We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Aladdin, Kansas City” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Aladdin

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Aladdin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aladdin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #53 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Cranston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Aladdin, Kansas City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Aladdin is an Interesting Art Deco building; it is obviously an older hotel and needs some refurbishing although Holiday Inn is to be commended for keeping the original design and ambiance. Location is great, in the heart of downtown Kansas City. Rooms are adequate, nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very proud of our beautiful hotel! You are correct in stating we are in an excellent location! We hope to see you again soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    115
    71
    25
    24
See reviews for
34
105
35
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had prepaid for this room so there was really nothing but eating our money that we could have done to make up for this horrible room that we stayed in for two nights.

Check in was smooth and great. Jai was very nice and helpful. I had an issue with my room card not working and he was quick to fix that.

First off, I'm not one to complain about hotels. I know that there are things that can be overlooked and I'm not picky about my surroundings until they start adding up. I realize that this is a small, older hotel and renovations are limited because of this. But this is supposed to be a boutique. It's FAR from it. To me boutique is updated and nice furnishings, clean, unique.

When we arrived in our room, we noticed that the bed was tiny, the room itself was tiny, and the furnishing were worn. There was a stain on the sitting chair, HAIRS (not just 1) all around the edge of the tub, hairs and dirt on the floor in the bathroom, and stains on the wallpaper in the bathroom. Okay I'll let one hair slide, but come on. HOUSEKEEPING needs to be fired. It's simply turning on the shower and rinsing those down the drain. Come on people. Manage your housekeeping a little better. Replace nasty furniture or at least get it cleaned.

The men working Valet were very nice and overworked to say the least. This hotel is limited on front parking and doesn't have a pull through drive like the bigger hotels so it's hard for the valet to keep up. But...it shouldn't take 45 minutes to get my car. Especially since they're only going across the street. Very disappointed in that since we paid $16 a night for that.

We have stayed at another boutique in the area and actually went there to utilize their bar because this hotels bar was TINY.

We will NEVER stay at this establishment again and can't believe that it's rated 3 1/2 stars. Extremely disappointed in the housekeeping and management on top of that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We take all our guest comments very seriously and use them as a training tool for our staff. We apologize that our hotel fell below your expectations. We take great pride in offering our guests an amazing and unique experience. Unfortunately on this occasion that did not happen. Our hotel and standards far exceed the level of service that you describe. We do hope that on your next visit to Kansas City, you will give us another chance.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The valet was rude to drivers pulling up to check in. The lobby was a poorly upgraded old, old building. I got an itchy creepy feeling the minute I walked through the door.

We prepaid for the room and asked to speak to the manager who refused to do anything about our satisfaction.

the hotels holds itself out as a high star rate hotel but it has no pool nor Jacuzzi. It seemed run down. It was so bad that even through we could not get a refund we refused the room.

Room Tip: Don't even consider it. Way over rated. Bad customer service from valet through the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that our historic hotel did not meet your expectations. I did have the opportunity to research your reservation and did find that payment for your incidentals could not be established by your party, so you chose to cancel a non-refundable reservation. The manager on duty was following our procedure and policy. If you would like to further discuss this, please contact me directly at 816-421-8887.

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently stayed while attending TSO Concert at the Sprint Center. At checkin you are handed a glass of champagne! The staff was great! Clean rooms. Being an owner of a lodging business myself I pay attention to detail. Parking garage conveniently located across the street. Walking distance to Sprint Center and very easy walk to restaurants & bars in the Power & Light District. Enjoyed the buffett breakfast. Compared to the other hotels nearby they had the BEST price with AAA discount! I would definitely stay there again.
The TSO Concert was awesome as always too!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I will pass along all of your great compliments! Our hotel was closed down for a few years to completely renovate everything back to it's original 1920's charm. We take great pride in providing a memorable stay. We hope to see you again soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at the Aladdin for one night to attend a family function. Arrived around 3 p.m. (check in time) on Friday. No wait for check-in. I'd originally booked a single bed but preferred to upgrade to a double once I arrived, which was easily handled. The room was clean and a bit quirky (I like quirk) in color scheme and layout -- it was small, and understanding this is a fairly old hotel, I was fine with that for a short stay. The room included a chaise lounge chair and the beds were good sized and comfortable. We opted for the $16/day valet parking vs. paying $13/park at the parking garage across the street as we were going to be leaving the hotel a few times that day. Valet was fairly quick, especially for a Friday night. We walked just a few blocks to grab lunch at the Flying Saucer Draught Emporium, and while I've not been to the Power and Light area before, it was clear there was a lot to do there, and convenient to our hotel. There also was a bus stop right at the end of the block from the hotel, although we didn't use it, it appeared to have a lot of traffic. All in all, the benefits of the location, price, and staff outweigh the minor issues that may come with an older hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Out hotel is quirky, and has a LOT of personality! We appreciate your business and hope to have you back again very soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night while attending an event at the Sprint Center. It is only about a 3 block walk from the KC Power & Light District which is very convenient and was a good $40 cheaper than the other area hotels. Self parking is very easy right across the street in an underground, private garage that happens to be connected to the Aladdin, which is nice if it is raining or snowing.
The rooms were fairly typical and nice. Not huge, but typical of an older building. I liked the decor as it is bright and clean. We also had breakfast in their restaurant, which was very good. We had the buffet and tried almost everything; I left very full and happy!!
We typically stay downtown about once a year when attending events at the Sprint Center or the Kauffman Center and would definitely stay here again. No complaints at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Our hotel offers an extremely convenient location for all of the Sprint Center events, as well as Power & Light, and the new Kauffman Center! Our hotel was opened in 1926 as the Aladdin Hotel and is on the National Register of Historic places. Each room on each floor is configured differently to provide a unique experience for all our guests. We hope to have you back again soon!

All the Best,
Sarha DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while attending a wedding nearby. We thought the room was lovely, maybe a little on the small side, but we were hardly there. We did get a glass of champagne at check in, which was nice. Downtown Kansas City didn't seem very attractive, but we are used to Chicago where there are tons of things to do in the downtown area. If I had to be in Kansas City I would definitely consider the Aladdin again.

Room Tip: The room with only one bed is very small - I would go for the one with two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Aladdin, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! I agree 100% that our hotel is very lovely! I am glad you had a good time in Kansas City! We hope to have you back again ver soon!

All the Best,
Sarah DeVault
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aladdin

Address: 1215 Wyandotte Street, Kansas City, MO 64105 (Formerly Citi Centre Plaza Hotel & Aladdin)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Aladdin 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 3 blocks to the NCAA Tournament at the Sprint Center! Award - Winning, Historic Kansas City Hotel Welcomes You Our hotel, Holiday Inn Kansas City Downtown - Aladdin Hotel on the National Register of Historic Places, is a 2007 winner of the Holiday Inn Renovation of the Year. This historic hotel offers you the most convenient downtown location in Kansas City, Mo.Lodging at our Kansas City hotel means easy access to the convention, business, financial and entertainment districts of Kansas City. Corporate guests find our Kansas City hotel's location, adjacent to the Kansas City Convention Center, is ideal. We're close to H & R Block Headquarters, the Crown Center (home of Hallmark Cards), as well as the Federal Reserve and IRS. Our downtown Kansas City accommodations have a 24-hour Business Center and complementary high-speed Internet access as well.Our beautifully restored Art Deco hotel in downtown Kansas City features a hip design and vintage style as well as upscale amenities. Join us for a meal at the Zebra Room Restaurant and relax with a drink from our Martini Loft Lounge. Our CitiScape Day Spa will erase the stresses of modern living. Why stay in a standard hotel when you can partake of the Aladdin Hotel experience? Discover just how great a downtown Kansas City hotel can be with a stay at the Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aladdin Hotel Kansas City
Aladdin Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kansas City
Kansas City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Aladdin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.