We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at the Courtyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #14 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
chicago, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at the Courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We just got back from two nights at the Marriott Courtyard at the Plaza in KC and couldn't have been happier. The location is perfect, right at the edge of the Plaza, and the hotel itself is a charming, spotless building that has been painstakingly renovated. Best of all was the staff. Funny story:
When it was discovered that we couldn't get Downton Abbey on our room television, Daniel set up the station for us in the bar area of the lobby and turned down the overhead music so that we could hear the program. Then, just as (Lady) Sybil was taking her last breath, I said to my husband, "I can't watch anymore," backed away from the bar, and passed out. Turns out that I was hit VERY suddenly with the flu. The last thing I heard was my husband say, "if you get that involved in a tv show, you shouldn't be watching it!" Meanwhile, he was so absorbed in the show himself that it took a minute before he realized I was on the floor. Throughout the remainder of the evening, the night staff (Daniel and Candi) were most caring and helpful.

Thank you again to all. We will be back, and would have been even without our experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    109
    21
    11
    4
See reviews for
66
101
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent staff and good location for walking to the Country Club Plaza but I didn't love this hotel. It was just okay. The price was a bit high for the quality level. For a few extra bucks per night could have gotten a 4 star hotel. In the past we used priceline and paid less for a much better hotel. The bedding was clean but not nice - functional. Same with the room. Just not as nice as I was expecting or the price would have indicated. It was generally an average hotel but for that area of town (country club plaza), I thought it was below average. I wouldn't stay there again. But again, it was clean and perfectly fine. If you get a good deal on the price, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park out front. I don't think they have any rooms with views of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed over Christmas at this hotel in the Kansas City Country Club Plaza area. It was a very nice, attractive historical hotel built about 1924. The room was very large, with 2 queens, a work desk, flat screen tv, and seating area, with a fold out sofa. It was clean and nicely decorated. The staff were all very friendly and we had no problems at all. They have a small breakfast dining area downstairs that has a buffett or prepared meals. The waiter, Michael, was very friendly, efficient and thoroughly impressed us each morning. The price for our room was very reasonable through a link on Southwest Airlines. It was conveniently located to many local attractions, not to mention the lovely Country Club Plaza across the street. There are numerous blocks of wonderful restuarants and shops of all types within a short walk. There was no charge for parking in a self parking area just behind the hotel. It was very convenient to the back entrance. We plan to stay here again when visiting family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I arrived at 10 p.m. on Monday night for a one night stay. Check-in was very easy and I was directed to free parking in the back. Free parking in that area is a huge plus although there aren't many covered spots. I walked inside to my room and was surprised how small it was. The fridge in the room was making an awful loud humming noise and I eventually had to turn it off. I looked out the window onto a big concrete wall that was basically the side of the parking garage. It was late at night so it didn't matter, but I don't think anyone likes a view of a big concrete wall. If I had been there for a long stay, it would have bothered me more. The room overall was just okay. Like I said, kind of small and the bathroom was average. The decor was average although not as nice as a Hampton Inn. For $174 a night booked through Marriott's website, I definitely expected more. I can't imagine they were sold out of rooms and couldn't have put me on a higher level floor with a little better view. But that's okay. I got woken up the next morning by the alarm of the person in the room next to me which is kind of annoying. I also used the work out facility and was glad no one else was in there because it was really small. The tv on the treadmill didn't work. Overall, I'd say it was average. I'm sure there are some nice rooms in the hotel, I just didn't get one of them for whatever reason. There are lots of hotels in the area and I'll give something different a try next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard is our favorite place to stay on the Plaza, especially at Christmas. Easy walking distance to everything. We opted for the larger corner room this time and it gave us the extra room we needed without a high price. The room has a small refrigerator for beverages, which is nice. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not included and the breakfast menu at the hotel is limited and just ok in flavor, but don’t let that deter you from staying at the hotel. There are other options on the plaza for breakfast. It is a nice hotel and we enjoy our stay there every time. We have tried the Sheraton and Embassy Suites on the plaza and always come back to the Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This chain hotel is in a 1925 apartment/hotel building that was state of the art when build. They have done an excellent job of remodelling a few years ago and it has been kept in great condition. Nice HD tv, good lines and bedding, quite clean and attractive. This is well located to the Country Club Plaza (just one block north of the main thoroughfare). Only sampled the cold side of the breakfast buffet but it was well done, with great service. The front desk ask several times if my room was to my satisfaction and called once. I will definitely stay here again. Parking is in the back of the hotel, with a combination of covered and outdoor parking. Not the handiest, but satisfactory because it's free.

Room Tip: Not sure you could have a room with elevator noise. I was right next to it and never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After the hustle and bustle of the holidays were over, we realized that we missed our annual trip to the Kansas City Plaza this year. We normally drive down to Kansas City and back the same night. But this time we booked a room for one night and made our trek to the Plaza from Nebraska. This hotel was an unexpected pleasure. The hotel was a mere block to the Plaza which meant that our car never left the parking lot the entire time we were there. The walk to the Plaza was very pleasant and very safe. The hotel itself was very clean and up to date. The room we had was a king bed suite complete with refrigerator, microwave oven, couch, coffee table, etc. The lobby was tastefully decorated for the holidays. The staff was super helpful and the available continental breakfast that next morning was worth every penny. We have decided that every year from here on out, we will be returning to the Plaza and staying at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel. They have rightfully gained our business.

Room Tip: Even though our room was on the JC Nichols Freeway side of the hotel, we experienced very little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard
Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.