We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little secret in Downtown Kansas City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Aladdin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #52 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Blue Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little secret in Downtown Kansas City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great little place right in the heart of downtown across from Barney Allis Plaza and the Music hall and within walking distance to alot of restaurants, entertianment at the Power and Light District and many many business and companies. Older hotel that they have completely remodeled and updated in a "boutique modern" style from the front entrance to the rooms to the restaurant and bar area. Zebra Room for dinner was excellent and the service was to notch! Prices were VERY affordable. The Martini Loft was great to meet colleagues and again the drinks were great and the service perfect. The rooms were a little small but thats because its an older property but the it never felt cramped and was decorated beautifully. I believe the hotel is on the National Register of Historic Buildings and its really cool that they have redone it instead of just tearing it down and starting over. Best of all the over night rates were ALOT less expensive then the other hotels in the same area for a midweek overnight visit!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Barbey Allis Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! Our hotel is on the National Register of Historic Places and definitely offers a unique experience in the heart of Downtown, Kansas City. We hope to have you back very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    121
    75
    27
    24
See reviews for
36
106
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
clinton, mo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this hotel for my sister's bachelorette party and were able to reserve the entire spa area for mani/pedis. The spa staff were great and allowed us free reign of their area. This made the event very special for the bachelorette! The hotel is located within walking distance of Power and Light District, which has many restaurants, bars, and clubs. The hotel front desk had several free coupons and passes for P&L. We had a blast at Howl at the Moon piano bar and got free entrance thanks to our hotel. The room was clean and updated, but was a little bit small. The bathroom was clean and well equipped with plenty of fluffy towels. The only thing that I would change is the breakfast buffet is too expensive ($15) and poor quality. And the servers at breakfast were inattentive, plus my coffee cup had a lipstick stain. There is a parking garage directly across the street that is $12/day, but we should've used valet because it wasn't that much more expensive and the walk from the garage with our bags was cumbersome, because the garage was full on a weekend. All in all, our stay was good and it was nice to have a break from the chain hotel feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that everyone had a good time for your sister's bachelorette party! We do offer a great Spa in the hotel and a great location for weekend activities. I apologize that the breakfast did not meet your expectations, and lipstick on a cup is never acceptable. Thank you for letting us know, and we hope you will have your next event at our charming hotel.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle - Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Holiday Inn Aladdin is really a fantastic place to relax with friends. It is an elegant hotel well equipped with necessary amenities. Décor of the building is very pretty and attractive. Rooms are big, clean and tastefully decorated. Food and services of the staff both were nice. Overall our stay was very refreshing and I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We take great pride in providing excellent service and all the little amenities one might need; including champagne at check in!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The building is historic, and small. Not your average hotel in the convetion area like the Marriott, but it has great charm, and the people there are very nice. The location is great, close to everything downtown, and only a short cab or good walking distance to Hallmark or the WW I museum. Overall, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: High room, away from the street ane elevators is always your best bet. Water pressure was fine even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We strive to provide a very unique experience for our guests. We hope to have you back, and soon!

All the best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a recent visit and enjoyed it very much. The staff was friendly and went our of their way to be very helpful. The hotel is a short walk form the Power & Light District. I would recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We do offer a great location for anyone that is attending a downtown event at the convention center, or Sprint center. Our hotel was built in 1925 and is on the National Register of Historic Places, and definitely offers a unique experience. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope you will be back very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I made reservations at this hotel in April, online (2 king size rooms). When my guest and I arrived while checking in, we were notified that, due to the high volume of guest there was only a king and queen size room left for us and the only difference between the rooms were the beds. They offered us free champagne while checking in, also a free bottle since our reservations weren't honored. Long story short, the queen room is way smaller than the king room, in the queen room u have a view of a brick wall, n neither one of the rooms had a microwave or fridge. We were very disappointed plus a 7 dollar bottle of champagne can not make up for a room.
While checking out we discussed our concerns, n they informed us that reserving a room only guaranteed the rooms, not the room type. I would not recommend anyone stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize that the hotel room type you were given at check in did not meet your expectations. When a guest books through a 3rd party web site we are unable to guarantee room type until check in, and then, at that time we are able to provide a specific room type. We hope that you will give us another try when you are back in Kansas City.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had the misfortune of having a VERY noisy bachelor party down the hall. Had to have our room moved, into a very small room and configured differently than our reservation

We understand that this can happen, but the hotel allows coolers and stereo systems to be brought into rooms. Hmmm...why are they surprised about noisy rooms.

A full-service Holiday Inn should be looking out for its guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize about the noise level you experienced from other guests in the hotel. We do not allow stereo equipment in our rooms, and have a strict policy on "parties" in our rooms - we simply do not allow them. I appreciate you letting us know about the issue so we can address it with our staff and ensure it is a learning experience for everyone. We hope you will give us another try!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 blocks to the NCAA Tournament at the Sprint Center! Award - Winning, Historic Kansas City Hotel Welcomes You Our hotel, Holiday Inn Kansas City Downtown - Aladdin Hotel on the National Register of Historic Places, is a 2007 winner of the Holiday Inn Renovation of the Year. This historic hotel offers you the most convenient downtown location in Kansas City, Mo.Lodging at our Kansas City hotel means easy access to the convention, business, financial and entertainment districts of Kansas City. Corporate guests find our Kansas City hotel's location, adjacent to the Kansas City Convention Center, is ideal. We're close to H & R Block Headquarters, the Crown Center (home of Hallmark Cards), as well as the Federal Reserve and IRS. Our downtown Kansas City accommodations have a 24-hour Business Center and complementary high-speed Internet access as well.Our beautifully restored Art Deco hotel in downtown Kansas City features a hip design and vintage style as well as upscale amenities. Join us for a meal at the Zebra Room Restaurant and relax with a drink from our Martini Loft Lounge. Our CitiScape Day Spa will erase the stresses of modern living. Why stay in a standard hotel when you can partake of the Aladdin Hotel experience? Discover just how great a downtown Kansas City hotel can be with a stay at the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.