We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel to stay at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9103 East 39th Street, Kansas City, MO 64133 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kansas City SE - Waterpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Altoona, Iowa, United States
1 review
“Best Hotel to stay at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a very clean hotel to stay at. Very family friendly. Waterpark was amazing. I'd definitely stay here again. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and very affordable for a family of 5. The staff was prompt when asking for additional bedding also. Great family friendly place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you come back and visit us again soon. We will be looking forward to your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    92
    93
    68
    69
See reviews for
216
46
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although this hotel did have some minor issues and annoyances, it is overall a pretty good hotel.

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. When we first arrived, our room was very warm, and the temperature would not decrease, no matter how low we set the thermostat. So the next morning, we told the front desk about it, and by the time that we got back that night, the room was at a reasonable temperature.

The hotel's lobby is very nice with lots of places to sit. There were a lot of school groups staying at the hotel while we were there, so the lobby was a bit noisy, but things quieted down outside of the lobby area.

The breakfast buffet was very good, and had a wide selection of both cold and warm breakfast foods.

The regular indoor pool and hot tub (not the water park) are nice and were heated to a comfortable temperature.

This hotel has a nice location near to the KC Royals and Chiefs stadiums and is right off of the highway.

This hotel does have some downsides, however. One of the biggest ones is that the Wi-Fi is only free for 24 hours, which is obviously a problem when you're staying at the hotel for more than one night. A lot of cheaper hotels that I've stayed at have had free Wi-Fi, so I think it is unreasonable for a hotel that is pretty nice as this one is to charge. In addition, I couldn't find how much the Wi-Fi would have cost if I were to run it for more than 24 hours.

The parking lot is a bit small, and can be especially cramped on weekends due to the amount of people visiting the water park.

The water park was really crowded while we where there, but it was still fun.

Overall, this is a good hotel, but it is nowhere near perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not in the main tower. The rooms outside of the tower are newer and less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Overall the hotel was average, but there were some really great employees that went out of their way to help us have an enjoyable stay. Alanda in the restaurant was so sweet and helped my daughter out when she started choking on her breadstick. She was a sweet, kind person.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It was great to here that Alonda was able to assist you with your daughter and I will share your comments with her manager. We do hope that you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for volleyball tournament. First time my primary complaint is room needed dusting. Blinds, headboards, Kleenex dispenser, all dusty. Bathrooms are TINY and if 6 ft or taller could not stand in shower. Bathroom wallpaper beat up and dirty. Corners, switch plates , woodwork dirty. Towels were fluffy, but bedding needs to be replaced. The rest of room seemed clean. Summary, room needs deep clean and staff needs to wipe down EVERYTHING for each guests. The staff was very nice and helpful. However I would not recommend for quality or location for downtown activities. If in town for sports athletes shouldn't be swimming much and don't think water park makes up for poor quality rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I do apologize that your room was dusty and will share this with the housekeeping staff. We did enjoy having the volleyball teams stay with us and hope that you did well in your tournament. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff was very friendly. Location was good...easy access to freeway, making our trips to downtown area easy. Downsides were: room was very warm and we could not cool. AC was not working properly. Very limited hot water. Bathroom was very small. Room was not cleaned properly. This was corrected after I called the front desk.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I do apologize that your room was not up to standards upon your arrival but it is great to hear that we were able to send someone up there to attend to it quickly. Thank you again for staying with us as we do appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had to stay at this hotel for an event in town. It is real close to the KC Royals and Chiefs stadiums, just across the road. It's about 8 miles from center of town. The hotel does have an indoor water park attached but I can not rate this as I didn't visit.
The lobby of the hotel is nice, plenty of room for meeting friends and just hanging out. Hotel restaurant just ok, very typical bar food! The check in was slow, but Kayla did a great job in accommodating my reservation, I did not want a room near elevator- too noisy!
There are 3 elevators for the main part of the hotel which means a wait at busy times and packed full of guests.
The rooms are ok, they do need some redecorating, towels need to be replaced. The bathrooms are tiny,beds uncomfortable and pillows lumpy. The hallways sometimes had a mold like smell. Parking on the weekends is tight, you may have to walk quite a distance!

Room Tip: Do not take a room near the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I will share your comments with Kayla as she is a new employee with us. We do appreciate you staying with us and I will share your comments with the management staff. Hopefully you can come back and visit us again soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for the Jackson County Truman Days celebration. Staff was friendly, suites were great. banquet food was above average... Great place to stay if you are coming in for the KC Chiefs or Royals ballgame!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a view of the Kansas City Royals Stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria D, Manager at Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you are able to visit us again soon. You are correct the high the floor the better expecially with the view of the stadiums. Hopefully you will be able to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 9103 East 39th Street, Kansas City, MO 64133 (Formerly Holiday Inn Kansas City SE - Waterpark)
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 374
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adam's Mark of Kansas City is a full-service hotel and conference center located on the Southeastern side of Kansas City, MO. Our location is adjacent to the Truman Sports Complex, home of the Kansas City Chiefs and Royals. The Adam's Mark of Kansas City offers over 369 well appointed rooms and 17,000 sq. ft. of event and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kansas City Se - Waterpark Hotel Kansas City
Sheraton Kansas City
Kansas City Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adam's Mark Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.