We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Marriott in town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Marriott in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great brownstone with lots of character.. Staff was great, and always were helpful with anything I needed. The location is right in the Plaza, so there is tons to do and see. Breakfast was awesome.. Free parking and internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    137
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
116
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Pulled up to the hotel with no idea of where the parking lot was. No sign or anything. Drove around n found a lot called plaza parking next to the hotel. Climbed the stairs up to the lobby, had to wait a minute while Candi laughed it up on the phone for several minutes n the other guy was on the phone w a customer. Candi finally got to me, she then informed me that I parked in the wrong parking lot n i may oy may not get towed, it was 10pm I was tired nwas not in the mood to climb back down. Finding the breakfast room was just s convenient. The hotel was actually nice, decent internet, HBO, big towels, good breakfast, worth the 10$.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Such a wonderful hotel right on the Plaza! My kids and I enjoyed our stay here very much! The hotel is an old historic apartment building with tons of charm and the Plaza is easy to access. The only downfall would be the parking situation. The parking spots are small and there is no real easy access from the parking garage to the hotel With a luggage cart.
Overall, this is a fantastic hotel with wonderful historic charm that is easy to get to and in a great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This historic looking building that the Courtyard is great. The service was excellent and the room big, clean and updated to the standards of the other Courtyards. The breakfast was also good in the morning and the server was very attentive to your needs. The lobby area is a great place to meet with business associates and clients. Very close to all the restaurants on the Plaza all in walking distance. Would stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is an old apartment building that has been restored and renovated to a very cute and cozy hotel. I was there on a girls weekend. We reserved a corner room that had a sitting area and was larger than the standard room. Beds were comfortable and lots of pillows available. Paul Mitchell toiletries. Starbucks coffee in the rooms and in the lobby. We went down to the small bar one night and had a drink in front of the fire...very nice. We shopped in the Plaza which is just a few short steps from the back door. We went to the concert and the front desk had a cab ready for us immediately. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. If I had to find something that could improve, its the thin, small and hard towels.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger than the regular rooms and well worth the extra $20. Great views too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just got back from two nights at the Marriott Courtyard at the Plaza in KC and couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect, right at the edge of the Plaza, and the hotel itself is a charming, spotless building that has been painstakingly renovated. Best of all was the staff. Funny story:
When it was discovered that we couldn't get Downton Abbey on our room television, Daniel set up the station for us in the bar area of the lobby and turned down the overhead music so that we could hear the program. Then, just as (Lady) Sybil was taking her last breath, I said to my husband, "I can't watch anymore," backed away from the bar, and passed out. Turns out that I was hit VERY suddenly with the flu. The last thing I heard was my husband say, "if you get that involved in a tv show, you shouldn't be watching it!" Meanwhile, he was so absorbed in the show himself that it took a minute before he realized I was on the floor. Throughout the remainder of the evening, the night staff (Daniel and Candi) were most caring and helpful.

Thank you again to all. We will be back, and would have been even without our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent staff and good location for walking to the Country Club Plaza but I didn't love this hotel. It was just okay. The price was a bit high for the quality level. For a few extra bucks per night could have gotten a 4 star hotel. In the past we used priceline and paid less for a much better hotel. The bedding was clean but not nice - functional. Same with the room. Just not as nice as I was expecting or the price would have indicated. It was generally an average hotel but for that area of town (country club plaza), I thought it was below average. I wouldn't stay there again. But again, it was clean and perfectly fine. If you get a good deal on the price, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park out front. I don't think they have any rooms with views of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.