We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel overlooking the plaza. Stayed between Christmas and New Years and enjoyed all the lights downtown KC had to offer. Walkways "the link" between hotel and shopping made for a wonderful experience on a chilly day. Enjoyed food at Spectators, with family, where the bartender even turned on Sponge Bob for the kids to watch while waiting for food. Everything was spotless and decorated for the holidays. Next time I'm in KC, this will be the hotel where I stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the plaza during the holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Marc M- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay over the holidays and were able to visit with the beautiful decorations in the hotel and Crown Center. It is the perfect place to get you in the holiday spirit! We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center with the "Link" covered walkway connecting to the shops and restaurants and I am happy you were able to take advantage of this. I am so glad your family enjoyed their meal at Spectators and that the bartender was able to accommodate you and your children. We truly value your business and are so pleased we were able to create and warm, relaxing and memorable stay for your and your family. We look forward to having you back in the future to create many more holiday memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    266
    109
    53
    28
See reviews for
155
182
44
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We decided to stay in town for the holiday and couldn't be more pleased with our choice.

With proximity to Sea-Life, Legoland and the rest Crown Center has to offer, the choice was perfect.

The lobby and room renovations are great! The reception was very warming and service was outstanding. We decided to upgrade to a suite with concierge level access and really enjoyed the view and ammenities from the concierge lounge (formerly Skies Restaurant).

I would highly recommend this hotel for the service, ammenities and proximity to so much via "The Link" which is great in the winter months.

Room Tip: Recommed the upgrade to the suite, if possible for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Ted D- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It si so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the new Sea Life and Lego Land attractions we have added to Crown Center! We are very excited about the new renovations in the room and lobby and I am so pleased you loved them both. The Sheraton strives to provide signature service for our guests, making sure they have a warm and welcoming stay and knowing the service that was provided to you was outstanding is so great. We truly value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
545 reviews 545 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Sheraton Kansas City is a lovely hotel connected to the Crown Plaza. The lobby itself is a bit dated, but I believe that is being worked on. The rooms are big and offer great views of downtown Kansas City and the surrounding area. The bathroom was large and clean and the furniture all looked fairly new. The parking situation was uniques and involved a lot of walking from garge to garage, but once it was figured out, it was no problem. Overall it was a nice stay in KC and the Sheraton helped to make that possible.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
GoodFood88- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is great to hear you found the Sheraton a lovely property and enjoyed the convenience of being connected to the Crown Center shops and restaurants. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center, surrounded by so many of Kansas City's most popular attractions. I am pleased you were able to relax in comfort in your room and enjoy the wonderful view of downtown Kansas City. We value your business and look forward to serving you as our guest in the future! Check out the Club Lounge access in the future which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the afternoon, internet access in your room and a fabulous view of Kansas City from the top floor of the Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I visit Kansas City every year and this is the first time I have stayed at the Sheraton. The location was awesome. You cant beat the view of Kansas City! There were many things to do within walking distance via the linked walkways. We loved this especially since it is wintertime. The hotel itself is beautiful and the staff was friendly. Parking was easy and accessible but overpriced. We had an upgraded club level room. The room was very nice. The bed was amazing! Perhaps one of the best I have ever slept in at a hotel. With the club level room you have access to the club level lounge for snacks and breakfast. When went up the first morning for breakfast there was basically nothing there. I could not even find a clean coffee cup. I asked the one attendant that was working if he was going to put out more food and he told me that he did not have anymore to put out. What? It was only 10:00 and they serve breakfast till 11:00 and snacks all day. There were several other upset people as well so I went down to the Lobby and complained and was told that they would remedy the problem. In a few minutes some more fruit showed up and cereal but none of the other stuff that they were supposed to serve. I asked about this and was told that the kitchen did not send them any oatmeal or hardboiled eggs that day. I wrote up a comment card and was pleased when I showed up the next morning and found everything was available. I was pleased with the quality of the food that was served there. The lounge was very well stocked in the evening when we came by for a snack. Accessing the lounge is a bit inconvenient at times as well. You can only get there on 2 of the 4 elevators, so if the wrong elevatorstops at that floor to pick you up, you cant get on it. I spent alot of time waiting for the right elevator. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and look forward to staying there again next year.

Room Tip: I would get a higher level room for the view, and the club level is great if you want to have access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
hlt39890- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent girls weekend at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center! It is so great to hear you and your friends enjoyed your stay and that you found the location in the heart of Crown Center convenient! We are very fortunate to be located so close to many of Kansas City's favorite attractions. I am happy you found the hotel beautiful and that our staff was friendly and accommodating. The Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed is a favored amenity by many of our guests and I am pleased to hear you were able to relax and sleep in comfort! I apologize for the issues you enountered with the breakfast. It is great to hear our staff was able to fix the problem and make sure everything was readily available the next day. We truly value your business and look forward to having you and your friends back for another memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Lobby is spotlessly clean and visually appealing. Rooms are spacious and provide great views of Kansas City. One complaint is the distance to conveniences: after 7PM, nearby businesses shut down, and there are no conveniences within walking distance.

Below are my ratings for this property on a scale of 1-5:

Hotel Location 3
Hotel Lobby 5
Hotel Customer Svc 5
Room Size 5
Room Carpet 5
Bathroom 5
Cleanliness 5
Cost/Value 4
Décor 5
AVERAGE 4.67

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
FoxyDerick- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the lobby spotless and beautiful. We are very excited about the new renovations and it is always great to hear such positive feedback. It am so happy our staff was able to provide such great service and that you were able to enjoy the great view from your room. We value your business and look forward to having the opportunity to serve you as our guest in the future. Check out the Club Lounge access in the future which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the afternoon, internet access in your room and of course an amazing view of Kansas City from the very top floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The hotel is very beautiful, was all decorated for the Holidays. It was very nice to be able to park and go shopping and see a show at Union Station without going outside by using the Link. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds was comfortable. It was so nice to have a coffee shop in the hotel to get a muffin or scone and a cup of coffee in the morning. The room did have a coffee maker and had Starbucks coffee and that was great. Planning another trip this summer and will stay at the Sheraton again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 28th floor and the veiw was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Anniebell44- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you chose to stay at our hotel for your girls weekend trip and that you enjoyed your stay! We take great pride in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds and I am pleased you were able to relax in comfort. The Sheraton strives to create signature service for our guests, making them happier then when they arrived and it is so great they were friendly and accommodating during your stay. We truly value your business and are happy to hear you will be planning another trip to the Sheraton again soon! Check out the club lounge access for your next stay which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evening, internet access in your room and a beautiful view of Kansas City. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We came to KC for my son's heart surgery at Children's Mercy- conveniently located across the street from the Sheraton Crown Center. What I expected was easy access to the hospital and a place to crash when we weren't by his side. What we received was SO much more. The accommodations are beautiful in both the public areas and the rooms, and every person on staff went out of their way to make this trip as stress-free as possible for us. From the housekeeping manager that stopped by to wish us luck, to the concierge gentlemen that were quick to help us with the names and numbers of restaurants that delivered, to the excellent service provided by the ladies at the front desk when we had questions about what our final bill may be- every single person exhibited the utmost professionalism and compassion.

We will have to go back to Children's Mercy periodically for follow-ups with my son. As these are non-emergent, we have the absolute choice of staying somewhere a little further away or a little less expensive. Although we have that choice, we will definitely be staying at the Sheraton Crown Center. They have undoubtedly earned a lifetime of loyalty from us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Kristina T- Thank you very much for your warm feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It brings me such joy to read about the memorable experience you received from our staff during your stay! We genuinely care about all of our guests and I am so happy they made your stay relaxing and easy going while your son was in surgery. We are very excited to have you as part of the Sheraton family and appreciate your loyalty. I have shared your warm comments to the appropriate teams so they know what an outstanding job they did for you. It is great to hear you enjoyed the new lobby renovations as well. I hope everything is going great for your son. We look forward to serving you as our guest in the future, creating another warm and memorable stay for you. Happy New Year and thank you again for such kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Address: 2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Ctr and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.