We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Really nice hotel—clean and modern and well maintained. My only complaint is that the on-premises food and drinks were really expensive—nine bucks for a glass of a house wine in the bar! Luckily you can walk to the nearby mall for cheaper fare, by means of "The Link" sky-walk. But other than the pricey on-site meals and drinks, really great hotel, and lovely staff, for the most part. Also, free shuttle to anywhere around the city! Excellent service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Meg M- Thank you very much for sharing your warm comments on your recent stay at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our new lobby renovations beautiful! We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, surrounding so many great shops and restaurants and I am pleased you were able to take advantage of our link covered walkway to dine in our Crown Center. Your feedback means a lot to the Sheraton team and we look forward to having the opportunity to create many more warm and welcoming stays for you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    502
    254
    105
    52
    25
See reviews for
146
177
41
421
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My stay at this Sheraton got off on a bad foot when the TV didn't work and there was no room service menu or book describing hotel services in my room. A call to the front desk put both to rights very quickly, and my stay here was fine thereafter. The room was large and very clean, with a stunning view of downtown Kansas City, Missouri. I appreciated the dual plugs built into the top of the desk and the free wireless guest Internet. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. The bed was very comfortable with extra pillows. Room service arrived promptly and was good and hot. The staff members I encountered were uniformly pleasant and professional. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Kitsyn- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize if your stay started off rocky, but it is so great to hear our staff was able to offer quick and efficient service, making you you had everything you needed for a relaxing and comfortable stay. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and I am happy you were able to enjoy the beautiful view of downtown Kansas City from your room while relaxing in the comfort of your Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. Your comments mean a lot to our team and can help us to continue to create top notch stays for our guests. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I arrived for a conference for the second year in a row and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel accommodations were top notch and the service and staff made the stay very enjoyable. The room was well apportioned and the green initiatives made for a more Eco friendly stay. While the conference rooms were pretty standard, the conference staff were very helpful and knowledgable and the conference went very well. I will definitely stay here again when traveling to Kansas City.

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in a bad room. Higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Gerry T- Thank you so much for taking your time to share your most recent experience with us at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It was great to have you back a second year in a row for your conference and I am delighted to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating, providing top notch service to make sure you conference was a success! Our Make a Green Choice program is a very popular incentive we offer our guests during their stay and I am ahppy you took advantage of this and were able to redeem points or get money off your meals in the hotel! Your feedback means a lot to the Sheraton team and helps us to continue to provide personal and authentic stays for our guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to have you back as our guest in the future to create another top notch stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Despite some serious difficulties with the elevators and the food problems (of which there were many) the hotel handled our large convention very well. (So large we filled the Sheraton and the Westin next door.)

Its a pretty hotel and the staff is friendly.

The coffee place closes at 2 but you can get coffee in the bar. The restaurant keeps weird hours and the food is kind of 'eh.' I'd recommend walking across the walkway to the malls or the Westin to eat.

The rooms were big and clean, everything was comfortable. So all in all, an average experience.

Room Tip: I just booked the room the convention had set up for us and it was big and pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Rebecca G- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating, helping to make your conference a success. We take great pride in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and I am happy you were able to relax in the comfort of your room, enjoying the beautiful downtown view from your guest room window. I sincerely apologize for any of the issues you encountered during your stay with our restaurants in the hotel as well as the long waits for the elevators. I know how frustrating this can be. Your feeback is very important to the Sheraton team! We hope to have the chance to serve you as our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I attended a large 5-day conference in May 2013 which was held at this hotel. The HOTEL side of things was wonderful. No complaints there.

The food & beverage, however, was a disaster. Banquet food was horrid: visually unappealing, heavy on starches serving instant potatoes, dry roles, cold meat. The servers rushed to the point of rudeness. When coffee was brought out, they set a thermos on a tray with 5 cups (tables of 10) and left, never to return. Apparently, we were expected to serve ourselves.

The hotel has one restaurant, which was understaffed and frequently closed - they did NOT serve dinner. There is a bar with pub food, which was overrun by attendees and severely understaffed. Room service? Forget it. the PUB provides the food. Be ready for a long wait.

The Starbucks in the hotel closed at 2pm - even though we had an event with 3,000 present. There was NOWHERE to get a cup of coffee anywhere else on the property.

It seems this property relies on a nearby shopping mall food court for the needs of their guests - a very inconvenient situation when attending a conference with a tight schedule. It's not like they didn't KNOW thousands would be there! My advice: Open your dang food services and take care of your guests!

Or don't book conferences. Period.

Room Tip: High floors (28 and up have a separate elevator) with a city view are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Kris T- Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect regarding the frustrations with your banquet meals as well as the inconvenience of the restaurant hours in our hotel. Your experience was not at all what staying at a Sheraton should feel like and your feedback can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. I have shared your comments regarding the presentation and food quality during your meetings with our Banquet team so we can correct these issues immediately. I have also shared your comments regarding the inconvenient hours of operation for our restaurants with our Restaurant Management so we can work to make this better for future large groups.
We at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center have devoted time and energy into building a world class brand. All of our training starts with “It’s all about the Guest”. Our goal is to transform the guest experience so that it is different, better and special, which builds guest satisfaction and loyalty.
We truly value your business and hope that your experience here will not reflect negatively on other Starwood Hotels or Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night of the Black Keys concert and it was the perfect distance from the Sprint Center! We drove but honestly could have walked. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Power and Light District. We had a room on one of the higher floors viewing Crown Center. I think the downtown side is prettier but this was still okay! The lobby was beautiful and we were checked in very quickly. The room was clean and comfortable. I would stay there again!

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the elevator if you like it REALLY quiet. We booked via Hotwire an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
KikiB228- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your warm comments regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, so close to many of Kansas City's most popular attractions. I am pleased your husband and you were able to take advantage of the great location, making it easy for you to get to Powe and Light for your concert. The Sheraton is very excited about our new lobby renovations and I am happy you found the lobby beautiful! We look forward to having you back again in the future to create another comfortable and welcoming stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drewryville, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was my first trip to Kansas City and the Sheraton helped make it a great one. Even sold out and in the middle of a convention, the staff was so helpful and courteous. Even room service ran smoothly and quick. This is a very comfortable hotel with quiet rooms and fabulous service. I think you'll enjoy your visit to this great town even more by staying with the great folks at Sheraton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
NancyNaigle- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating, helping to make your first trip to Kansas City a huge success! It is our goal as a Sheraton to create a warm and relaxing stay for our guests and I am happy you were able to enjoy the comfort and quiet of your room. We truly value your business and look forward to having you return to Kansas City and choosing Sheraton as your preferred hotel. Thank you again for your warm comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Address: 2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Ctr and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.