We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and location; reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great customer service and location; reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We just got back from a two-night stay at the Sheraton/Crown Center. Right in the middle of the Big 12 basketball tourny, the hotel was quite full and we were not able to get a room with a king bed. That gal at check-in noticed that we were disappointed and offered to credit the cost of valet parking for our inconvenience. Everyone was friendly and helpful along the way.

The hotel itself is beautiful - clean and spacious. The rooms were very nice. We enjoyed being able to walk to the Crown Center and on to Union Station via The Link (skywalk).

The location is very good if you are wanting to spend time in KC and not have to drive a lot. We took the cab to Martini Corner ($10 with tip), and from Martini Corner to the Sprint Center (also $10). If you did decide to drive in the area, it's easy to navigate, and parking is not a big problem.

On Saturday night, there is a tolley that runs through the downtown area to places like: Westport, Plaza, Sprint Center, and more. For $10, you can see the sights of several neighborhoods - and then get dropped off next to Crown Plaza within easy walking distance.

Union Station, Hallmark, the Federal Reserve, a few parks, shopping, great restaurants, and all types of bars are close enough to this hotel to really enjoy the sights and fun of KC!

Room Tip: The gal who checked us in had asked if we wanted a room on a higher floor, one with a view, or what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
MaryAnn G- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear what a fantastic stay you had with us! I apologize we were unable to get your preferred bed type, but I am so happy our staff was able to compensate you for this inconvenience! The Sheraton is very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great you were able to take such advantage of all the fun sites Kansas City has to offer! Your kind words mean very much to our team and we are very excited to be able to create another warm and memorable stay for you in the future! Check out our club lounge in the future which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the even and a beautiful view of downtown Kansas City from the very top floor of the Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    312
    128
    59
    31
See reviews for
189
209
48
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I want to commend the staff at the Sheraton at Crown Center in Kansas City, MO. They went above and beyond to make my birthday get-a-way trip a great time. We recieved an email the day before we arrived asking if they could do anything to assist with our trip. They accommodated every request plus added a few extras. I have never been treated so special by a hotel staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Mary F- Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff went above and beyond to create a memorble and outstanding birthday! It means so much to our team that you chose our hotel to celebrate! It is our goal as a Sheraton to make our guests feel happier than when they left. You are a valued guest to our hotel and I am so happy they made you feel special! We look forward to creating another memorable stay for you in the future! Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This property exceeded my expectations in every way. The level of service was top-drawer, accomodations were clean and comforatble, lobby area was attractive, dining was great, & you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Jim R- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations! The Sheraton strives to create a warm and welcoming stay for our guests and knowing our staff went above and beyond to ensure you had a comfortable stay is great! We are very excited about the new lobby renovations and I am happy you like the new improvements! It means so much to our team that we were able to create a signature stay for you! We value your business and look forward to having the opportunity so serve you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even though the Crown Center isn't the center of Kansas City, the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is convenient to everywhere within the city. It is a 5 minute cab ride to the Sprint Center, the same amount of time to Country Club Plaza and close to the hospitals in the area.

The hotel itself is clean with updated rooms. Of course, the beds are wonderful. The hotel's lobby restaurant was accommodating to our group - they kept the breakfast buffet open for my wife and even brought out some freshly cooked bacon.

Especially using SPG's Points and Dollars, this Sheraton is a bargain in my book.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the north get a little noise from the train track across the street. The tracks ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
m2swim- Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kanas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in the comfort of your Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed. I am happy you and your wife were able to enjoy your experience at our restaurant and that our staff was very accommodating during your meal! We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center, so close to many of Kansas City's favorite attractions and it is great that you found it convenient! We value your business and look forward to creating another warm and memorable stay for you and your wife in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night to visit Legoland, the aquarium and Crown Center but will go back. The staff were all extremely courteous and helpful-check in, vallet, restaurant waitress, bellmen, all of them! Everything was clean and nice. We couldn't decide on the Westin or Sheraton but since we have been to the Westin already, we decided to try the Sheraton. We will choose the Sheraton again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
cjfosler- Thak you for taking your time to share your warm comments on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is such a delight to hear you had such a wonderful stay and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. making you and your family feel right at home! We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and it is great that you were able to visit the new Sea Life and Lego Land! We offer a great package on our website for both of these attractions. Check them out for your next stay! The Sheraton values your business and looks forward to creating another warm and memorable stay for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel was beautiful. I had stayed in the past at this hotel when it was the hyatt and I tell you what the Sheraton has really out done themselves. To start off the lobby renovation was amazing so light and crisp. The room was clean and I really enjoyed my veiw up on the 33rd floor, everyone that worked there was top of the line.
There is one person I would like to recognize and really set my visit over the top. Erika at the front desk was one of the most professional people I have ever incontered in any of my hotel stays. She really made me feel that my needs and wants were priority. She would always answer me by name and anything I asked about she had a detailed and through answer. She truely made my stay individuaized and special, becuase of the beyond 5 star rating service I recieved from Erika, I want to stay at other Sheratons, and any time I am in Kansas City I will stay here without a doubt. Because of her, you most certainly have a loyal and repeat customer out of me! Thank you for an amazing stay in kansas city!

Room Tip: high floor with a city veiw is mind blowing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Travelerphil54763- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in your room with the wonderful view of downtown Kansas City! It means so much to our team that you were able to have such a connection with one of our employees! We at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center have devoted time and energy into building a world class brand. All of our training starts with “It’s all about the Guest”. Our goal is to transform the guest experience so that it is different, better and special and it sounds like Erika was able to do just that! I have shared your comments wtih our Front Office team so she receives the praise she deserves. Your business means so much to us and we look forward to creating another signature stay with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton in a "Club Level" room for 3 nights last week. We had stayed at the Westin previously for a week and thought this would be similar to what is supposed to be an upscale hotel.
Considering the size of the room, the room amenities, etc. I would classify this hotel as just a general one. And the "Club" that is accessible to only club level guests really wasn't worth the extra money. Breakfast wasn't too bad and they offered one hot dish. Dinner was all but one time pretty lacking. And during the day when there are supposed to be snacks and such it really wasn't.
Never went to the pool or the gym as you have to go across the entire lobby to get to the special elevator to get to that area.
For a standard class hotel, I rate this a 3 star, for a premier class hotel, this would be a one or two star.

Room Tip: The views in the club level rooms are fantastic, the rooms themselves are just your standard fare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
TheREALgregma- Thank you for talking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect with the disappointing experience in our Club Lounge as well as in our guest rooms. Your experience was not at all what staying at a Sheraton should feel like and your feedback can only help us provide a more renewing experience for all guests. I have addressed the issues regarding the food quality in our club lounge with our Guest Services team so we can work to provide signature service in the future. We at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center have devoted time and energy into building a world class brand. All of our training starts with “It’s all about the Guest”. Our goal is to transform the guest experience so that it is different, better and special, which builds guest satisfaction and loyalty.
I am very pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the beautiful view of downtown Kansas City from the Club Lounge. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for sharing your comments and concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Address: 2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Center and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.