We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsford, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Quick first-time trip to Kansas City. Had less than 24 hours to sightsee, but loved the location of this charming Marriott. So easy to park (free) at the hotel and walk around the area. Great shops and restaurants nearby. A little far from the airport, but worth the travel time. Stopped at the Public Library and WWI museum on our way to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    149
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
92
120
31
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Important: the photos are not updated on Tripadvisor!! These are NOT the standard issue primary color Courtyard dated rooms!! This was an AMAZING Courtyard, with a recent stunning renovation....I am calling it "Spanish Deco", the entire Plaza area is based on Spain, so that's the Spanish part, and the Deco comes from the fact that this hotel is in a former luxury apartment building from the 20's (I think). There are many historical details throughout...the trim, the grand lobby windows, even the historic milk lockers in the hallways! (If you have ever stayed at the Boston Courtyard that is in the former theater, this has a similar historical vibe)

PROS:
Great location, pre war thick walls, spacious room (517), easy parking in back,

CONS:
The sheets came off corner of bed...a very comfy mattresses, but need deeper pockets on the fitted sheets. Also, the stairs in the front entry area can be a challenge, but there is an accessible ramp in the back. The is a very cheery outdoor patio in front overlooking the park. And others have mentioned the
fun Frank Sinatra and Ella Fitzgerald music in lobby!

Notes:
Someone mentioned there was no covered access in case of rain, but the front drop off area (while small) does have an adequate awning.

Nikki and Trey very helpful in lobby and Starbucks. Others not so responsive, however, it may be that they can't hear when someone is at the desk, since there is an office behind. They really need an old fashioned bell to ring at the front desk!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO CITY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff is so friendly at first you suspect their friendliness and helpfulness but they are really nice! The lobby is awful and so are the bathrooms they need urgent remodeling. The tv is great and in general the rooms are sad and tired Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is not a standard Courtyard by Marriott. It has only been a hotel for seven years and the building is on the National Register of Historic Places. Our welcome was superb and the receptionist kindly delivered a cart to the car park door to make it easier to unload the car.

The hotel was previously an appartment block and its renovators have done a pretty good job turning it into a modern hotel whilst retaining original features such as milk closets in the corridors. We had a suite which was ok, althought the furnishings were dark and purple and not to my taste. .The bed was comfortable although the pillows were hard, synthetic and springy

An unexpected extra is the free laundromat - including detergent and softener. The machines are good quality but (and it does seem churlish to complain about something free) the dryer is not very effective and takes an hour (on medium) to dry a cotton polo shirt.


Location is superb, adjacent to upscale Country Club Plaza with lots of restaurants and shops

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay right on the Plaza in KC. We enjoyed staying in an historic hotel with great views. The access to the plaza and all the shopping and dining options was great. The only thing that could have made this trip better would be a courteous and knowledgeable staff. The workers at the front desk knew very little about the area and gave poor and incorrect advice, including telling us that all the restaurants were 'closed' when we checked in just after 10 p.m. We decided to wander out anyway, and were glad we did, as we found many restaurants, just steps away, to be open and serving food until 1 a.m.

Room Tip: I have stayed here multiple times and am yet to be placed in a room I did not like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a great, historic hotel in an excellent neighborhood. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the room was large. The WiFi internet service was terrible - probably the only real negative. I would definitely stay here again if in KC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I reserved the courtyard for my husband's birthday... the "wine and dine" package. The hotel made all the reservations for me at the Capital Grille. They were gracious and polite. They asked me several times during the reservation process if there was anything else I needed. I mentioned I would like the "rose-petal" turn down service prior to my check in. No problem.

Upon driving toward the hotel, I could see the beauty of the building and grand design. Parking was easy off of Wyandotte. I was greeted nicely at the front desk and checked in quickly. I mentioned I would need a taxi for later in the evening and the young lady immediately said they would have one waiting. She also called the restaurant and moved my reservation time up for me. All with a pleasant smile.

Opening the door (room 616) I saw rose petals leading me into the room. It was a two room suite with separate bedroom. The windows scaled to the ceiling and the light flooded the room. It was clean and decorated with simple sophistication. I could see the park across the street from the window.

I followed the rose petal trail and entered the bedroom. There I found a heart-shaped rose petal display on the bed. Perfect! I was planning a birthday surprise. The bed turned out to be one of the more comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on. This room had two large windows with plenty of light, but also plenty of curtain to close. Again, very clean and crisp. This was true about the bathroom as well.

Later, while waiting for my husband to arrive, I enjoyed a glass of wine in the comfortable lobby. Our dinner at the Capital Grille was excellent. The next morning we had vouchers for breakfast. Not anything particularly unique or excellent about breakfast. The staff were pleasant, but seemed distracted. The food was okay... we had a breakfast sandwich and a yogurt parfait. I wouldn't say this was the best part of the stay.

Overall, I'd have to say this was an excellent experience and a great value. (especially compared to other downtown hotels) The evening staff went well above and beyond. The room was clean and well done. The price for the "wine and dine" was a good value considering dinner was a full wine dinner at the Capital Grille. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
0.3 mi away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
0.2 mi away
Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#19 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.