We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Value and charming rooms for a Courtyard.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #16 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A great Value and charming rooms for a Courtyard.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

I go to KC and Country Club Plaza a few times a year, have stayed at the Ritz/Intercontinental which is over priced these days even with my Corp rate at $225, and the Rapheal a few times, I hear they remodeled it, but it was huge rooms and old world charm, great locale, but not much else.

This Courtyard is in a Historic building, and a great location a few steps from the main cafes and shopping, it has a neat personality, and the rooms are all different everytime I go, Its a nice value and can be beat, free parking too.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    130
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
76
111
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

This is our favorite downtown / plaza hotel. It is a "boutique" hotel that is tasteful, comfortable, safe and quiet. Parking is convenient. There is a great breakfast and bar. You are right on the Plaza and can easily walk to any of the Plaza restaurants and stores. You are literally a block from Cheesecake Factory and PF Changs (close enough to walk to at midnight for drinks). Driving in KC is easy - but you are also just a $10 cab ride from the Power and Light district. It's trendy enough to please the girls, but tasteful enough to appeal to the guys. We paid $150 for a Friday night (during the Broadway tour of Wicked!) 2 Queen room, parking and breakfast buffet included.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This hotel is on the national register of historic places and it is a very tastefully presented property. Conveniently located with ample off street free parking. Room was in excellent condition and well laid out. HVAC ran constantly but it was low frequency and didn't bother me while sleeping but it was noticeable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Not that I find anything wrong with the typical Courtyard as I have come to rely on knowing what I will get being a business traveler who spends upwards of 30 nights a year at hotels. But every once in a while it is nice to find a chain hotel with a little character, and this Marriott has character. It appears as though it was restored from being an old-fashioned apartment building (with milk doors preserved in the hallways) to a modern and comfortable hotel.
In addition to the normal Courtyard amenities, it has a full service-bar that is open every evening and is located just one block off of the shops and restaurants of Country Club Plaza.
The staff provided excellent service, especially Andrew behind the front desk. From directions to get to a Royals game to coupons for a free appetizer at one of the restaurants on the Plaza, he was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed here in mid-August to visit friends and family. Having stayed at many of the hotels at the plaza prior to this, I was pleasantly surprised that this one was, in fact, on the plaza. You simply walk out the back door and are within steps of all of the wonderful shops and restaurants the plaza has to offer.
Being a frequent Marriotter, I used points to stay here, therefore I cannot comment on the value. However, I've stayed at the regular Marriott Country Club Plaza several times previously and can certainly say that the Courtyard is the better choice. The potential for a nicer plaza view at the regular Marriott would be the only advantage of it. The lack of a restaurant at the Courtyard should mean nothing to you, as dozens of restaurants are within a couple of blocks from the hotel. We had a nice 6th story view over the park across JC Nichols Parkway.
Our room was very clean, and my only complaint, be it very minimal, would be that we had only one small hand soap and no bath soap upon check-in. I left a note for the chamber maid and was rewarded with a selection of 6 soaps the following day. The room wasn't small nor large, and certainly served its purpose. You won't have much desire to be in the room, as there is so much to do and see in the area that you won't have time to kill.
The hotel itself is an old, historical building. It is on the KC Historical Registry and offers some interesting features only seen in a historic apartment building, such as "Milk Closets" in the hallway.
There is an outstanding location to jog in the park across the street, as well as unlimited sidewalks to stroll down through the plaza and along Brush Creek. I did not visit the gym.
As for the CC Plaza itself, I highly recommend Jack Stack BBQ for lunch/dinner, Classic Cup for weekend breakfast, Tomfooleries for Sunday Brunch, and Baja 600 for al fresco Mexican. Nearby is Union Station, a beautiful building that contains Peirpont's, a wonderful Steak restaurant owned by the same proprietor as The Hereford House, another outstanding KC steak establishment. South of the Plaza in the Brookside Neighborhood, try Carmen's Cafe, which serves wonderful Italian food. La Bodega on Southwest Blvd is a great Tapas place, and Garozzo's is another great Italian place downtown (Get good directions, it's ridiculously hard to find, but the Chicken Spedini is incredible).
If you haven't ever been, it's a must to hit the KC River Market on a Saturday morning. It isn't too terribly hard to find, and can be a truly incredible sight. Make sure to visit the fresh seafood section of the Asian Market that is found just outside the River Market through the back doors to the North. Be careful taking pics in there, though. We were apparently thought to be the health department and were made aware of the employees dislike of photography in the seafood section.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We checked in to this hotel with my teenage daughter. We booked on a travel webpage and thought we had a king suite, which was a king room with a pull out bed in a different area. Teenagers being nocturnal this was important to my husband and I to have a seperate area for her so we would not disturb each other. When we arrived the room was so tiny that if you opened the sofa bed you could not get out of the king bed without crawling over the sofa bed. In addition, the sheets on the king bed were rumpled and looked slept in. When my husband requested that we be movee, he was told in a very rude manner by the desk clerk that it was against hotel policy to make changes to any reservations made on a travel site and to take it up with them. What should have been a ten minute fix took and hour and a half!! In the end we were moved to a double room at a higher price. The next morning when my husband spoke with the manager, she was very dimissive and condescending as well. The arguing aside, the rooms are very dated with royal blue and gold color scheme with some red and orange thrown in as accent. The original building is beautiful but most of the charm has been removed in favor of marriott cookie cutter decor. The beds are worn out and the pillows are hard foam and the sheets are cheap and scratchy. The walls are so thin I could hear the person in the next room clear their throat. I think this is an 89 dollar room at best. We paid over 160 with hotel taxes and fees(which was the same as their published rate). Spend your money at a hotel with better beds and more helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.