We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for a weekend night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 West 47th Street, Kansas City, MO 64112 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Very nice for a weekend night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We won this hotel using a Priceline bid. I was a bit skeptical from a few of the posts but found the hotel to be very comfortable for our stay and it had a very good location on the Country Club Plaza in Kansas City.

We had a king suite room. The room didn't have much of a view but I didn't expect a view as a Priceline customer. It was set up as a suite with a seperate sitting area and french doors seperating the bedroom area from the sitting area. It was not a large room but was comfortable for the two of us. There was a mini fridge and microwave oven. The sitting area had a good size flat panel TV. Check in was efficient and staff were friendly. This hotel allows pets and we ran into the occasional dog going down for a walk. We did not have the opportunity to use any of the features such as the swimming pool, restaurant/bar or online services. There was a daily charge for wireless in the room so I passed on that feature as well.

Self parking was $10 and the parking spaces are somewhat cramped. There is free parking within easy walking distance if you don't mind leaving your car in a public garage overnight. They offer valet service but, since we did not use that service I'm not certain of the cost. When we check in there was no bell boy visable to assist with luggage but, since we were there only one night, we really didn't have any luggage to speak of.

We travel at least 6 weeks out of the year plus a few additional nights/weekends in hotels along the way. While not one of the top hotels we've stayed in it certainly isn't a hotel I'd avoid nor leave in the middle of a stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    154
    95
    49
    32
See reviews for
82
106
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I'm a frequent traveler and it's the little things that add up for a lousy stay. 1.) No gratis USA Today, had to pay. 2.) No free wireless. 3.) No complimentary food. 4.) Daily parking charge is ridiculous. 5.) Front desk staff was dismissive and rude. 6.) Cancelled third night, checked in at Hampton Inn around the corner. Sheraton still billed my CC for third night.

Hampton Inn just around the corner has better beds, complimentary breakfast, free wireless, USA Today delivered to room, parking about half the cost and everyone was very nice.

Sheraton has lost my business.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
I saw the review you posted and apologies that our hotel didn’t live up to your expectations. Regarding what you felt was rude treatment by our staff over the telephone. I would be interested to learn more details about what you experienced and would appreciate you contacting me at estevens@Sheratonsuites.com


Sincerely,
Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The hotel is very nice and the beds quite comfortable. The service leads much to be desired.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, IL.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The location was good, the room was clean, the service needs much improvement.
The parking was $10.00 a day wich is ridiculous! you can park across the street for free.
The parking lot was a bit scary and dark. We did not feel safe. the gift shop is closet size. Thank goodness it only cost $69.00 per night because that is all it was worth!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita, kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We have stayed at the Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza through the years, and have noticed a steady decline in service. The location is great, and the rooms generally clean. Our room had a television that did not work, and no one behind the front desk offered to try to fix it, or even adjust the bill. The maid service never did clean our room, and the breakfast buffet for 3 cost us a little over $60 (seriously, a breakfast buffett shouldn't cost anywhere near this amount), and was severely limited in offerings.
The rooms are quaint, if a little on the small side, but are generally well maintained.
The attitude of the people behind the desk seemed totally indifferent, and not what we have experienced in past years.
Still, if you can overlook jaded staff and sometimes imperfect accomodations, the location for a stay st the plaza could be worth it.
I do think we wil try a different hotel the next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdStevens, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, January 21, 2010
Thank you for your commits we will work harder to regain your business.

Ed Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

My family and sisters family booked these rooms in March. We prepaid and got an awesome rate. There were no concessions on our rooms. There was a small problem getting our rooms on the same floor but Grant went above and beyond to make it happen. The rooms were wonderful, the location is wonderful and the service was above and beyond... Thank you Sheraton staff for a great week.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband returned from 15 months in Iraq and we went on a mini-honeymoon to this hotel. We presented for our room with Military ID and they immediately upgraded us to an awesome suite which made our night so very special and they will never know just how wonderful it was for us. It was so beautiful, everyone was so very kind, it was truly a night to remember. Thank you so much! Scott & Shana

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Address: 770 West 47th Street, Kansas City, MO 64112 (Formerly Sheraton Kansas City Hotel at Country Club Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Suites at Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.