We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Aladdin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Newton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for one night for a concert at the sprint center. The location is great and the staff was very friendly. We did have a problem at check in. They were short handed and rooms were not ready so we had to wait about 45 minutes in line. The staff did keep everyone informed and worked as fast as they could.

Rooms were very nice and clean. We will be staying again on are next trip to Kansas City

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I sincerly apologize that the rooms were not ready when you arrived to check in. We hope to see you back, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    114
    71
    25
    24
See reviews for
34
104
35
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to be close to the sprint center for a concert. Smaller rooms but that's what you get in an older hotel. We enjoyed the champagne and the valet. Also used the fitness center. Walkable to power and light and great convienent location!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We hope to have you back again real soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I think of "chain" with any hotel which has "Holiday Inn" in the title, but the Aladdin is a wonderful exception. This renovated hotel has small rooms, but a great location and fabulous art deco touches. And the restaurant is a good spot for breakfast, decently priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at our beautiful hotel! We hope to have you back again, and soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brinkley, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly because of the price, location and the room description. Very misleading room description, which told of a king corner room, and conveniently left out the fact that there was no tub. We specifically requested a view so we were not happy when we got there and our room on the 11th floor had a tiny window facing a brick wall! There was also a window unit air conditioner in the room which was loud and kicked off and on all night long. However, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very small and did not have a bathtub, only a shower. The front desk staff was very friendly and considerate and we were greeted with a glass of champagne. We ate breakfast at the hotel and though the food was mostly good and served in a reasonable amount of time, they evidently have some issues with the staff. When we arrived around 8:30, there were only 2 other people in the restaurant. After waiting several minutes, and not seeing any employees in the restaurant, the front desk called and got the employees out of the back to seat us and take our order. The valet was very friendly and always eager to help with any issue. Also, even though they advertise having a great spa, it is closed on Sunday and Monday. The hotel is conveniently located about a block from the Power & Light district. If you are here on a business trip and all you need is a room with a bed and shower at a reasonable price, this is the place to be. If you're on a pleasure trip and enjoy seeing the views at night and waking to a view of the city, pay a little more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so sorry that the room wasn't what you were expecting. We take great pride in offering a superior product and service for all of our guests. I sincerely hope you will give us another shot!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

They made a mistake on our reservation and when we addressed it, they refused to correct it. The guy I spoke with said he would have to check into it and call me back, he never did. I had to make several calls before I was finally directed to some back office person and he was beyond rude. I reached out via email and received the same poor responsiveness with no resolve.
This is a historic landmark in KC and I was involved in the revamp of this property. We stayed here a few years ago and it was a wonderful experience. Due to their horrid customer service and business practices, we will never stay at this property on special occasions nor recommend it to others at business or personal levels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! We have a variety of different rate plans depending on your needs. The rate you booked was our Pre Paid, Non-Refundable rate. It is not our policy to change or adjust this because the rate you receive is a deeply discounted rate, similar to what all other hotels and airlines offer. I sincerely apologize if you thought anyone was rude or discourteous to you.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Traveled with a group for three night weekend, and shared a room with a friend. This is more of a boutique girls weekend spa type of hotel. It tries to turn an old building into a modern trendy hotel, but does not quite get there. At same time, I've read quite a number of poor reviews and complaints about this hotel, and some very strong statements. Frankly, we did not experience anything that bad or terrible.

Check in and out was fast, and people at the desk and front doors were always helpful and friendly. The elevators are very small, and at times, we had to wait because elevators were full. The rooms are small. We had a room with central HVAC, which worked well despite a very hot weekend, although a bit loud. Some people in our party had rooms with window air conditioning units - - I would not like that. The beds were firm and comfortable for me. The desk is small, and so is the bathroom. They tried to turn an old tub and shower into something trendy by putting in two shower heads, but it was not any better than one good shower head, and nothing fancy.

We got a reasonably good group rate, since we booked 13 rooms, so no complaint there. Taxis were generally available when needed. We used them to visit locations such as Boulevard Brewing and World War I Museum, Gates (BBQ), and Kaufman Stadium for a Royals game.

I did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel. We did visit the bar on the 2nd floor. The bar is very small, but the bartender was great. I used the fitness center, which is not much bigger than my home gym in a spare bedroom - - way too small for a hotel with 11 floors.

All in all, it was OK. I did not pick the hotel, and probably would have preferred the modern Marriott just next door, but that's just my taste. I am not into old buildings or trendy hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am sorry that the hotel was not the experience you had envisioned for your trip to Kansas City. Our hotel was originally opened in 1926, and was 309 guest rooms - can you believe that! We are down to 193 total guest rooms, and each guest room on each floor is laid out differently and offers a very unique experience for each guest.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Holiday Inn in July of 2013. The staff was very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised by the tasty glass of champagne we were given when we checked in. We enjoy staying in vintage hotels and were pleased the decor and our room. The only negative note was the hotel restaurant. We decided we would just eat breakfast at hotel as it was right there and they offered a Breakfat Buffet. However, the buffet was over priced, the food was cold and most of the containers were empty. I chose to order off the menu and got the stuffed French toast. It was a poor choice and we wished we had just passed on
eating there. Thumbs up on the hotel but a very big thumbs down on the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you liked the hotel as much as we do! I apologize you did not receive the product you were expecting for breakfast. I hope you will give us another try!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 blocks to the NCAA Tournament at the Sprint Center! Award - Winning, Historic Kansas City Hotel Welcomes You Our hotel, Holiday Inn Kansas City Downtown - Aladdin Hotel on the National Register of Historic Places, is a 2007 winner of the Holiday Inn Renovation of the Year. This historic hotel offers you the most convenient downtown location in Kansas City, Mo.Lodging at our Kansas City hotel means easy access to the convention, business, financial and entertainment districts of Kansas City. Corporate guests find our Kansas City hotel's location, adjacent to the Kansas City Convention Center, is ideal. We're close to H & R Block Headquarters, the Crown Center (home of Hallmark Cards), as well as the Federal Reserve and IRS. Our downtown Kansas City accommodations have a 24-hour Business Center and complementary high-speed Internet access as well.Our beautifully restored Art Deco hotel in downtown Kansas City features a hip design and vintage style as well as upscale amenities. Join us for a meal at the Zebra Room Restaurant and relax with a drink from our Martini Loft Lounge. Our CitiScape Day Spa will erase the stresses of modern living. Why stay in a standard hotel when you can partake of the Aladdin Hotel experience? Discover just how great a downtown Kansas City hotel can be with a stay at the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.