We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in a good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Penfield, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good stay in a good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved that this hotel was converted into a hotel from a historic apartment building. Room had plenty of space and the hotel was very convenient to the Courtyard Plaza and the Art Museum. Plenty of restaurants in the Plaza that were close enough to walk to, and other amenities were a quick drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    139
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
82
116
30
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When we planned our trip to Kansas City we really did not know where to stay. We saw that the Courtyard by Marriott at the Country Club Plaza was rated very high and decided to take a chance on it. We were so glad we did. The location could not have been more perfect. We were able to walk to the plaza shops and restaurants easily. We stayed for five nights and ate at a different restaurant every night. They were all excellent. The Courtyard hotel itself however was the best part. The hotel has been completely remodeled recently. It shows. The decoration of the hotel was perfect -- elegant and subdued. The beds were the best. The rooms were very quiet, large and very clean. We ate three breakfasts in the hotel which were just fine -- not great but fine. The parking is free. Frankly there was nothing that we can think of that this hotel did not provide and provide well. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our family of four stayed here on a Friday night. The location is terrific -- on J.C. Nichols Parkway just around the corner from the Plaza shopping/entertainment area. The building is not your typical Courtyard; rather, it is a historic apartment building that has been converted into a hotel. We were very pleased with our room -- 215 -- it looked out onto a park across from the hotel. Although the hotel was sold out the night we were there, the room was very quiet.

The hotel also has a free parking garage. The only issue is that there were very few spots left when we returned late from a concert.

Would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nicely renovated classic old apt. building on the edge of the Plaza, facing a nice park with a great "blue" fountain. Clean, nicely appointed lobby and rooms. Nice large bathroom with an spacious shower/tub and a surprisingly efficient flow-restricted shower head. Only complaint was that the bath towels could have been thicker/fluffier (they weren't super thin, but not thick enough for my liking). Beds were soft, but I prefer a firmer mattress. Was a bit perturbed that we were charged $3.86 after we left for drinking the liter water bottle in the room (don't recall any notice that there would be a charge for drinking the water bottle). Didn't have a cooked breakfast in the restaurant, but the pastries, fruit cups and Starbucks coffee in the lobby area were fine (although the young guy manning the area was a bit "green", to say the least). Parking is convenient, free, and easy to access. The Plaza is right out the back entrance of the property, and one can easily walk to the Westport area as well 7-8 blocks away. The property seemed to be fairly well run, and was a nice quiet break from some of the other high rise hotels in the vicinity. And the location is hard to beat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Kansas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

As is the case with most Marriott properties this one is clean and nice. Stayed here several time on trips to Kansas City. Love the fact that it's an old building on the outside but feels clean and modern in the rooms. Parking is easy and it's close to the Plaza. Overall an nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a very nice room (507) on the corner with a view of the fountain. We normally stay downtown when we visit a city but KC is not really a walking city. So we rented a car at the airport. We did not visit any of the establishments within the plaza but it was very central to the BBQ places that we wanted to visit. It was also a short drive to downtown and Union Square establishments. Besides having a nice room, the free parking, microwave and fridge were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Friday night for the first time. Located close to the Plaza in an historic building that has been nicely renovated. We will return soon. Limited bar but close to everything at the Plaza

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#16 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.