We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   220 West 43rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Brkfst & WiFi for $1
Ranked #44 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Good location right at Country Club Plaza - but the rest is average at best - rooms are sizable but a bit drab (apparently the housekeeping staff does not clean everything as a general practice), restaurant is not open late for the late-arriving business traveler, and most of the hotel seemed a bit worn out. Gouged prices during a convention week did not help either.

Would highly recommend The Raphael, Intercontinental or other property (not the Sheraton) in the Country Club Plaza area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Good afternoon BU

I apologize for all of the challenges you encountered with your stay. The added frustrations of unacceptable cleaning of your suite will be addressed with our Executive Housekeeper and staff. The rates during your stay were consistent with other hotels in the area during that time and did include the evening reception, breakfast and two-room suite. Comments from our guests are taken very seriously as we value your patronage. Again I apologize for the disappointments during your stay you had with us.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    214
    176
    81
    51
See reviews for
258
114
23
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rcck, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love staying here when I am in KC and will stay here in on future trips. Staff was personal and professional. I love staying here when I am in KC and will stay here in on future trips. Staff was personal and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Good afternoon Cornelius A


Thank you for staying with us and the five-star review you shared with the readers of TRIP ADVISOR. We were busy and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that you saw the value in what we offer, the complimentary evening reception, Full cooked to order breakfast and the two-room suite which is really a great deal compared to the other hotels in the area. Thanks also for the kind words you shared with your staff which they will be excited to hear that their efforts did earn your future patronage of our hotel. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope your future travels bring you back to Kansas City and our hotel.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very clean. Good location near the Plaza, but it's a bit of a walk. We used the free hotel shuttle to and from the Plaza at night...quick, easy, dependable. Went to Royals game...less than twenty minutes away. Didn't go downtown, but the hotel is only about ten minutes from there. Hotel was full, so they ran out of parking. Valet guys quickly freed up valet spots for us. Desk staff friendly. In-suite AC was very loud. Warning that sink is in the bedroom and not inside the VERY small bathroom. Nightly manager's reception and daily breakfast were nice. Pool area clean. They have two pools...a shallow(3feet) and a deep one. Kids liked this. Restaurant/bar downstairs has good food. Pricey but not too bad for a hotel restaurant. Michael the bartender was wonderful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Be careful when booking...some rooms are smoking rooms in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Good afternoon travlinmomo3

Thank you for your detailed review of your stay. I am sure that the readers of TRIP ADVISOR will find the details of your stay very helpful when booking. The Name TRAVLINMOMO3 adds some credibility to your review. I apologize about the noisy air conditioning and I hope that you called and had our engineering staff work on this while you were here. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope your future travels bring you back to Kansas City and our hotel.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at the ES in the Plaza area. We find it a good central location with comfortable beds, a clean hotel and fun pool for the boys. The pool area actually has a sauna, steam room and whirlpool - all kept very clean, kind of a throw-back to better hotel pool days. As other visitors have shared, yes, the hotel is consistently busy, but seems to keep up well with the crowds. Our family breakfasts early and hit the managers reception early too, so we didn't have extended waits. I was disappointed that the ten dollar a day wi-fi was per device, not just per day; it would be nice to have wi-fi for the room for the day. But, we took about a 4 block drive up to the east and 1 block north to Starbucks and got the coverage needed there. Thanks to the front desk, too, for letting us get in upon our early afternoon arrival on Friday. Will stay again.

Room Tip: No ice machine on the 6th floor where we were, but sent the kids out running for it. If you want th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Wow! Great comments about your stay. I am sure our engineers will be happy to hear about your comments about the pool and sauna area. Your tips about the Breakfast, Reception and WIFI are something the readers of TRIP ADVISOR will find useful when staying with us. Shame on us for not offering to enroll you in our HHonors program, which would also maximize your enjoyment while staying with us. Comments from a senior contributor certainly hold a lot of weight and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope your future travels bring you back to Kansas City and our hotel.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was a nice stay in a clean room. It was not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but there weren't any problems with the hotel that would prevent me from staying there. At the end of the day, I would stay again. The others I stayed with agreed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Good morning Candice W

Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to see that the traveling partners and you were please with your stay. I was pleased to see that your stay was problem free and that you would consider staying with us again. Thanks again for staying with us and I hope your future travels bring you back to Kansas City and our hotel.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is close to the plaza, easy walk to many restaurants and shopping. Across the street is a nice park for a daily run or walk which appeared to be clean and many people were out. I would recommend this hotel, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and overall appearance was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Good afternoon Peggy_iowa70

Thanks for the lovely review of your stay with us. I was happy to see that you had a pleasant stay and would we have earned the privilege of your future patronage when your travel plans bring you back to Kansas City

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Less than 4 stars. Nice staff, though. Bizarre situation involving breakfast buffet--more than an hour wait--someone needs to think this out. If its not available, who cares if its free. It isnt really at thePlaza and it certainly is not an easy walk. Good mattresses and pillows. Tiny bathrooms. No where to get coffee after 9 am.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scott w, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear riokc 1800

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I will review your comments about the lengthy with breakfast wait times and availability of coffee with the breakfast team as they are valid comments. I apologize for the displeasure and frustration and the resulting impact on your overall stay with us.

Scott Woidela
Asst. General Manager
Embassy Suites Kansas City Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza

Address: 220 West 43rd Street, Kansas City, MO 64111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Kansas City
Kansas City Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Kansas City - Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.