We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Crowne Center - Excellent stay !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Crown Center to your Saves list
The Westin Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Dallas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Westin Crowne Center - Excellent stay !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The Westin Crowne has an excellent location with plenty of shopping within the Crowne Center.
There's a covered walkway that'll take you directly to Union Station (which always has great exhibits) or to the newly flagged Sheraton Hotel (old Hyatt). The lobby is stunning and the ballroom level has a tropical feel with waterfall and plants leading up to the workout facility.
The heavenly bed did not disappoint as I had one of the best night's sleep in the ultra comfy bedding. The rooms are very spacious with ceiling to floor windows that offer great views of either downtown or the Hallmark Center water fountains.
The Westin has a great workout facility, complete with wet sauna, free weight room, plenty of weight machines, cardiovascular equipment and a really good-sized pool.
To use the workout costs $5 and to me it should be free. I've seen hotel guests walk right into the gym and workout without signing the sign-in sheet. Westin needs to do away with that fee IMO. The only other area I think the Westin has to improve upon is the parking garage situation. The system is flawed where the guest has to write their name and room number on a ticket and hand it to the attendant upon leaving the garage. It takes forever for the attendant to find your name on the printout list (don't know if people use their actual name and room number - it costs $13/day) and if there are 3 or more cars in line, you could be waiting for a while.
Aside from that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and definitely will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing downtown to get spectacular views of the downtown skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    349
    173
    81
    46
See reviews for
266
270
77
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stephenson
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We only had the opportunity to stay one evening at the Westin Crown Center in Kansas City, MO. But we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was extremely comfortable and quiet. We had a fantastic balcony in which we could enjoy the evening air. The staff from valet, check in, to check out was extremely professional. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

Perfect bed, service and room. Close to all things

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel itself is very nice. The rooms are large, the beds were some of the most comfortable I've slept in for any hotel, the bathrooms were nice, and everything was clean. You expect all of that from a Westin and they delivered.

Everything else they offer is pretty nice too, if not expensive. The gym costs $5 to use. And while it is certainly one of the nicest, most complete, gyms I have seen in any hotel I have never been charged to use a gym at a hotel before. Internet cost money too, I don't remember how much - I didn't bother, but that is pretty standard.

The hotel does have this great program, however, where if you turn down house keeping you get a $5 gift card for staying green that can be used with vendors to the mall that is attached to the hotel. I should have looked into whether or not that card could be used for the gym. I know you can redeem the card for Starwood points.

The location of the hotel is fine, it's right next to Union Station and the WWI memorial/museum. It is a good walk from the downtown Power & Lights District. But it is walkable if the weather is nice, and it is only a cheap cab ride if you don't feel like walking.

The hotel staff was attentive and courteous, no problems with any of them. I was there as part of a business meeting and the hotel staff was always looking after us and making sure that things were running smoothly. I turned down the maid service each night for the $5 card, so I can't say how that is.

Overall I thought the hotel was very nice, and if I ever find myself in Kansas City again I would definitely consider staying there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Very nice hotel. I had an awesome view of the WW1 memorial and the Union Station from my room on the 18th floor.
The staff is also very friendly and nice.
With theCrown Centre just next to the hotel, is very convenient if you want to shop or try something other than the hotel food.
There is also a very convenient climate controlled walkway to the Union station which is close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the WW1 memorial.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

General
I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference at the Convention Center, which was located about 1.5 miles away. The conference had a shuttle so it was not a problem. Taxi to the Power & Light (entertainment and food) district was about $6. The hotel was about 20 minutes from the airport in a business area outside of downtown. It was connected to a mall with a few shops and restaurants and across the street from Union (train) Station. Front desk was courteous, friendly and helpful. The building itself was plain. Lobby was nice enough but décor was below typical Westin standards. Interesting factoid: the hotel was built by Hallmark over a rock formation; therefore on the 2nd level of the lobby, there was a 2 story waterfall coming from the natural spring in that rock formation.

Resort & Room Amenities
The hotel had an OK workout area but it was dark and some of the machines were not fully functional. There was a good size outdoor pool with a couple of lap lanes, 2 rooftop tennis courts, jogging track and 2 onsite restaurants.

I got an end room so it was quite large with nice décor and the trademark Heavenly bed, lots of windows and a nice view of the WWI monument. Although it has been remodeled, some of the original room architecture still looked a little dated. There was both wired and wireless internet ($23 for 3 days)—during peak usage, clearly the hotel did not plan enough bandwidth because it was quite slow. Nice HDTV. Hotel noise was not a problem for me but there was occasional typical city noise (trucks, train, etc.) that bothered a couple of my colleagues. There was an in-room safe, small refrigerator and single-serve Starbucks.

One unique thing I liked about this hotel was its green initiative. One can opt for no housekeeping in exchange for $5 voucher or bonus points on your Starwood Preferred account. When I needed more coffee, it was brought to my room.

Summary
Like typical Westins, rooms were nice and service was excellent. I liked its green initiative. The hotel building itself was plain and somewhat dated, despite remodeling. The workout area was also sub-par. That was enough to drop my rating from 4 stars but I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from Union Station if train noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agura1234, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for participating in the "Make a Green Choice" program where you can choose not to have housekeeping service your room in exchange for a $5 voucher redeemable for food and beverage at our outlets or 500 starwood preferred points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

All in all we had a pleasant stay. We stay at 3-5 star hotels and of recent a new Best Western was more fashionably decorated. But.... Our room was newly updated with modern amenities and comfortable. Our room wasn't cleaned well each day (surfaces were not dusted or wiped down and the carpet wasn't vacuumed) but the bathroom was always clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The Brasserie restaurant was barely average. Lots of dining choices close by. We would definitely return but would request more attention from the housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agura1234, Manager at The Westin Crown Center, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on our housekeeping staff. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and options for dining and entertainment close by our hotel. We all look forward to your return visit to Kansas City and The Westin at Crown Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Crown Center

Address: 1 East Pershing Road, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown, The Westin Crown Center, Kansas City, a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award is encompassed by Hallmark's Crown Center. Known as a city within a city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Crown Hotel Kansas City
Westin Crown Center
Westin Kansas City
Kansas City Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.