We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Nile Cafe

Blue Nile Cafe
20 E 5th St, Ste 102, Kansas City, MO 64106-1145
816-283-0990
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,201 restaurants in Kansas City
Restaurant details
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

In the mood for something different? This is a great restaurant to explore food's of the world. I really enjoy the different flavors and dishes plus the pancake-like bread to eat your meal with. The small space is perfect for a small group or date night. Come hungry - the food is great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    12
    15
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Tried it...not bad, just for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

So as a vegetarian, I was super excited to try this place out. I have heard nothing but great things about it, so gave it a try. I got the vegetarian sampler platter to be sure to try a bit of everything. I even got a glass of the Ethiopian wine to complete my experience. We had a great service & nice dining experience, I just didn't really care for the food. I can tell it was well prepared with quality ingredients, It was just not something that I will crave or care to go back to again. It surely wasn't bad, I would just rather choose somewhere else when dining out. My suggestion is to give it a try to see if it is for you- many people love it & it is good to see a KC restaurant busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have been missing Ethiopian food ever since I left the East Coast - and now there is this little restaurant that can fix that! The food was excellent, the service courteous and we had a good time. The place is not big at all and not a super-fancy setting but once that food is in front of you, I would guess the setting will be totally irrelevant. I also like the funny sign with the knife and fork crossed out that they had outside - it was a funny and gentle way of telling people who may not be familiar with this tradition of eating that there would be no silverware.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tried the Blue Nile for the first time and was really impressed. I've never eaten Ethopian food before but would definetly go back. Great food, great service and a great price. I also liked the fact they have a buffet at lunch so you can try a little of everything.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ethiopian food a four year loved.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were not sure if our four year would even try Ethiopian food, but he did and loved it. He especially liked the injera, one piece to play with and one to eat. The chef made the tibs low on heat, but high on flavor and my little one ate it up. If you asked him what the best thing was, "no fork or spoon, you eat with you hands, yeah."

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Nile Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Nile Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Nile Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.