We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

First class treatment. Check in and bell staff very accommodating. Our room was very comfortable and nice. The hotel was very clean. Certain rooms/floors receive Club level freebie room, its open all day in the morning is breakfast and evenings appetizers. I would ask how to access that floor. In the elevator you need a room key to be able to arrive at that floor(42nd). The pool was closed so we had access to the Westin pool, inside/outside heated and hot tub you can take the walkway covered and above the street. Room service is open 24 hours a day but a bit pricey. Our room temperature was hard to read and poor lighting in that area and it didn't seem to work well. Rooms had mini fridges and coffee pots. There wasn't an area to meet up or play games only the lobby which is a public place. Crown Center shops and area is close by. FYI- you have to pay to park your car here!!

Room Tip: Ask for access to 42nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
sonic1us- Thank you very much for sharing your feedback during your stay at Sheraton Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what a top notch stay you had with us and taht our staff made you feel warm and welcome from the moment you arrived. It is our goal to create as comfortable and accommodating an experience as possible and I am happy you were able to enjoy all the amenities and great attractions the area has to offer. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    254
    105
    52
    25
See reviews for
146
177
41
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We named our own price and were awarded this hotel. It was a delight. Rooms were great and the front desk staff was friendly and responsive. Kenneth, thank you for being so fabulous. I read some other reviews which stated self-park was quite the walk and they were charged $16. We decided to vallet park for $21. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Razorbackgirl75- I appreciate you taking your time to share your warm comments on your stay with us at Sheraton Crown Center. I am truly delighted to hear what a top notch stay you had and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure you were as comfortable and accommodated as possible. We truly value your loyalty to Sheraton and look forward to creating many more signature stays for you in the future. Thank you again for sharing your feedback with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal, Kansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We went to this hotel as a visitor once before, to see the sights, shop at attached crown center and ice skate, so it was a natural decision for us to stay there when we came back. Reservations were made easily. One small thing, upon check in I made sure we had a roll away there and was told it would not fit in our current room. They upgraded us for free since it should have been told to us before, but I was handled perfectly by an awesome staff. The room was awesome, the staff was great. The beds were so comfortable, the rain shower was a luxery that even I enjoyed. The location- well it sets this hotel apart. for someone wanting to do things in Kansas city we were close enough to drive to the outlet malls, walk to the country club shopping center, adjoined to the crown center, tunnels to the train and best bbq in the town, next to lego land, aquarium, and the ice skating rink. The hotel has a great restaurant, across the street from a Panera, and has starbucks in the lobby. The crown center has restaurants to eat in as well.
Great location, Great hotel, will be back!! Maybe this time without the kids!

Room Tip: choose a corner room, more room in the room itself and breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
dalling0713- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your stay with us at Sheraton Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a great time you had with us and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure your stay was as comfortable and welcoming as possible. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many great sites and restaurants in the area. It is such a beautiful place during the holidays and I am happy you were able to take full advantage of all the area has to offer! We truly value your business and I we look forward to continuning to create memorable stays for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We love staying at the Sheraton anytime of year but is especially lovely at Christmas time. The hotel is decorated in style and the Lync to Crown Center and Union Station makes it the best place to stay in downtown KC during the holidays. The close proximity to the Country Club Plaza and Power & Light District is also an added bonus anytime of year. Our room is always pristine and the beds are heavenly. The hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. Looking forward to the new restaurant opening up and the renovations to the pool being completed. We make the Sheraton our main stay for all of our visits to KC!

Room Tip: If you are a Starwood Reward Member, I highly recommend asking for a Club level room with access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Cruise101- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your stay with us at Sheraton Crown Center. I am delighted to hear what an excelllent time you had and were able to relax in the comfort of your Sweet Sleeper bed after a long day of indulging in all the wonderful attractions in Crown Center. Crown Center truly is such a magical place during the holidays, getting you in the Christmas spirit. We are so happy to have created such a warm and memorable stay for you and look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to this hotel was in August while in town for a concert and ball game.

The hotel was spectacular. Perfectly clean, great central location with a 5 minute walk to the Sprint Centre, free shuttle to the show and back and great concierge service.

We didn't like the charge for the Internet, and told the front desk what an inconvenience having to go to the lobby each time the Web was required. Really only did this to make our point, but surprisingly, they credited our parking charge for the inconvenience. Very nice- although charging for Internet is a little dated.

In any case, really couldn't have enjoyed our week more. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
deejathome- I appreciate you taking your time to share your warm comments on your stay at Sheraton Crown Center. I am pleased to hear what a great stay you had with us and were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle offered to our guests at your convenience to take you to Sprint Center for your concert. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with so many of Kansas City's favorite sites and restaurants moments away. It is our goal as a Sheraton to create as welcoming and relaxing a stay as possible and I am happy to know you received this experience. We value your feedback and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel was ordinary and nowhere near/not walking distance to downtown. I am not sure why they charged for parking since you have to drive everywhere. They advertise a shuttle to downtown but it only runs from 3 pm to 10 pm. There was a fee for wi-fi. The room were fine. If I didn't get a discounted rate from the conference I attended, I would have been more irritated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
iowacorn- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Sheraton Crown Center. I apologize if the location in Crown Center did not work as a convenience for you during your stay. We are very fortunate to have our complimentary shuttle for our guests to take your to local areas near by and I am happy to hear you were able to use this at your convenience. We truly value your business and hope to have the opportunity to have you back to create a top notch, warm and welcoming experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here on business. Hotel undergoing some updates, but most public areas and rooms are complete. Can't say anything about standard rooms as I stayed in an Executive Suite, which was really big and nice, with a separate living room with two couches, second TV, etc. Heat in bedroom didn't work so well, but they came up at midnight to fix it and it worked fairly well after that. Public computer next to coffee bar for printing out boarding passes for all airlines was great.

Main areas, including lobby and second floor lounging/work area are really, really nice. Lobby has tons of couches spread all over for groups to sit together, and mezzanine level has a number of big comfy chairs in front of work tables, all with power outlets for laptops...just very nicely laid out. For events, the "room" elevators don't stop on the "Ballroom" level, so you have to get off at the mezzanine level and walk across to the meeting rooms side and take either the elevator or escalator up one flight to the ballrooms...kind of a pain in the butt.

Only complaint about the nice lobby area is: Bar shuts down well before 11pm! We could have all used another drink, and the hotel could have made so much more money if the bar was open till at least 11 or 12. And it's not a FULL bar either; they have some wines and beers, and a few basic scotches...but they had no lime juice to make a vodka gimlet. Pool area was shut down because of construction, so we took the indoor LINK skywalk over to the Westin and used their pool. I was told our keycard was supposed to work over there, but it didn't...so we waited a minute till someone opened the door and then went in...their hot tub is indoors and really great!

All in all, a very nice, friendly, clean hotel for business, and probably more than you'd expect from a Sheraton.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms are nice and big!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
TheGoul- I appreciate you taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us at Sheraton Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed yoru overall stay and were pleased with our new lobby renovations. I do apologize for the inconvenience of our Spectator's Restaurant undergoing construction. We are very excited about the new improvements to come at the beginning of 2014! I look forward to hearing what you think of our new Spectator's restaurant. It is our goal as a Sheraton to create as warm and welcoming an experience as possible and knowing our team was to able to create this overall top notch experience for you means a lot. We value your business and cannot wait to have you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Address: 2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Ctr and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.