We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in downtown KC/MO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Aladdin to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Aladdin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Rochester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay in downtown KC/MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My first trip to Kansas City, Missouri was made even more enjoyable by this extremely comfortable hotel. Of course, the fact that I was able to get a great rate on the Internet was helpful, but I would definitely stay here again. You are right in the heart of their medium-sized downtown (it is fairly easy to walk from end to end), and next to the Power & Light entertainment district. The ammenities were what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, and because this was a downtown hotel, the furnishings and staff were very professional and orderly in appearance. Parking was not a problem; there is an underground garage directly across the street with a reasonable nightly rate. To the guest that complained about not having free parking, I remind readers that this is a DOWNTOWN property in a large city. You can not reasonably expect free parking. If that is a deal breaker, then save yourself the headache and stay out in the suburbs! But if clean, comfortable, accomodations in the central business district are what is important, then look no further than the Holiday Inn Aladdin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience at our beautiful hotel! We hope to have you back, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    127
    82
    27
    25
See reviews for
36
119
39
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very surprising for a Holiday Inn. We booked through Hotwire and because we wouldn't normally choose this chain we were a little apprehensive. The Aladdin proved to be a very pleasant surprise. Completely charming. From the lobby to the rooms very cute. Valet parking very efficient - worth the price. Room clean, bed comfortable. Housekeeping was a little lackluster when they made up the room the second day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. We strive to create a unique experience for each guest. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We called the hotel previously to ask about parking, they told us it was free, however when we arrived parking was not free. I spoke with Jason the front desk manager and he ended up giving it to us for free. But this was after an extremely annoying conversation where he basically told me I was lieing. Bottom line he was very incompetent and should not be at the front desk. The room was dirty with stains on the curtains and in the bathtub. It was a very dated bathroom and it looked like the bed was already slept in. Besides all of this the hallways were so loud and we were woken up at 1am for two hours while people partied in the hallway. This was after we called security twice and nothing happened. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you like dealing with stupid staff members and loud parties. Only redeeming factor was the breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! I apologize you were misinformed about the cost of parking. I would like to speak to you directly about the remaining feedback you have - would you please call me at your convenience.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
816-421-8887
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Love this hotel, great downtown location near all of the action and excellent service. I recommend this hotel to all of my friends and associates. The Martini loft is a great place to relax and have a cocktail. This is definitely not your ordinary Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy you like our hotel as much as we do! We hope to have you back, and with some friends!!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay in downtown Kansas City for a very reasonable price ($99 + $18.44 taxes & fees). The room was small but nicely decorated and comfortable. We ate breakfast and had a drink at the bar and were satisfied. The concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so pleased that you had a great experience at our hotel! Did you know that when the hotel was originally 309 guest rooms, and is now down to 193 guest rooms? There was only one bathroom per floor though! We hope to have you back soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, NY
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice, however I found the bed to be extremely hard. The Valet's were very good with my car. I don't like to let anyone else touch my car, but it was $16 for valet or $12 each time you left the parking garage. Other than those two things I found everything to be great.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We apologize that the bed was not what you were expecting. We hope that you will give us another try, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Aladdin in Kansas City for one night in August 2013 and found it surprisingly good for a Holiday Inn. I would certainly recommend this for someone wanting to stay downtown in KC.

Pros:
• While some have written that they did not like the classic old feel of the hotel, we liked it.
• The location was also great and close to some great BBQ (Fiorella’s Jack Stack BBQ) and the bars/restaurants of the Power & Light District.
• The front desk staff was outstanding when we checked in. The woman behind the desk was knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Plus, the glass of champagne upon check-in was a nice surprise.
• The bellman/valet, Hamid, was also extremely nice and helpful and arranged a refrigerator to be delivered to our room (at no charge), which arrived within 5 minutes, so we could get on with our day in a timely manner. Hamid and the day bellman/valet also were quick bringing our car around on the several occasions we called for it.
• The rooms were well appointed, clean, and had a nice color combination (at least for our tastes). The view from our corner room was also good.
• The king bed was very comfortable and we slept like babies.
• The bathroom was well appointed with the standard shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc. and comfortable robes.
• The food in the restaurant was much better than expected, and while the service was not fantastic, it wasn't as bad as others on Tripadvisor have said it is.

Cons:
• While we liked the old classic feel of the hotel, there was some peeling paint in the room and at some spots in the hallways.
• While the evening front desk woman was outstanding at check-in, when we went to check out, the woman there in the morning was completely disinterested - almost to the point of being rude. It was almost as if she was annoyed that we expected her to help us check out and call our car around.

While I know this isn’t the best hotel in KC, it is a solid mid-range option in terms of cost and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We sincerely appreciate all of your compliments, and your list of "cons." We are working diligently to provide an exceptional, unforgettable experience to all of our guests. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 blocks to the NCAA Tournament at the Sprint Center! Award - Winning, Historic Kansas City Hotel Welcomes You Our hotel, Holiday Inn Kansas City Downtown - Aladdin Hotel on the National Register of Historic Places, is a 2007 winner of the Holiday Inn Renovation of the Year. This historic hotel offers you the most convenient downtown location in Kansas City, Mo.Lodging at our Kansas City hotel means easy access to the convention, business, financial and entertainment districts of Kansas City. Corporate guests find our Kansas City hotel's location, adjacent to the Kansas City Convention Center, is ideal. We're close to H & R Block Headquarters, the Crown Center (home of Hallmark Cards), as well as the Federal Reserve and IRS. Our downtown Kansas City accommodations have a 24-hour Business Center and complementary high-speed Internet access as well.Our beautifully restored Art Deco hotel in downtown Kansas City features a hip design and vintage style as well as upscale amenities. Join us for a meal at the Zebra Room Restaurant and relax with a drink from our Martini Loft Lounge. Our CitiScape Day Spa will erase the stresses of modern living. Why stay in a standard hotel when you can partake of the Aladdin Hotel experience? Discover just how great a downtown Kansas City hotel can be with a stay at the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.