We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Pella, Iowa
2 reviews
“A great place at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel perfect for our family spring break escape. Within easy walking distance of great shopping and fantastic restaurants, the location was perfect. We were only a few miles from Crown Center, Science City, and the Boulevard brewery, and we were directly across the street from an art museum.

We were incredibly impressed with all of the employees. Every single one was happy, pleasant, and helpful, from the front desk clerks to the bartender to the van drivers nice enough to tote us to and from Crown Center. It made for a very pleasant stay.

Our room was very clean, but the decor was a bit dated. The free parking was great, also, but I was very glad we had a small car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Centraliowagirl,
We appreciate your glowing review of our property. The hotel is a great place for families on Spring Break or a family vacation. We are located just blocks from two of Kansas City's finest museums, and as you mentioned the great shopping and other destinations- most of which are in the range of our complimentary shuttle's 3 mile radius.

It is especially pleasing to hear your compliments of our staff. We take pride in having, as you said, "happy, pleasant, and helpful" staff. We want every guest to feel special, cared for, and "at home, away from home".

We hope to see you again, maybe for a family baseball outing this summer!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    116
    89
    33
    28
See reviews for
84
70
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is your basic Holiday Inn. It appears as though the rooms have been refreshed fairly recently. The beds are very good; my room had a large HDTV. The staff was friendly and helpful. On the basis of my breakfast, I'd recommend going elsewhere. It was barely adequate. It's hard to mess up oatmeal; but the cook did so. Fruit I ordered off the menu was only barely ripe. Still, this is what I expect at an HI. You get what you pay for (a decent value for the money) and I have no serious complaint.
'

Room Tip: The hotel makes much of the fact that it's close the Country Club Plaza shopping and restauract...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
TJHESQ,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff- we strive to make our guests feel at home, while away from home. I am sorry that our cook didn't prepare your oatmeal as desired; we guarantee 100% satisfaction and would have happily provided you a properly cooked meal if you had brought it to our attention at the time.
One tip: we do offer a complimentary shuttle that will take you anywhere on the Plaza and/or bring you back from the Plaza.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share you experience. We use this feedback to continually improve. Please stay with us again the next time you come to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were looking for a weekend away with little to no plan other than we were driving to Kansas City and wanted to be near the Country Club Plaza. Upon arriving, we settled into our room and went to the hotel bar where we met the best bartender, Simone. She is well versed in the culture and great food in Kansas City. She also keeps it real with the utmost professionalism. She led us to thePlaza Three steakhouse, what an incredible dinner! The shuttle will take you and pick you up within three miles. We didn't drive all weekend, it was wonderful. The drivers were courteous and accurate about how long it would take to be picked up. Tip the drivers, they are wonderful.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor right around the corner from the lobby. Very easy, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Claire,
Thank you for your review of our hotel! Our shuttle service is very convenient and as you said you can park your car in our complimentary garage and we will shuttle you around your whole stay. There are over 150 shops and dozens of great restaurants within the shuttle range. We appreciate your praise for our staff, I will be sure to forward those comments to them!

We hope to see you again when you come back to Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was my first time staying here in this hotel...it offered everything we could have wanted in a hotel stay for the weekend in the Country Club Plaza. There was room service, a restaurant, free internet, shuttle service and a very helpful staff. They even gave me a free buffet breakfast because of my affliation with the Dept. of Defense. Will be staying here again...

Room Tip: All the rooms we had were amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Marie,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your visit to Kansas City and the Country Club Plaza. We hope that you will visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great accommodations and great service. Thanks. It was a pleasure to stay there. Everyone was very gracious and wanted only to be of assistance. No problems were encountered and I enjoyed a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Ugausa,
Thanks you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed you stay and hope that you will choose us again the next time you come to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Hotel staff was extraordinary. We came for the All-Star game and the atmosphere was so positive. Room was pet friendly and nice area to walk pups as it was quiet out back. Restuarant was good with very efficient wait staff.

Room Tip: Rough passage from lobby to hotel area on a steep rampt that must be an accommodation fro ADA but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
GraceRays,
Thank you for your glowing review of our property- once again we have been successful in our mission to be a "Great Hotel that Guests Love". If your travels bring you back to Kansas City we hope to see you again!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stay here 2-5 times a year, 4-5 nights at a time, when visiting family in KC. The rooms are always clean and the beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. As a frequent traveler for work, my complaints are tiny and nitpicky, but a few minor adjustments would help a great deal.

I would echo the complaint about the blackout shades not closing completely, and also that the TV remote doesn't work when you're sitting anywhere other than the bed, so you have to move a chair in order to watch TV while sitting up. And more outlets near the bed would be great. I use my phone as an alarm, so if it's about to die before I'm going to bed, I have to plug it in across the room to charge it overnight.

The food (I have eaten both in the restaurant and via room service) isn't great. It would also be nice to have some lighter choices (some steamed veggies and maybe a chicken noodle soup), rather than the standard heavier Midwestern fare. Also, since room service waitstaff are no longer allowed to place tables on beds, it would be nice to have a small table in the room. I always use the desk for my laptop, and had to quickly shove it out of the way when my order arrived.

There is a coffee maker in the room, but there are never enough condiment packages for me to make a decent cup of coffee, since there's only one sugar packet in each one. I end up buying sugar and creamer to keep in my room. Also, there is only coffee....some tea bags would be nice as well.

My biggest complaint would be the tight parking spaces in the parking garage. There are huge support columns that allow three parking slots in between, but if all slots are filled, you can barely get the car doors open. Usually the first person will park in the center, which then discourages anyone parking on either side. And the last time I was there I squeezed into a slot, but was so close to the next car that I pulled back out and readjusted, and then hit one of the posts on the other side, causing almost $3000 in damage to the rental car. (I know, if it were my own car it wouldn't have cost nearly as much.)

One great thing about the hotel is Brian the bartender. He works in the hotel bar and can whip up a drink with anything you're even remotely curious about, and has a story for almost every liquor there. You should go just for him!

So to sum it up, super clean, friendly hotel in a great location with minor inconveniences in the room and if you're great at parking and don't mind squeezing in and out of your car, it's well worth the money.

Room Tip: The single king rooms are slightly more expensive than the double queens, but will feel a lot larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Kim W,
We appreciate your repeat and continuing business with our hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we are implementing some changes based on your feedback. We will be adding some lighter choices to our menus for our health conscious guests. Please know that we are happy to provide you with as many condiment packages and coffee packs as you like- please just call the front desk and they will bring them to your room.

Thank you again for your feedback- it is how we improve!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.