We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene rooms after a busy day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serene rooms after a busy day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

My daughter plays club volleyball so we travel quite a bit. Like a lot of other trips we had used a booking service so had very little control over the hotel. We stayed in a Westin in Indy last month that was closer to the games but this hotel was far superior. The rooms were quiet and the serene pale blue on the walls helped calm everyone down after a busy day. They also blocked all our team next to each other. Parking was reasonable, Crown Center is actually attached to hotel and Union Station was just across the street diagonally. It's also only 1.2 miles from Bartle Hall,part of the Convention Center, so two of us walked there which is totally doable (during daylight hours only) AND since parking was so bad by the convention center we were already inside,in our seats when the others who drove finally found parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabhyde, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the volleyball tournament, Kansas City and your experience with The Westin Crown Center. We look forward to having the event again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    349
    173
    81
    46
See reviews for
266
271
77
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berryton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a corner room on the 17th floor. The view from one side was downtown and Union Station and the other side was the WW one memorial. It was beautiful. The room had stained, frayed carpet, stains on the ceiling, stains on the chair, the tv service did not work on Saturday morning. Front desk staff helpful, bartender was not friendly at all. Valet parking staff very friendly. I do suggest you call down ahead for your car.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabhyde, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
We appreciate your feedback reagrding your stay with us and sincerely apologize for the defects encountered in your guestroom. I can assure you we immediately addressed the items you brought to our attention. Please contact me directly when planning your next trip to KC. 816-474-4400.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We are in our second room and are checking out early because we can't stand this hotel. We would have left the minute we checked in however we didn't have a car and it was right next to where our conference was located. We were told that the hotel was renovated about three years ago. I'm not sure what they did. Everything looks old, the sheets and towels are torn and everything is dated. We thought the name Westin would hold true and it would be a decent hotel but it's like no other Westin we've stayed at before. It's a disgrace to the Westin name. We're sucking it up and going to pay for a car to stay somewhere else because it's so bad. We're going to the Raphael hotel. Both of our rooms had little doors by the window that didn't lock. The windows don't seal and cause loud howling when there's slight wind, our first room had the ceiling peeling off, the elevators stop on almost every floor at all times of the day to pick up all of the conference people. The fridges are old and gross. They look like they are from the 70s and are all scraped up and dirty. Our carpet by the window has a strip ripped up and the heavy blue drapery looks like it's from a funeral home. The gym has more equipment than a normal gym but you have to pay $5 per day and you have to check in and out of the gym and pool. And our key's stopped working half way through our trip. There's really no restaurants around except what's at the freight house. Go to Grunauer and skip the other two. It's about a $12 cab ride to the Plaza so if you want things to do don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't get corner room. it's a weird shape and you can't turn the lights on and off at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel is terribly overrated. First of all, it's obvious that it has not always been a Westin property. I travel frequently for business and have never experienced a Westin this bad. Many of the Westin amenities you expect, like the double shower head in the "heavenly bath" are absent. Our favorite Westin so far is the one in Napa, CA. It's not luxurious, but it's new, clean, spacious, and offers all the basic things you expect from a Westin. In contrast, this hotel offered one bad experience after another:

1. The place is a dump. Period. The bathrooms look like they were pieced together with crap from a scrapyard. Ours had 3 different colors/patterns of granite/marble/tile. The rooms are barely clean, super dusty, and the elevators look like crap was spilled all over the doors. This was obviously not from a recent incident because the brass doors (which betray the age of the building) had tarnished with the pattern of the spills. The "charming" little windows in the elevator hadn't been cleaned in weeks, and the whole property is attached to a crappy little mall. They claim the rooms were recently renovated, but we tried two different rooms, and saw the inside of the Plaza Suite (which looks like a 1980's beach house rental) and I am not sure what was "renovated." The mirrors in the bathrooms have eerie fluorescent backlighting and the toilets look like they came from a public restroom in the train station across the street. All the rooms have weird little "Hobbitt Doors" behind the curtains, presumably for HVAC, but you might want to check behind yours to make sure something's not going to pop out in the middle of the night.
2. It's basically a convention center and the elevator will stop at every single floor to pick up people with name tags who look like they just walked off the set of NBC's "The Office." There is no reason to stay at this hotel if you are not attending a convention in the building or close by. I reiterate, if my company was not paying for the stay, I would have walked out.
3. The decor is super dated--again, not like any Westin I've ever been in--everything from the powder blue walls, heavy drapery, brass and tile elevators, and the tacky little "faux bistro" in the lobby. This had free breakfast for our group, which was fine, but again, "free" was the only reason we even set foot in the place.
4. As a final illustration of how bad this hotel is, and how much of a ripoff it would be to pay full price, the hotel was full of middle school girls in town for a volleyball tournament who basically treated the entire hotel like a giant playground. They were even given rooms on the SPG floor, which is usually reserved for business travelers. High school groups usually stay at a Holiday Inn Express or something comparable. So if the Westin is offering them a cheap enough rate to stay here, you can be sure that you're getting ripped off if you pay any more than $99 a night.
Bottom line, if you have to stay here for a business trip, you might as well put up with it. But if you're looking to visit KC, there are numerous other (less expensive) hotels that I am sure would be nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Our guests feedback is genuinely important to us and we sincerely apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent visit with us. If I can assist you in any way, please contact me directly 816-564-1434 and ask for Jeff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our 11th floor room had friendly and gracious staff, spectacular views from the balcony of the WWl Monument, the magnificent Bloch fountain, and breathtaking Union Station. But airleaks around the frames of the sliding glass doors of our room caused loud whistling all night (and day...it was windy weather). The bathroom had no light in the tub/toilet area, and no exhaust fan. (There was a patched area above the tub where these amenities had formerly existed.) The fluorescent lighting in the bathroom buzzed so loud it was like some kind of comedy movie, except it was not funny after a few minutes. The bottom sheets on the beds were too small for the mattresses (didn't even completely cover the sides, so could not be tucked in.) There were mattress pads with no elastic straps to hold them in place, So the bed quickly turned into an uncomfortable rumpled mess as soon as you got in it. There were a few minor aesthetic issues, such as a rusted drain in the bathroom sink, and loose strands of frayed carpet protruding from the bathroom threshold, but the room was basically attractive. The lobby is lovely with a dramatic lushly landscaped indoor waterfall. The location is excellent. But those factors did not make up for the howling noise around the doors (you could feel the wind blowing through the cracks.) Or the oppressive buzz of the bathroom lights. Also, when I emailed the Westin company to alert them to the maintenance issues of this room, the first response I got indicated that they had not read my letter, and when I replied, pointing out that their requested info was all contained in my original letter, except for the confirmation number, they said that they could not consider my complaint without the confirmation number.

Although the location is excellent, and there were many good things about the establishment, I would not choose to stay there again. I prefer hotels with more emphasis on room comfort, and where things like internet, fitness center, and breakfast are all included. (Westin charged extra for all these.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you very much for the comments regarding our location and staff, and bringing to our attention the defects you encountered. All of our sliding glass doors will be addressed in upcoming property enhancements. At your convenience, I would appreciate the opportunity to received some additional information by either email at crown@westin.com or 816-564-1434.
Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The room itself was "straight down the center". Perfectly pleasant, but not much to write home about either. The view, of the WW I monument, was fun. There's a pool, and tennis courts, which was great for us because we'd brought tennis racquets. Union Station across the street is worth checking out, but it's more of a shell than a vibrant station. I thought Crown Center would be interesting, but it's a dumb mall, and the only interesting things within walking distance are the above and a couple of things in the Crossroads district. But it's central to a number of things if you have a car- and you should have a car to do anything in KC.

Room Tip: A view of the monument was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcharlton, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Please let us know when you will be returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamerco, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Here for 4 days for a conference, and got a good rate ($160). Staff could not have been more helpful - friendly and courteous. Very helpful with directions and questions, etc. Helped us fax some papers. . . Beautiful, well designed hotel, 30+ years old. Rooms nice, and beds very comfy; bathrooms have been updated; conference rooms were beautifully decorated. Yes, this is an older hotel and showing its wear, but its very nice.
Hotel is adjacent to the shops at Crown Center (I spent a ton of $$ at Halls mens store - great sale prices on very high quality clothing), hotel is across street from Union Station, close to downtown and the Plaza - - very central. We found great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.
Overall, hotel - very good experience!

Okay, now the very significant complaint = the Brasserie restaurant. First, the gentleman running the coffee bar / counter in the restaurant. No "hello!", no smile (altho he cracked big smiles for fellow staff members), no "Good Morning", but the big flunk is that I all but had to catch his eye to get a cup of coffee and order breakfast, even tho' he was standing a few feet in front of me. He wasn't discourteous or unpleasant, he just wasn't anything more.

His job also was to run the carry out coffee line. The coffee line ran 5-10 people thick, and and meanwhile he showed no interest in moving any faster to accomodate those in line, no apologies for "be right with you", no "have a seat and i'll get this right out", no communication, no smile, and no one else in the restaurant seemed to know how to step in and help out when there were 10+ people in line. The new hostess was totally untrained. She just stood there watching. Other staff came in/out of the kitchen - they didn't look to see there was a line and help out.
This was a huge flunk at the end of our stay. From the room, I pre-ordered 2 oatmeals to go to eat in the car on the way to the airport (630am), and it took 30 minutes to stand in the coffee line and get our meal - the hostess had no clue how to get this; I then have to ask for a tray, then have to ask for a spoon, then have to ask for milk . . . . total flunk.
Restaurant manager needs to get handled.

Room Tip: view of downtown was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwilt, Front Office Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding The Westin Kansas City at Crown Center. We have shared your comments with our teams and truly value your feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.