We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Stay Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #17 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    95
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
87
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The price was right and the rooms were clean and about what you would expect. We had 2 problems that were quickly corrected. The staff was great--Kaila, Terry and others made sure we got what we needed. For a hotel this close (we walked to the Plaza), this was a good value.
I had read other reviews about poor service from staff, bad area...blah, blah, blah...we saw NONE of this We had a pet-friendly room and the staff was pet-friendly as well.
The breakfast buffett was good as well. I can say we had no complaints about our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
On behalf of the staff we want to thank you so much for your kind words. They try very hard to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay and when they are recognized, it is very special for them. We are very convenient to so many attractions, and most people agree we are a good value for our proximity to so much. We are in an urban area and sometimes people feel unfamiliar with that. But, thank you for letting others know that our location is great. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McPherson, Kansas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Service was great. Room was good and clean with fridge and micro on request. Across street from liquor store and 100 yards from convienience store. A short drive to Plaza and we got an excellent price at the BW website.

Minor drawbacks? Smallish Box TV and tight parking.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hopefully, you will return in the next few weeks because our TV's will be beautiful 37" flat screens. Thanks for your positive comments, the staff loves to hear that and any suggestions you may have.
Parking is Free with us which is uncommon in our area, and we do have extra parking at the lot adjacent to us as well. Thanks again for your time to share with us and we hope you have safe travels in your future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford MO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Best Western properties can be hit-or-miss, but this one's right on the mark.

The property is lovely with it's Plaza-inspired Mediterranean influences and inviting courtyard tucked away from the street, but the real stars are the staff. I can't remember when I've felt more welcome and cared-for ... genuine midwest hospitality and friendliness!

Although the breakfast area is WAY too small, the selections are tasty. (Besides, our in-room ice bucket tray makes a great way to gather up all my favorite goodies and take them up to my room where I can sit on my comfy sofa and enjoy!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are so very happy you felt welcome here. Our staff is very friendly and will help you with whatever you need. Be it suggestions, directions or to sew on a button before a meeting. We treat our guests as family. Just like at home, sometimes our guests come to breakfast all at once it seems. We do have other available seating areas to accomodate you for breakfast, they are tucked away so we need to do a better job at directing guests to those areas. Again, thank you for your comments. The staff will be appreciative of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Best Western Plus is very nicely location between the KC Plaza and Westport. Easy walking distance to either. IN addition, the hotel provide free (tips appreciated) shuttle service to make it easier to return from clubbing or dining. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. My only objection is the small size of the (free) breakfast area. There are more private dining areas in f the lobby or outside. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests do like the fact we are so convenient to the Plaza and Westport area! There are so many attractions that are so close to our location. We do also have a cold breakfast area in addition to the hot breakfast, and some grab and go items for the early birds that need to be on the road in a hurry. Thank you for your time and comments. Hopefully, we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUSTON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On checking in I was impressed by the welcome I received from the front desk employee. She was knowledgable about the local area and made suggestions for places to eat.
The room itself was disappointing. The decor was well past its prime, although the bed was very clean and comfortable. All of the usual amenities were present. The room was definitely not worth the 120 dollar price.
What was really disappointing was that the walls are paper-thin. I could hear everything from the rooms on either side, even coughs. To his credit, the member of staff on call when I called down to the front desk to complain was very helpful and located me another quieter room.
Breakfast was provided, but was average at best. I would stick to the yogurt, coffee, and cereal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Please accept our apologies if you were disturbed in your guest room. We are glad we could accommodate you and you had a restful nights sleep. Our rates fluctuate with certain events that are taking place in the city, however, we do have a variety of promotional rates at certain times of the year and day of the week. Hopefully, next time you are able to take advantage of those. Our breakfast does include several hot items, we always have fresh fruit, fresh juice and a variety of cold cereal and muffins. I will communicate to the front desk that you were pleased with your greeting. They always like to hear that. Thank you so much for your time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was a dark and stormy night . . . I feel like I've heard that before, but it is the most appropriate way to start off this review. The reason it's the best way to start off my review is that it puts perspective on my opinion of this place. It was dark, it was late, fine - it was only raining lightly, but I wasn't exactly perfectly oriented when driving through town trying to find somewhere to stay. I didn't know what we were getting ourselves into when pulling up to this hotel. Even now, I don't know how the neighborhood was (it seemed borderline sketchy, based on what we saw our our back window) and I don't know if there's anything to do in the area (we drove off quickly in the morning to downtown).

The room was average, the service was average, the hotel is overpriced. There's nothing special to say about this place one way or the other. If you're just driving through, you should probably pick something closer to a freeway that may be cheaper. If you want to stay in this area specifically for some reason, this might be the best option for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy B, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We want to let you know we appreciate your time to comment. Whenever someone arrives in an unfamiliar city ,late at night and in the rain we are sure things would seem a little more unfriendly. However, we wish you would have stayed a little longer in the morning so you could see the beautiful Plaza area down the street , a very friendly area! We are more commonly commented on for our value. However, everyone has a different view of value. Thank you again for your thoughts, and hope you make it back to KC in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Best Western Kansas City
Kansas City Best Western
Address: 4309 Main Street, Kansas City, MO 64111-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Kansas City
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#23 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Best Western Plus Seville Plaza Hotel we are a smaller, boutique-like property that is very guest oriented. As a repeat winner of Trip Advisors Award of Excellence we are located within Kansas City's dining and entertainment districts. Close to a variety of restaurants and premium shopping on the Country Club Plaza. The world-class art of the Nelson-Atkins museum and the Kemper Museum of Modern Art are within walking distance. Convenient to many of Kansas City's other premier attractions, such as Union Station, the Power and Light District, and City Market and the famous Westport area. Fridays and Saturdays we offer a complimentary shuttle service from 4pm to midnight that can take you anywhere within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Our friendly staff is happy to give you a variety of great dining and entertainment suggestions or answer any questions that you may have during your stay. We are a 100% smoke-free, dog-friendly property. Guests will enjoy our upgraded amenities, in-room refrigerators, free on-site parking. Ask about our inroom 2 person spas, the only ones on the Plaza. We are also proud to offer free full, hot breakfasts, 24-hour fitness and business centers, and free wireless internet. We look forward to seeing you, enjoy your stay. And always, let us know how we can make the time you spend with us enjoyable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Seville Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.