We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #17 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a week on business. Room not ready at 3pm check in. I didn't know if they just had slow housekeeping or late check outs. I left to run errands and returned later.
Minor problems encountered initially which were addressed immediately. Desk Staff top notch. Breakfast just ok, not great. Towels wonderful, the best I have yet to encounter. Second day room had an odd smell, I didn't want to become the guest who complained, so I didn't say anything. The next day it was gone. Nice back area to relax. Pets allowed. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants if you don't mind the hills. Limited parking.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are so happy you stayed with us for a whole week! I am glad the front desk took care of things to your satisfaction. If there was any issue, we want you to alert us so we may take care of it for you.
Our towels are very plush, so comfy. Thank you for noticing! Since we are so urban we don't have a lot of extra spaces. However we do provide enough spaces for each room, since we have overflow parking next door. We appeciate your observations and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    220
    57
    25
    13
See reviews for
137
180
32
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Second time we have stayed at this especially well located hotel- thus it must be a good choice especially easy to reach the 2 main art museums , Westport neighborhood and the WWi museum as well as downtown with its super cool new opera house.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Oh we are so glad you experienced the Kaufman Center for Performing Arts! It is spectacular! And our shuttle does take guests there on weekend performances. Thank you for letting us know about your stay and for returning to us for your visit to KC. We are so close to most of KC's attractions. So happy you took advantage of that! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Within 6 hours of checking out of the hotel (around 5 pm), I called the front desk to report that I had left a pair of pajamas hanging on the hook on the wall behind the door. I was told that the housekeeping staff had already left and that I would have to call back the next day. When I called back the next morning, I was told that the head of housekeeping was unavailable and that I would have to check back in several hours. When I then decided to make a very inconvenient return to the hotel several hours later, I was informed that my missing item had not been placed in Lost and Found and also that it could not still be in the room because the rooms were checked very carefully before any new guest occupied the room. This, therefore, leads me to the conclusion that my item must have been taken by one of the staff members on your cleaning crew. I find this to be very disconcerting and will unlikely never stay in another Best Western Hotel and especially not this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are very sorry you are disappointed with us. We strive to make sure all of our guests feel taken care of. In a busy hotel the amount of laundry and items left behind by many guests is a large amount. Somehow, we surmise that your forgotten pajamas got intermixed with the large amount of laundry that was taken off the beds that day. We send part of our laundry out for sevice. I am sure your pajamas went out and at that point no one would know who they belonged to. We try to remind guests to not forget their belongings, because it is upsetting when you absent mindedly leave something behind. We will continue to stay on the lookout for your pajamas. And, again are sorry you forgot something you liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I found that this hotel fit the mid-range nicely. there are hotels nearby that are in the upper $100s. This hotel was in a good location in the middle of downtown within walking distance of the parks, civic area, and shopping. The hotel does not have a pool and has only a very small workout space, a converted guest room. Not really adequate for a workout. The breakfast is standard. The room was very comfortable. I needed a microwave but one is not provided. I asked the hotel clerk and they are willing to let you use the microwave in the breakfast area. There is a fridge in the room which is helpful. The hotel is next to a QuikStop which has decent light food (sandwiches, salads, wraps, etc.) if you arrive late.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We are so glad you found our location so convenient to so many of KC's attractions. Most guests do find we are a good value for our location. We are in the middle of adding a food pantry in our lobby with snacks and frozen entrees. We will be adding microwaves in the guest rooms soon. The fitness room is actually no smaller than it was before we relocated it. We have various cardio machines and we are adding the free weights in a week or so. We apologize they were not there at the time of your visit. Hopefully we see you on a return visit, and you can try out our free weights!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our 5th Wedding Anniversary. We have 3 kids and couldn't afford to take time off of work and the money spent to travel somewhere so we stayed local and got a nice room and enjoyed the peace and quiet. The room was great and we enjoyed our stay. Don't have any complaints here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Oh, thank you for choosing us to spend your anniversary. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves,
you can choose to be quiet and relaxed here or jump right into all the fun things there are to see and do, so close to our property.. We wish you a Happy Anniversary and many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Seville Plaza is a charming very small hotel located close to the Kansas City Art Institute, Nelson Atkins Museum and the Plaza. If you are a walker this is just the best place to be besides the hotel shuttle will take and pic you up within five miles. Just schedule with the concierge or phone them. The rooms are nice, clean and the interior design is Spanish hacienda style with a lovely little patio on the first floor to sit and have a wine or beer at the end of the day. The breakfast is good but not great and they have a large dining room with a large table for families along with a pit style living room for those that like to watch the morning shows. They of course have the smaller tables. I really enjoy smaller hotels so this one charmed me! The only downer was the cleaning cart was in the hallway at three in the afternoon because rooms were still being cleaned. That's my problem for being part diva! lol

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Yes, we are smaller than the other properties in our neighborhood. But, most guests like you, enjoy that quality. We are not a, big box, cookie cutter, property. We know most of our guests by name and take an interest in their experience in KC by offering suggestions and opinions from other guests. Many guests tell us they feel very welcomed and at home here. Thank you for finding us charming! The cart on the first floor is not acceptable at 3pm. However, for the first floor guests it is sometimes necessary if we had a full house the night before. I am sorry you had to see it. I do hope you will consider visiting KC again and we will be your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The elevator was a little slow but otherwise great rooms with wonderful people. They made our anniversary very nice. The only disappointment to us was when we had asked for an upgrade we were told a different price that was lower than what we were charged.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your generous words! We are so pleased you spent your anniversary with us. We will look into your comment about different rates that were given to you. That is not acceptable.
We do wish you a Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Address: 4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.