We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They pulled off a miracle!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southmoreland on the Plaza

Save Saved
You added Southmoreland on the Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southmoreland on the Plaza
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   116 E. 46th St., Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Kansas City B&B and Inns
KC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“They pulled off a miracle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed for a three day event with a group of entrepreneurs from PIPELINE, and surprise! We got hit with a foot of snow, cancelling all our travel events and dumping us all unexpectedly on Nancy and Mark for the duration. Snowed in, they pivoted on their plans and accomodated us in brilliant and memory-of-a-lifetime style. The B&B is so cozy, relaxing, and beautiful, and the food all so over-the-top-great that I can't say enough. Stay at this place when you are in KC!!

Room Tip: They offer a fitness collaboration nearby; I didn't use it because we were snowed in. All the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    16
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
78
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm so glad I took a local's recommendation for Southmoreland. They said it was the best inn in KC and they were correct. Breakfasts can't be beat, fire in the fireplace, staff that is so friendly, rooms that are spot on clean and well furnished. A newspaper is delivered to you door every morning (I have little praise for the KC newspaper, however). The place has an authentic feel, unlike many inns that are dolled up and feel fake. I will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem terrific. I had the smallest and it even had a small porch for sitting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Southmoreland many times. Each and every experience has been positive. We love the comfortable and private rooms! Mark's breakfasts are to die for! Each and every staff person is so warm and welcoming. This weekend we hosted a group of 13 couples at the Southmoreland. Each couple in our group couldn't say enough positive things regarding the weekend. We loved it and we will be back next year with 13 additional couples. If you are looking for a bed and breakfast in Kansas City, The Southmoreland is the place to be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed here once before in the Carriage House. Decided to spend a night in one of the rooms in the main house to give it a shot. The house itself is located close to the Plaza and all it has to offer. The common areas of the house are well-appointed and relaxing. The sun porch is particularly inviting. Light fare is served every night, along with wine - a nice touch. The rooms in the main home are well decorated and the bedding very comfortable. Complimentary Sherry also a nice touch on the nightstand. The room itself could use a bit of a touch-up (i.e. spider cracking along the walls in the bedroom and in bathroom, etc.). I understand this is an old home, but as with all old homes it needs CONSTANT repair, and this home could use a bit of a touch-up in those areas to be on par with some of the other Select Registry B&Bs I have stayed at. Also, be warned that the walls are pretty thin in the house and each room does not have its own thermostat - this made for a somewhat restless night as it was warmer than I would have liked and other guests were heard arguing in the middle of the night. Another minus was the "honor box" for snacks and drinks. At the Select Registry B&Bs I have stayed at before they offer this sort of thing gratis. The cost should just be absorbed in the the price of the room to stay on par with the sophistication that they are striving for. Breakfast was wonderful, and we enjoyed it. The owners were there in the morning, and were nice to converse with. The outdoor cats are always an attraction. All in all I wish there was another Select Registry B&B in the KC area to compete, but this will do the job in a pinch.

Room Tip: The Carriage House will offer you all the privacy you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our first time to celebrate our anniversary. We loved it and had a wonderful time. I would recommend this place to anyone. The owners and staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are great and the breakfast was wonderful! The only negative thing is that parking is tight. It's easy walking distance to the shops on the plaza. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I gave the Mary Atkins room as a surprise (late) Christmas gift to my husband last year. It was perfect! They had homemade brie and crackers set out to enjoy as we checked in, and beautiful music played throughout the house to set a relaxing, and romantic tone. We enjoyed our cozy room (perfect for two, no more) so much! The breakfast was wonderful as well, with a candied pear of some sort and some other delicious things I can't even remember the names of. Also, not only was there a bottle of cherie in the room along with a basket of apples to enjoy, but there were chocolates on our pillow when we arrived back from dinner!! We LOVED that and seriously made us feel so special. We loved it so much and it was the perfect romantic gettaway!!

Room Tip: The Mary Atkins room we stayed in had a nice balcony, but not much room. It was perfect for the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great stately home, professionally restored to perfection! Host and hostess outstanding - great recommendations for dining, activities, local history, and committed to neighborhood preservation and protection. Handled an awkward experience with another couple with discretion and grace. Fabulous breakfast.
Easy drive to anything in St. Louis, a definite gem!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southmoreland on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southmoreland on the Plaza

Address: 116 E. 46th St., Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Southmoreland on the Plaza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Southmoreland on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southmoreland On The Plaza Hotel Kansas City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southmoreland on the Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.