We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and very clean!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and very clean!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel is very clean, the rooms are like new, and the staff is very friendly. The only thing that I didn't like was that you have to pay extra for the parking and there is no other choice. Other than that everything was excellent and hotel is beautiful and it's connected to the shops which it was a plus for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Limarispr- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. It is so great to hear you enjoyed your room and view and found our hotel beautiful and clean. The Sheraton takes great pride in our customer service and I am pleased to hear our staff was friendly and warm during your stay. We value your business and look forward to having you back to the Sheraton in the future. Check out our great SeaLife and LegoLand packages for your next stay, which include parking in your rate. Thank you again for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    313
    130
    59
    31
See reviews for
189
210
49
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I arrived at different times with business in K.C. Staff easily accomodated and even upgraded our room because we were there for a weekend stay. It was not just desk staff, but staff throughout the hotel who made this stay more than expected. Food in the restaurant was delicious, and the environment helped us relax; just what we needed. We had a spectacular city view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
DonM532- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your warm, positive feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I am so pleased to hear that the Sheraton staff took exceptional care of you and your wife. We take great pride in our customer service and believe in making our guests feel at home and create a memorable stay. I hope you enjoyed your city view and I am so glad you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. Knowing we were able to create a relaxing stay for you and your wife is exactly what the Sheraton strives for. We value your business and look forward to having you back in the future. Check out our great packages for SeaLife and LegoLand for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Sheraton Hotel (formerly the Hyatt) is a great place to stay if you need to be in or near Crown Center, downtown (half-mile), or Country Club Plaza/UMKC (three miles). The hotel is an easy walk from the food and shops in the Crown Center mall.

It is very easy to work, relax, or sleep in the guest room, which is large and features a comfortable bed, bright flat panel TV, desk and chairs, and a fridge.

Weekend brunch at the Terrace is outstanding, especially if you love fresh fruit.

Service at the sports bar is unbelievably poor, unless you sit at the bar.

Self-parking in the attached garage is easy and cheap, at $15 per day with unlimited in/out privileges. If you're there over the weekend, are looking for a deal, and don't mind a longer walk, there is free weekend parking at the mall from Friday night through early Monday morning.

Room Tip: On the weekend, when there is apt to be a lot of visitors, ask for a room on floor 29 or higher, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
runningboy68- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. We take great pride in being located in the heart of Crown Center and it is so great to hear you found the location convenient and were able to take advantage of our link to the shops and restaurants. One of our favored amenities by our guests is the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. It is so great to hear you found it comfortable and enjoyed all of the amenities in your room. I apologize for the issues you encountered in our sports bar. I have shared your comments with the appropriate teams so we can work to avoid these issues in the future. We value you business and look forward to having you back to the Sheraton Kansas City to create another memorable, warm stay. Check out our upgrade to the Club Lounge which includes breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evenings, internet in your room and a beautiful view of Kansas City. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The bar closes at 11:00pm despite a sold out hotel and packed bar. The poor bartender had to leave the bar and walk across the entire Hotel to get our food. The place was packed due to convention and still they closed at 11:00pm We were forced to walk down the road to meet with our clients. Ridiculous way to run a bar.

Room Tip: higher the better the city view is awesome, beds very confortable. I choose NOT to have room servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Matt M- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I apologize for the issues you encountered in our restaurant during your stay. I completely understand your frustrations and I have shared your comments with the appropriate teams so we can work to avoid these issues in the future. It is great to hear you found the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed comfortable as well as enjoyed your city view. We truely value your business and look forward to having you as a guest at the Sheraton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As an architect I've been curious about the site for the '81 disaster and how they overcame it, never having been to Kansas City. Of course they reconfigured the bridges across the lobby some thirty years ago and I doubt most guests ever connect the modern Sheraton with that event. This building is a significant work of architecture, with public spaces being renovated under the new ownership when I visited in June. I enjoyed my stay, -- two nights in June for sightseeing, getting an excellent Priceline bid (about $90 plus tax per night).

The entry drop off and lobby were closed/under major renovation. The overall construction quality of the hotel is very high and worthy of sprucing up to extend it's life. I'm curious to return and see it finished. At the time it made circulation quite circuitous and long.

The guestroom was very well done (see my pictures) and the front desk was kind enough to give me a corner room with a decent view. All the details in the room were covered.

Enjoyed one meal at the bar; just fine. Tried the rooftop pool which is small in size and a long way from guest rooms. Restaurant atop the building was closed down. Used self park in the attached garage,some distance away from the elevators to the rooms. Keep in mind this is a giant place.

Hotel connects to the shops and restaurants of Crown Center. I explored it, but did not find much of interest. Many shops looked to be hanging in there.

Best attributes: central location, high calibre guest rooms with high rise views.

Room Tip: Corner room higher in the tower for decent city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
GrantGustafson- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comments on your stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. I appreciate you choosing to stay at the Sheraton for your first visit to Kansas City! I hope you enjoyed our city. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your corner room and view. Our renovations have been complete since you stayed here last. Everything is looking great! We look forward to having you back and letting us know what you think of our new improvements. When you come back, check out our newly opened Club Lounge. By upgrading to club lounge access you can get breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evening and internet in your room, as well as enjoy an amazing view of Kansas City from the very top! Thank you again for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was in Kansas City for business. The staff was amazing. Everyone had a smile, was pleasant, and took the time to assure I knew how to get around the complex. Everyone took the extra step. The location is close to a wide variety of businesses. The room I had was a nice size with a very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
LuvDZnee- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your postive feedback on your stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. We take great pride in our associates and train them to provide a genuine and welcoming generosity of spirit. We care for our guests needs and strive to create a warm and memorable stay. It is so great hear they took care of you and made you feel welcome. We are very fortunate to be located in the heart of Crown Center and I am so glad it was convenient for you. One of our favored amenities by our guests is the Sweet Sleeper Bed. I am pleased to hear you found it warm and comfortable. The Sheraton looks forward to having you back in the near future. Check out our Club Lounge upgrade in the future which offers breakfast in the morning, appetizers in the evening and internet in your room. Thank you again for sharing your experience at the Sheraton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha, NE
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent two nights at the property in early October 2012. I rented 3 rooms under my name for our group. Very friendly and efficient check-in. Rooms were clean, and recently updated. Valet parking staff was very busy on Saturday evening with a large wedding at the hotel. Very fast and courteous service by bell and valet staff, even when they were swamped at the entry.

Used shuttle service to the Power and Light district, and again, great service. Had a drink in the hotel lounge, it was my wife's birthday, and the manager bought her a glass of wine. The location is good, and I had stayed at this hotel when it was a Hyatt, and nothing stood out as exemplary. The quality of the staff as a Sheraton is what made our stay outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_ShalitKC, General Manager at Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
TCRUMMY- Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center. We take great pride in our staff and believe strongly in connecting with our guests and providing signature service. I am so pleased to hear you had a positive experience at check in as well as with our valet staff. The Sheraton is very excited about our newly renovated rooms and it is so great to hear you enjoyed it. I am so pleased the Sheraton staff made you feel warm and welcome and hopefully created a memorable stay for you and your wife. We look forward to having you back to the Sheraton in the future. Check out our Club Lounge upgrade which includes breafast in the morning, appetizers in the evening and interent in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center

Address: 2345 McGee Street, Kansas City, MO 64108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center 4*
Number of rooms: 729
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center is located downtown near the Kauffman Performing Arts Center and other attractions. Our hotel has 5 on-site dining options and high speed internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kansas City Hotel At Crown Kansas City
Hyatt Regency Kansas City
Hyatt Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Crown Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.