We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk to Wherever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Walk to Wherever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This older Holiday Inn property is conveniently located within walking distance of The Plaza (magically lit for the Christmas season) and its myriad shopping choices, the Nelson-Atkins Art Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art. There are also a host of good restaurants (Cafe Trio being the closest) just a block or so away. Beware: many sites are downhill, so be prepared for the uphill slog when returning! There is free and convenient underground parking here with separate elevators to the lobby level as well as guestroom floors.

I booked my stay on Hotwire, but Kevin, the eager-to-please front desk clerk, told me I could avail myself of several Priority Club perks even though I hadn't booked directly on the hotel's own website. I chose the 2 free breakfasts served in the dining room among the 3 different choices. The breakfast was fine as far as these things go: an abundant but unvarying selection and hot foods which are usually tepid at best.

The room was spacious and clean with a view over the center court patio and swimming pool. The king-sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom spic-'n'-span and the usual amenities were provided. There was a small, "sit-up-straight" easy chair in the corner next to a Leaning Tower of Pisa floor lamp. However, the television didn't rest on an extendable platform (it only turned), so using the remote from the easy chair itself was impossible. Why lodgings feel people only watch TV from their bed is beyond me. This problem was solved by moving the solid, tilting desk chair from its place to the bedside where remote contact could be made.

There was no easily accessible electrical outlet near the bed for my C-PAP machine, but my trusty extension cord saved me, although it meant unplugging one of the beside lamps to make the connection. The irony was that there was a 4-socket plug more or less hidden behind the 6' high TV cabinet/chest of drawers which had several spare outlets for no reason whatsoever. And moving that piece of furniture would have done no good as it would have meant extending my cord to a position which could easily have caused tripping in the middle of the night.
The closet was a recessed hole in the entryway with no door of any type. The alarm clock registered the incorrect time, defied being reset (by me, the techno-klutz), then the digital read-out disappeared altogether depending on which position one held the clock! I feel room clocks should be a normal item on housekeeping's checklist. Every one seems to be different and many defy logic as to their setting.

This property is a very reasonably priced option for this neighborhood full of culinary, cultural, and commercial attractions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
SineNomine69,
We appreciate your review of our hotel. You mentioned our great location, in walking distance to KC's greatest attractions, but appartently you missed out on our complimentary shuttle service! All of our staff are prepared and "eager to please" to make you stay as enjoyable as possible. We certianly hope to see you the next time you come to Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    123
    91
    34
    29
See reviews for
90
73
24
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had not stayed at a Holiday Inn in years, until Hotwire landed us here for a night just before Christmas.

My son wanted to attend his first NFL game, and my wife wanted to see the Country Club Plaza lit up for the holidays, and Holiday Inn at the Plaza accomplished those objectives.

Hotel is only about two blocks uphill from the Plaza, and it’s easy to walk there for anyone in reasonably good health.

Hotel is fairly large and spread out, built around a large outdoor pool and courtyard.

Our room was average and acceptable, except for one odd quirk. The blinds don’t close all the way, and only the “shears” will close to cover the whole window. As a result, the bright light in the neighboring parking lot shone through our window all night. I don’t sleep well in hotel rooms under the best of circumstances, and this did not help matters. I have never seen this problem in another hotel room.

Otherwise, everything was all right. The hotel remodeled fairly recently, and is reasonably up to date. It’s obviously a 1970’s vintage place, but with some updates.

Other reviews on Trip Advisor are vague about this, but there is no free breakfast unless you are part of the Holiday Inn frequent stay club. There is an average-looking restaurant near the lobby, and there are obviously many good restaurants nearby in the Plaza. I am cheap, so we brought breakfast with us.

Holiday Inn at the Plaza is certainly not the finest hotel in the Plaza, but it’s a perfectly fine, reasonably-priced place to stay. I found it to be better than many of the reviews here, and better than its relatively low ranking among KC hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south have a partial view of Country Club Plaza. Some rooms have courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Brewbaker,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Let me first apologize for the difficulty you had with the black-out blinds in your room. I have had our maintenance department fix this issue. Other than the blinds it sounds like you enjoyed your stay here. The hotel was built in the 1970's and was recently renovated as you stated. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you come to Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We spent 3 lovely nights in this Holiday Inn in December 2012. We were surprised as some of the other reviews did not rate it very well. We found the rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was wonderful and always willing to help us with directions or places to visit. The breakfast was hot and delicious and probably more than we really should have eaten. The underground parking that was included in our room rate was also a much welcomed perk. The rooms are not the most modern but certainly did the job on our short visit to KC. The hotel is well located across from the Plaza at Main and 45th. It was to far to walk in December but in warmer weather certainly could be negotiated. I would certainly stay here again. I will mention the large flock of crows that settles in around the building in the evening. You can hear them if you are on the top floor but they do settle in for the night. They make a good deal of noise at sun rise but did not bother our sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Plaza on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
ntd 19,
We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay. We appreciate you noting that you were pleasantly suprised after reading some other reviews. No matter what style of decor a hotel chooses it will not suit everyones idea of style. We offer friendly,courteous, clean, and comfortable lodging here and the Country Club Plaza and are the best value in the area! Whether it be our parking, shuttle, restaurant, or just a great place to stay in a great location we offer an excellent choice for almost any visitor.
You mentioned the flock of crows that settled in the large trees in the area. This is part of their annual migration and they usually only stay for a few days. It is quite the sight to see for that short period of time.
We hope that you will stay with us the next time you travel across the state!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

spent 5 nights and basically enjoyed it. had free breakfasts which were hot and delicious- even if it was the same meal of eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes (delicious) and toast, oj, coffee/tea. its a great price, free parking, clean big rooms, sheets a little scratchy and pillows not the most comfortable, but with the free 3 mile shuttle, very convenient to walking to the plaza , nice place, great place to enjoy the plaza lites for the holiday season.

Room Tip: loved rooms because they have the ability to set the thermostat for your comfort and you can have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Safetraveller1,
Thank you so much for your review. Our bedding package is a Holiday Inn Brand Standard but as with anything it may not suit everyone, and I apologize for that. It sounds like you had a pleasant (almost long-term) stay with us and made use of many of our great amenities- like our free parking, shuttle service, individual comfort controls in the rooms, etc. The breakfast is fantastic especially the potatoes as you mentioned! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Kansas City.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afton, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel itself was nice, but what made the difference was the people who work there. From Simone in the bar at night, to the lady with the long black hair in the restaurant (who works MANY hours). The people at the front desk at check in were very friendly and engaged me immediately. There was also a young man (I didn't see his name tag) who, when I was sitting in the hallway before the restaurant was opened and coffee service out, offered to bring me (and an elderly gentleman sitting in the same area) a cup of coffee. Over and above the expected customer service. I also appreciated the underground, secure parking. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Kaye,
Wow, your review of our hotel is what our entire staff works for every day! We appreciate your recognition of our staff members ( I will pass this on to them) and how they go above and beyond to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Your home away from home. It is the attention to small details that often times make the biggest difference in a guest's experience, and I can see that that is the case with your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again in Kansas City!

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville,fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend to attend a business conference downtown. The hotel itself is about a ten minute drive to downtown, but walking distance to Country Club Plaza where all the shops and restaurants are. The front desk staff were professional and courteous. Underground parking is free for guests but the parking spaces were very small. We had rented a mini-van and the space provided made it a very tight squeeze. The rooms were old, outdated and in need of some renovation. Hallways definitely had a 1970s feel to it. Overall, a pleasant experience but definitely not upscale.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim J, Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Evalano07,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments about our great location and our courteous staff. We strive to make our guests feel comfortable. We use your feedback to make continuing improvements to the property and our service. We hope that you will stay with us on your next visit to KC.

Jim Jirik
Assistant Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juno Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked a month ahead of time and no one told us this was a big weekend for Nascar and weddings. Tried to check in twice, room was never ready, moved us to room at end of entrance hallway. Very noisy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear lenslie,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received from our reservation staff and at check in as well as the loud noise you encountered. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences for us to improve on our services for our next guest or your next visit.

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza

Address: One East 45th Street, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel at the Plaza-Kansas City is located on the world famous Country Club Plaza, the Midwest's premier shopping / dining / entertainment district. The hotel provides the following complimentary services: WiFi, garage parking (all other Plaza hotels charge), local calls, and shuttle service within a 3 mile radius, including Historic Westport. The Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza Hotel also offers a 24 hour fitness center along with the largest heated outdoor hotel pool in the city!Finally, relax in our bar or simply order room service and relax in your room. Minutes from Sprint Center Arena, downtown Kansas City American Century, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, H&R Block 3 miles, UMKC 5 blocks, Rockhurst U., 7 blocks, KCAI and St Luke's Hospital 5 blocks, KU Med 5 blocks, Sports Complex 10 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn At The Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.