We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is convenient to many great Kansas City attractions. We just took a weekend to see the Christmas light son the Plaza. The staff at the Best Western are great. The price was also a great value. The Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The hotel offers a shuttle which we used since it was so cold. They will drop you off any where you like (within a 10 mile radius) and all you have to do is call when you are ready to return, we only had to wait about 10 minutes. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We are so glad you could visit KC to see the Plaza Lights! They are such a treat! Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate your valuable time to express your wonderful comments. We hope we will see you on your next visit to Kansas City, hopefully before the next Plaza Light display!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    161
    48
    20
    9
See reviews for
98
135
30
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The advantages of the Seville Best Western in Kansas City are: walking distance to great museums; walking distance to Plaza shopping; free parking; free internet; local newspaper (not USAToday, aka, McPaper); price per night is good. But there's also a downside. The building is old and needs remodeling. The first room they put us in had a broken heater (in December) so we had to move. The next room developed a water leak from the ceiling so we moved again. They put us next to the ice machine, and on the other side a drunk dude moved in who partied in the room after the bars closed. There are also small problems--breakfast room is so small that people have trouble getting to the food, fitness room has cardio but no weights, desk in the room is so close to a/c that it blows on you when you sit at the desk, noisy bathroom fan is on the same switch as the light so you always have to put up with the fan. The staff are friendly, but there's only so much they can do. If saving money is your priority and you don't mind the other stuff, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to drunk dudes. Rooms in back look out on residential neighborhood; rooms in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. We do have many assets for our property, as you stated. Convenience to so many things and free parking ,which is uncommon in our area. As well as free internet, Those heaters sometimes do act up but we are glad we could move you. We did not find the leak you were referring to, but will continue to follow up on your observation. The desks are approximately 5 ft. across, if the blowing of the heat was to much for you we would gladly give you a diverter to subdue the airflow from your direction. We apologize that a neighboring guest disturbed you. If that happens we request you call the front desk and we will contact the other guest to let them know they are bothering their fellow travelers. Again, thank you for taking your valuable time to let us know about your stay. Have safe travels ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labadie, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The staff at this Best Western was wonderful. They were very polite, friendly and accommodating. The location is wonderful- within walking distance of both the Westport area and Country Club Plaza. Although we did not use it, the hotel runs a free shuttle to area attractions. They actually had nice towels and the room was very clean, which is my number one criteria for a hotel.
That said, there were issues. Parking on the weekends is very tight- We ended up parking on the street behind the hotel, which was not a big deal. Bigger problems were that the heater in our room didn't work- no matter what temperature it was set on, it blew very hot air out continually. I spent the night getting up to turn the heat off when it got too hot in the room, then up again turning it back on when the room got chilly. Staff was very accommodating and offered to change our room for the second night of our stay or supply us with a small space heater, which worked great.
The bathtub didn't drain properly- I'd be standing in water over my ankles by the time I finished my shower. Both the shower curtain rod and the faucet were not attached well to the wall, and were pretty wobbly. The sink faucet also leaked. One of the beds was actually broken.
I would consider staying her again, though. The location was great, the price was right and the room was huge and very clean.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
First let us say thank you for your positive comments on our wonderful staff. They try tomake every stay a good experience. And, for you observations of our convenient location and cleanliness.
We want to address your concerns as well. Being in our convenient location to so many things we tend to be in the middle of a popular area. Sometimes the parking does get crowded, especially if guests travel together and arrive with more than one car. We are happy your heating issue in your room was solved to your satisfaction. Unfortunately, sometimes equipment has bad timing for failure! As far as a broken bed, we are so sorry that this was overlooked by our housekeeping staff. The beds are newer so this is a condition that must have happened by an accident of another guest. We apologize, and want you to know we would never have given you that guest room had we known. The proper staff will be alerted to this. Again, we appreciate you sharing your observations and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Iowa
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a relaxing evening at this motel. Kala, at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly upon arrival. The motel is clean and fairly quiet. Our room was nice and clean. The motel is convenient to many area attractions - Nelson-Atkins Art Museum, Country Club Plaza, Westport. They provide a free shutle to area attractions. But, be sure to sign up for a shuttle ride in advance. We didn't know we needed to, and the shuttle wasn't available when we wanted it. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We know everyone has a choice, and we are so very pleased you chose us for your stay in KC! We will let our staff know they were acknowledged by you. That is very special to them. We are very convenient to many attractions, guests like that fact and that we provide a good value for our location. We are sorry you did not know to sign up for the shuttle. We must not have communicated that to you properly. We will make note, so it does not happen to any of our other guests. We look forward to seeing you on another visit to KC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The price was right and the rooms were clean and about what you would expect. We had 2 problems that were quickly corrected. The staff was great--Kaila, Terry and others made sure we got what we needed. For a hotel this close (we walked to the Plaza), this was a good value.
I had read other reviews about poor service from staff, bad area...blah, blah, blah...we saw NONE of this We had a pet-friendly room and the staff was pet-friendly as well.
The breakfast buffett was good as well. I can say we had no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the staff we want to thank you so much for your kind words. They try very hard to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay and when they are recognized, it is very special for them. We are very convenient to so many attractions, and most people agree we are a good value for our proximity to so much. We are in an urban area and sometimes people feel unfamiliar with that. But, thank you for letting others know that our location is great. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Address: 4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.