We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to like it, but didn't” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grinders

Grinders
417 E 18th St, Kansas City, MO 64108-1409
816-472-5454
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it, but didn't”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

After seeing this restaurant featured on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives, we were excited to check it out. We were seated in the far back at the airplane seating table. I couldn't stop thinking about how filthy the seats were to focus on much else. We ordered the tater tot pizza, which was a let-down. Nobody at our table was impressed with the Cheese Whiz topped pile of grease. The best part was a tuna sandwich we shared. We won't be back nor will we recommend this place to our friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good food but not clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I like the food but I find this restaurant to be unclean. They have a good crowd so they dont have great customer service because they have so many regular.s

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have been to Grinders before. They have certain dishes that are better than others. The grinders are plain and boring, but the burgers, pizza and ghouda potato casserole rock the house.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright City, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Awesome Philly Cheesesteak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We traveled here because I am a huge fan of Diners, Driveins and Dives and love to stop at the restaurants featured on this show. The food was delicious. The atmosphere is very interesting and keeps you checking it out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Dive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place does not look like much from the outside. There are 2 seperate parts of the restaurant. A side that is more "family friendly" and then a "bar" side. We had the Crabby Rangoon. They were delicious. I had Pizza and my wife had a Philly Cheesteak. We were both very happy with our meals.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grinders also viewed

 

Been to Grinders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grinders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.