We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   770 West 47th Street, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
“Will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sheraton in Kansas City. The staff was wonderful. Our 8 year old granddaughter was greeted by everyone - this truly made her feel special. I needed help purchasing tickets to King Tut and was guided through the process step by step by hotel staff. The cost is amazing for a place like this. It is within walking distance of the Plaza, the rooms are spacious and with a great view of the city. We had a great evening meal and breakfast buffet on during our stay - food and service was way above our expectations. The Catholic Church was less than a mile away for Sunday services. I highly recommended staying here. We plan on going back soon and will again stay at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and had a great view of the city lights at night. Our 8 year old gran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending feedback on your stay to Trip Advisor. It was good to read you had an excellent experience at our hotel. The hotel staff strive to deliver an excellent guest experience to all of our guests and I was glad to read they delivered that experience to you and your family. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel on a future visit to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    141
    88
    45
    29
See reviews for
76
97
21
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The hotel is located proximal to many businesses, shops and restaurants alike, making it an ideal location for most travelers. The staff are very courteous and accommodating, a couple of them went out of their way to ensure my experience was excellent. The rooms are luxurious and clean as you would expect in a hotel of this caliber. The exercise room was exceptional as it offers free weights and a plethora of treadmills and elliptical machines. Perhaps my one suggestion for improvement would be to improve the lighting in the underground parking garage, as it looked quite ominous at night. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is seeking a luxury hotel in the area!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
I am glad you choose to stay at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza for your recent trip to Kansas City. It was good to read that you found our room accommodations to be nice and our staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location with very convenient access to many of the shops and restaurants on the Country Club Plaza. We appreciate your business and look forward to have you return as our guest on a future visit to the Kansas City County Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

New travel frequently to Kansas City and stay here often because we prefer the location to that of many other hotels on the plaza. Because of the location we have no problem overlooking minor things here and there. However, upon arrival of our latest visit we were notified that they no longer offer Valet Parking. What? On the plaza... At the Sheraton. It's not the holiday inn for crying out loud. I have no interest in having to go back to the car and then to the garage and then to my room. We were told it was the General managers decision. Hmm... Most valet parking attendants I know of earn most of their money on tips, so I can't imagine this is any cost saving benefit to the hotel. Poor decision in my opinion. Valet parking is a standard. I honestly don't consider myself to be high maintenance, but feel like this is just a given. Especially after a long day of travel. We will be staying at The Intercontinental from now on- despite my preference for the 47th St location of the Sheraton.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was disappointed to read your experience at the hotel was not excellent. I do apologize for the disappointment you encountered to discover we had stopped offering valet parking at the hotel. I do hope the rest of your stay at the hotel was enjoyable and the staff were friendly and accommodating. We offer our guests a great location with easy access to the many shops and restaurants on the Country Club Plaza. I hope to have you reconsider and return to our hotel on a future visit to the Kansas City Country Club Plaza. Ted Frerking, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Right on the Country Club Plaza it is within walking distance of amazing dining and shopping. The staff was very professional. The cost is a steal considering the part of Kansas City you are in. My wife and I have stayed in many places on the Country Club Plaza but this is now our favorite. Best place to stay on the Plaza!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for sending your comments to Trip Advisor on your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was glad to read you had an excellent experience at the hotel. We have a great location within walking distance to all the plaza shops and restaurants and I am glad you were able to enjoy your trip! The hotel staff do a wonderful job of taking care of our guests and I am glad their service helped to make your stay enjoyable. Thanks for staying with us. We value your busiess and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My sons birthday is in April and my wife and I decided to suprise him with a trip to kansas city to see the king tut exhibit. Our next step was to find a hotel, I used hotwire.com to find a hotel in the price range i was comfortable with. We were so excited when we reached the hotel. It was right on the Plaza and within walking distance to great restaurants and it was not far from the crown plaza and union station. The hotel was very nice, clean, and all of the staff that we came in contact with were so friendly. Asking where we were from what we were looking to do and makin suggestions if we asked. We walked down to mccormic and schmits for dinner the night we arrived and when we got back we had 30 min till the pool closed so we wnt down to the indoor pool. The pool area was clean and the pool looked nice. In the summer the pool is conected to the outdoor pool. Our room was a king suite my family was so impressed with the room, it was clean and having 2 tvs was great. I have nothing bad to say and I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for celebrating your sons birthday at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza. I was glad to read you had an excellent experience at the hotel and we exceeded your expectations. The hotel has a great staff and they work very hard to provide exceptional service to our guests. Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on a future visit to the Kansas City Plaza area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for a conference meeting held in the board room off of the lobby, and stayed in the hotel for the night.

The positives - the location is very nice, located on the Country Club Plaza within easy walking distance of a number of very nice dining and shopping options. The front desk staff was very helpful identifying dining options we'd be interested in. The lobby is very welcoming with multiple PC's available for public use. The room itself was a suite which was older but nice inside the room.

The negatives - the property is older, I'd guess built sometime in the 70's or 80's, and it shows in a number of areas, including multiple layers of paint on entry doors, tarnished hardware, french doors in the suite that lacked operable latches. Parking costs an additional $15/night, although Country Club Plaza has free parking across the street that could be an option. Breakfast is available for $15/person in the cafe off the lobby.

The meeting - What took this from a four to a two rating was the the meeting room and catering. Where do aI begin? The hvac in the meeting room was a mess, and we could not get it any cooler than the high 70's. We asked the front desk folks multiple times and they were always "working on it". Never fixed. No apologies, no solutions, just "working on it". Then we had sandwiches for lunch, which were initially served with no condiments. Only after several people asked did the staff bring in condiments, but by that time about half the participants had choked down their meals and moved on.

Overall - if we were just coming for a casual weekend, we would not have any major concerns with this place, although I'd probably look at a few other properties nearby which are newer. However, if I were planning any sort of event / meeting, I definitely would have concerns about this property. Even with having asked multiple times, the staff seemed unable to do anything to make the meeting room comfortable, even with outside temps in the low 80's.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for staying at the Sheraton Suites on the Country Club Plaza and sending comments on your recent stay to Trip Advisor. Both are appreciated. I was glad to read you found our hotel location to be perfect for your event and our staff to be friendly and accommodating. I do apologize for the issues you experienced with the HVAC in your meeting room. We should have been able to properly cool down your meeting room during your event and I will follow up with the staff to see what was causing the issues so it can be addressed. I fully understand how distracting it can be when you are in a meeting and the room air temperature can not be regulated properly and for this I do apologize. We appreciate your business and will get this item addressed so it will not impact any future meeting guests. We look forward to having you return as our guest when your travels bring you back to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Sheraton Suites is located in the heart of Country Club Plaza. Staff were very attentive and very nice. We were pleased with the value and quality. The club lounge ($20 per day) is well worth the money. The food was wonderful and the staff helpful in planning dining and other activities.

Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ted F, General Manager at Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for sending comments on your recent stay at the Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza to Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had an excellent experience at the hotel. I was glad to read you got to experience the club lounge and the wonderful benefits it offers. It is really a great value for an additional $20.00 fee per night. Thanks for staying with us we truly value your business. Looking forward to seeing you on a return trip to the Country Club Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza

Address: 770 West 47th Street, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza is minutes from Sprint Center, Power & Light District, Kansas Speedway and the Kansas City Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Hotel Country Plaza
Sheraton Kansas City
Sheraton Country Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.