We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No fitted sheets” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Iowa Park, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“No fitted sheets”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

If you want a bad nights sleep on a bed with a flat pad and sheet that slide around instead of a fitted pad and sheet all for a couple hundred a night stay here. I have requested a remade bed three times and been treated as though this is a strange request and as though this is normal at all hotels and informed there is not a fitted sheet available. We are leaving a night early.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Andrea S- Thank you for taking your time to share your comments and concerns with your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I apologize for the issues you encountered with your bed as well as the lack of follow up from our staff. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams so we can work to avoid these issues in the future. This is not what staying at a Westin should feel like. I hope your stay does not affect negatively on other Starwood Properties. We would love the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future. If you would like to future discuss your stay, please contact our Front Office Manager, Wes Wilt at 816- 474-4400 so can we learn more. Thank you again for your feedback, as we take this very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    335
    166
    78
    45
See reviews for
257
263
76
602
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I travel to Kansas city often for business and this is my favorite hotel in KC because of the following reasons:

- Very good location: The hotel is within walking distance to Union Station and World War 1 memorial. There are several shops and excellent restaurants nearby.

- Room: The room is spacious with typical Westin decor, modern but not pretentious. The bed is very confortable. It usually takes a long time for me falling to sleep at home, but not when I'm staying at the Westin. May be it's time to buy a new matress :)

- Service: the staffs are very friendfly and helpful. Check-in/check-out was a breeze.

If you're looking for a good place to stay in Kansas city, this hotel should be on your list.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
411Huan_L- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am so pleased to hear the Westin is your favorite place to stay in Kansas City! The Westin is very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center. It is great to hear you find the location convenient and are able to take advantage of the Link covered walkways to get to local attractions. I am glad you enjoyed your room and found the Westin Heavenly Bed comfortable and refreshing. You can purchase any of our Heavenly Bed products on the Westin Home Shop. The Westin strives to create a refreshing and relaxing stay for our guests and I am happy to hear they were friendly and helpful, making check in and check out quick and easy. We value your loyalty to the Westin and look forward to creating many more memorable stays for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My first time at the Westin Crown Center and it was excellent -- from the first greeting at check-in to the waitstaff at the restaurant to the convenience of the meeting rooms and conference activities, nothing but appreciation and kudos for making a quick business trip stay a breeze. And, the location and ease of access and parking made it possible to sneak in a quick family reunion with home-town folks now living in the KC area. Thank you Steve and Team Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dale M- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am so pleased you enjoyed your first visit at the Westin. I am glad you found the location of the meeting rooms convenient. We truly value your business and are so happy the Westin team was able to create a relaxing and convenient stay for you. We look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Vista, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Overall experience at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City' MO was excellent. Stay was for a business meeting I attend every year and this year was the best. Service was great from the front desk to bell hops and resturant. Great nights sleep and within walking distance of Union Station and Jack Stack. Very enjoyable stay and would reccommend to anyone traveling to Kansas City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Terry H- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am so pleased to hear this year your stay was the best! The Westin takes great pride in our customer service and it is great to hear every employee you came in contact with was helpful and made you feel welcome. We value you business and loyalty to the Westin. We will be renovating the lobby in December and look forward to having you back next year to hear what you think of the new improvements. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to serving you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Attended an annual conference that was held at the Westin. Very welcoming enviroment the and the hotel decor was awesome! Everything you need (shopping, food, entertainment, etc.) is within walking distance or connected to the hotel. I would definitely recommend the Westin as this has become my top lodging choice whenever I am in KCMO!

Room Tip: Can't really answer that considering this was my first trip. Worse case scenario, just ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Eddie A- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your positive comments on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and felt welcome and wanted when you arrived. We are so fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great to hear you had everything you needed within walking distance. We value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future. The Westin lobby will be starting renovations in December, I look forward to hearing what you think of the new improvements! Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Holland, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a great stay while at the Westin in Kanas City. The property was very beautiful and the staff was very accommodating. I did not like that the restaurants closed early on Sunday. That was my only negative comment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Mattie P- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am so pleased your enjoyed your staff with us and found our porperty beautiful. It is great to hear our staff was accomdating and helped with all of your needs! The Westin takes great pride in providing signature service to our guests. We appreciate your loyalty to the Westin and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future. We will be renovating the lobby in December and look forward to hearing how you like the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a lovely experience; I usually dread conference, but the room and amenities more than made uo for this. The mattress was perfect and the shower a dream. I appreciate the prompt room service staff and quality of the food. The hotel facilities contained a Day Spa with an excellent staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the gardens. The higher floors have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Ruth C- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your warm comments on your recent stay at the Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you had a lovely experience and that you were able relax and enjoy the Westin Heavenly Bed in your room. The Westin staff strives to provide signature service for our guests and it is great to hear the room service staff was prompt. I am happy we were able to make your conference more pleasant than you were expecting! We value you business and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future. We will be renovating the lobby and December and look forward to hearing what you think of the new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.