comments on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the Westin Heavenely Beds as well as our new showers as well! The Westin strives to provide signature service for our guests and it is great to hear our staff took exceptional care of you. We value your business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future. If you have not done so already, check out the great SeaLife and LegoLand packages we offer on our website for your next stay. Thank you again for your comments and have a great holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I love this hotel, and recently had another excellent visit. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. rooms are very comfortable, and often with a great view of Kansas City skyline.The adjacent mall and facilities are wonderful and fun. The location is central and very, very convenient. Great Bar as well!

THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Be sure to check AAA or government deals, if appropriate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Marc L- Thank you for taking your time to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was friendly and accomodating. The Westin takes great pride in our Heavenly Beds and I am glad you founds them comfortable and refreshing. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and I am pleased to hear you found the location convenient and were able to take advantage of the shops and restaurants! We truly value your loyalty to the Westin and look forward to having you back in the future. We will be renovating our lobby in December and would love to hear what you think of the finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everything about this hotel is first class. I was in Kansas City for a busiess and pleasure weekend and this stunning hotel made the trip a pleasure. I had the opportunity to order breakfast in the room . . . . really recommend the smoked salmon, bagels, avocados and tofu (really, tofu...who knew?). Check in and check out were effortless and the location in downtown Kansas City made everything on my itinerary simple. I would love to stay in this hotel again . . . soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Steins12345- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your weekend at our hotel and found everything first class! The Westin strives to create a relaxing and refreshing stay for our guests and it sounds like we were able to accomplish that! I am pleased you enjoyed the room service and that check in and check out were effortless. We value you loyalty to the Westin and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future. We will be renovating our lobby in December and can't wait to hear what you think of the new improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for getting around the city. The food in the restaurant was poor and the service was very bad. If you want to get something to eat, go into the Crown Center Mall where there are much better food options.

I can't understand how a hotel at this level still charges for in-room WiFi when it's usually free at much lower-end hotels. I guess they relay on the corporate expense account crowd.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Walt_Sobchak- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location of our hotel and found it convenient to get around the city. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of the restaurants in Crown Center. We value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest again. Check out the club lounge access for your next stay which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evening and internet access in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.