We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Business Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Very Nice Business Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Myself and 2 co-workers stayed at this Marriott for two nights recently. The hotel staff was very service oriented and went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. The food in the concerige lounge was excellent for both the breakfast and the evening snacks they provide. The rooms were clean and well appointed and when I forgot my razor they brought one immediately, would not accept a tip and then I received a phone call later to make sure I received the razor and to ask if I need anything else. i did not get a chance to use the exercsie facility on this trip but I will most likely return and get a chance to add this to my revew.

There is also a nice place for dinner with numerours restaurants and shops just down the street and they have a free shuttle or it is close enough to walk to.

Overall a very nice place to stay for a business trip in the KC area.

Room Tip: Try to get on the concerige level if you have the correct Mariott status or upgrade to these floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    137
    24
    12
    6
See reviews for
81
116
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our daughter was married in the Kansas City area on October 27,2012. A block of rooms, at the Courtyard Marriott, was available for those attending the wedding. We received exceptional service from start to finish - the director of sales put together an incredible package for our guests, the staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were so accommodating, and there is free parking. The hotel location is prime - easy to walk and enjoy the Country Club Plaza. This hotel has alot of character - the floor plan of each room is different. Our wedding guests were very pleased. It couldn't get much better than this! - unless there was an indoor swimming pool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here October 12-14, 2012 for a weekend getaway with my wife. The location cannot be beat if you are wanting to check out Country Club Plaza. The parking is free. There's free Wi-Fi too. We booked a room with King-sized bed, which we thought included breakfast, through Expedia. We discovered that the breakfast was not included as part of our reservation. This was NOT the hotel's fault, but Expedia's.

The hotel itself was an old residential building which was converted into a hotel. The check in process was quick. You park in the back of the hotel and have to take about 7 stairs down to get to the elevator level. If stairs are a deal-breaker for you, then you may wish to select another place.

The room is quiet enough, although we could hear thunder during a rainstorm. The king-sized bed was comfortable, but I DID NOT like the too-soft pillows. I requested some firm pillows from the hotel and they said they only had the type already in the room. Flat-screen tv was nice, although there weren't too many channels. Just the networks, 5 sports channels, HBO, TWC, TNT, CNN, Headline News, Fox, MSNBC, etc. There's a small fridge, coffee maker, and microwave, which was nice to store leftovers from the nearby Cheesecake Factory!

The bathroom was adequate. Shower only had 2 settings. Hairdryer, iron, ironing board included. Wi-Fi was decent.

The shower only had 2 settings, but was decent.

Overall, a nice place to stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice, and very pleased both times. Well located on the Plaza and overlooks the park. I really love that they have maintained the historical integrity of this building while making it a perfectly comfortable and modern hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building overlook the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for the second time while on a business trip. Comfortable, clean and all you need for a business trip. Wifi easily accessible and smart breakfast. Can really recommend. Friendly and helpful staff and free parking available.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peterrsburg, Florida, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I went here on a business trip. Instead of staying in the heart of downtown, I decided to stay a few miles south and I think it was worth it. It is right by a large historic outdoor mall with many highend stores and restaurants. A very beautiful location. The location is close to the Main St bus line so you could easily take public transportation into the heart of downtown. The hotel was historic and recently renovated. Clean and good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We took our two kids and my in-laws to Kansas City for a long weekend over the Labor Day holiday. We enjoyed the Courtyard Kansas City Country Club Plaza. You cannot beat the location. The Courtyard is within a few steps of the Plaza. The Plaza is a great shopping and dining destination. Great selection of good restaurants and great outdoor shopping on the Plaza's city blocks. Even after booking the Courtyard I did not realize the location was so close to the Plaza. Litarally the hotel parking lot is 20 steps from the start of the Plaza shops. Very convienient. The hotel is an old upscale apartment complex that is on the National register of historic places. The hotel is clean, comfortable and has character because it's an older building. We got a kick out of the old "milk closets" that are along the hallways. These are remnants of a time gone by when milk was delivered to a locker outside of the residents apartment. Very fun to see this in the hotel! Overall it was a great stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza

Address: 4600 JC Nichols Pkwy, Kansas City, MO 64112
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#17 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Country Club Plaza hotel is set in the famed Kansas City Country Club Plaza, just minutes from the Kansas City International Airport. As one of the preferred Country Club Plaza hotels, we are perfect when traveling on business, planning a meeting or social event, or enjoying the area's best shopping, dining and entertainment. Overlooking the breathtaking J.C. Nichols Fountain, our Kansas City Missouri hotel is designed to tend to the needs of all travelers. Spacious guest rooms welcome you with thoughtful services and amenities, ensuring your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza Hotel Kansas City
Courtyard Kansas City
Kansas City Marriott
Kansas City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kansas City Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.