We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough about this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 816 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 816 Hotel to your Saves list
816 Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   801 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call for our Lowest Rates
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Cobden, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't say enough about this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was by far the best hotel experience I've ever had. One pleasant surprise after another. We were in town for a concert at the Uptown Theatre. We stayed in the Uptown Theater themed room which was really cool. The package not only included 2 tickets to the show but also gave us access through the VIP entrance so we didn't even have to wait in line. Thanks to this access we were easily able to get to the front row of this General Admission event and were front and center for the entire concert.
The staff at the hotel was beyond excellent. From the girl I spoke to on the phone to make arrangements to the receptionist to the bartender who served us our free drink during cocktail hour and both of the gentlemen who drove the free shuttle for. Everyone was incredibly helpful and friendly.
You can't ask for a better location. Right in the heart of Wesport (the place to be for nightlife and music scene) and within shuttle distance to all the cool stuff KC has to offer. The Power & Light District, the Fountain District, Crown Plaza are all just a free shuttle ride away
Overall my trip to Kansas City was one of the most enjoyable vacations I have ever taken. The city itself was amazing and the concert and venue we were there to see were both everything we could have hoped for, but the whole experience was tied together and made so much more enjoyable by the folks at the 816 Hotel and I can assure you that anytime I visit KC in the future this will be the only place I stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Jeff, thanks for the note. So glad to hear you had a great time in KC. We too love thus part of the city (of course we are partial) and agree the Uptown Theater is a great place to see a show. Let us know if you come back this direction...we will try to get you back in the Uptown Room (or one of the other theme rooms).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    66
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
42
79
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff was attentive and very helpful. I really appreciate all the great service that was provided to the guests in Kansas City for our celebration. Although a couple of problems did arise during the time we were all at the hotel, the issues were dealt with quickly and resolved to everyone’s satisfaction. The staff truly wanted to provide their guests with a very comfortable and pleasant experience. I received many compliments from my family and guests about the rooms, the service, the breakfast, and of course, the evening reception. All of the staff is to be commended. However, a few should be mentioned with providing exceptional service: Melanie, Olga, and Sophia went above and beyond. And one of the housekeeping staff on the 4th floor provided extra service, as needed. I am sorry that I have misplaced her name, but I do know she has a little boy named Lawrence. Thank you for making our time there memorable and special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for the kind note. I believe you were in town for a wedding...one of the truly special events in a life! I'm very happy to hear our staff did their best to make sure the wedding weekend went smoothly. Here is to a long and happy marriage for the newlyweds!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed last night for a one night stay to see the Paul McCartney concert. The receptionist was very helpful, let us check in early and let us know about the shuttle service. Me and my husband enjoyed our complimentary cocktails, the bartender was awesome and so friendly. We took the shuttle to the sprint center which helped us out so we didn't have to drive. The room was very comfy, beds are one of the best I've slept in and loved the sheets. It was also very nice that the breakfast was included. No complaints here!!!! Will for sure be staying again in the future!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
I am writing this response with jealousy in my heart---I have always wanted to see Paul McCartney! I hear the show didn't disappoint. I'm glad you had a good stay with us. Our shuttle service makes seeing a show at Sprint Center very easy. Remember our repeat guest rate next time you are back! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed there quite a bit when it was a HIE, and the facelift has done wonders for the hotel. Sophia at the front desk is awesome and TJ at the new bar is a very welcome addition as well! The rooms are nicer, the place is cleaner, even the internet is faster!

Keep it up!

Room Tip: See if one of the upgraded rooms is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for the kind note. Sophia has been keeping guests smiling at this location for long time We are amazed at how people that stayed here years ago and remember her and that Jamaican accent :) Also glad to hear the TJ has people smiling in the lobby bar.

Please remember to us the Repeat Guest Rate next time you book (by calling us). It will save you some moolah. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was absolutely impressed with the 816 Hotel. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Upon arrival, Erin at the front desk immediately upgraded us to one of their unique themed rooms and told us of great local restaurants to try. She even offered me her own bottled water from the fridge when the vending machine on our floor was out!

We stayed in the TWA room which was extremely clean and wonderfully decorated. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet on our floor.

The location was fantastic! We were within a five mile radius of everything we could possibly want: Westport, the Plaza, and Crown Center.

I will absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the KC area and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Emily, thanks for the review. Erin does well making our guests happy and I am glad you experienced this. Please be sure to use our Repeat Guest Rate for your next visit. It is out lowest rate and available to only those that have stayed with us. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I grabbed a room at the 816 Hotel for his birthday celebration in Westport. When we checked in, we were about 15min early and nobody batted an eye (awesome), and had magically been upgraded to one of the themed rooms (super awesome!). We wound up in the Uptown Theatre room, and enjoyed it quite a bit. Fit in with the theme of the weekend really well. Thanks go to Melanie and Shawn! Our room was clean and had plenty of space, bed was cozy. Mini-fridge and microwave were much appreciated. The only two issues we really had were with the bathroom (tub drained very slowly, water pressure was very poor) and noise from the hallway (we could hear people talking from up the hall). Neither of these issues would prevent us from coming back, because the location of the hotel is perfect for a weekend in Westport. We were in comfortable walking distance of everything we wanted and needed. Tons of restaurants, bars and places to have a good time right up the street. Hard to beat!

Room Tip: The theme rooms are fun, if a little kitschy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Cristin, we are very happy the 816 helped make your stay in KC great. Your comments about noise have not fallen on deaf ears. In fact, starting this week, we are adding door sweeps to all guestrooms which will help limit any future noise. If is feedback like yours that help customer service driven businesses improve.

Be sure to use our Repeat Guest Rate when you return, so we can get you the lowest rate we have! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas city
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The room was newly remodeled, clean, the staff was helpful and you can't beat the free shuttle service. The nite life in Westport district is a hard to beat and thoroughly enjoyed Kansas City. The room rates were reasonable and in would recommend this hotel to family and friends visiting the Kansas City area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliceg, Guest Relations Manager at 816 Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. Westport is the happening area of KC and we are fortunate to be located here. The entertainment options within Westport are incredible and our staff is well versed in them. For future guests, please ask for recommendations as our staff can help make your stay special. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to 816 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 816 Hotel

Address: 801 Westport Road, Kansas City, MO 64111 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#22 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 816 Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Kansas City's only hotel dedicated to the past and present of the Paris of the Plains.   The 816 Hotel offers the BEST location in all of Kansas City...in the heart of Westport.  There are over 170 shops, restaurants and nightlife within a 5 block radius of the hotel. 6 blocks to our South is the Country Club Plaza and 30 blocks to our North Sprint Center and Power and Light Entertainment District. All of this is at your disposal with our complimentary shuttle service. Check into the 816, and tuck your keys away. Enjoy the best of KC without the hassle of driving and paying to park. Every guest of the 816 Hotel will enjoy the following amenities: * Free Breakfast including a made to order Omelet station * Nightly Manager's Cocktail Reception   * Free shuttle service in a 4 mile radius  * KC;s fastest (and free) hotel Wi-Fi * Free parking * Free passes to Gold's Gym (2 blocks to our East) We look forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 816 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kansas City - Westport Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 816 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.