We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Classy hotel, needs minor updates.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old Classy hotel, needs minor updates.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an old classy hotel right next to the Power and Light District. Two small blocks away. Right in about the middle of downtown with access to the freeways. Another reviewer mentioned its not the quiet part of town, this is only true on some nights, but I never really heard anything and the P&L district has been very busy. This hotel is also 3 or 4 small blocks from the Sprint Center which just hosted Paul McCartney, and Motley Crue is coming.

The rooms have been nice. Great Hilton beds, HD TV's, nice big full showers, (No tubs in my rooms), no problems with water pressure or water temp. The hotel bar is ok. Been to better, but seen many worse. Internet is free, but its slow. Even the paid net is slow. Tech support was a joke. Netflix is barely watchable.

It may be a summer thing, but the elevators are damn hot! The ride from lobby to the 10th floor may only take 15 seconds, but its a hot box ride. The hallways are also rather warm. The AC in the room works, but nothing like more modern Hiltons have. Set it on max cold and let it run. There is a shuttle van here, still a complete mystery on when it runs, when its supposed to run, and to where it really goes.

They also have what I think is the worlds most expensive pint of ice cream! $8 for a pint of ben and jerrys vanilla ice cream, $4 service fee and tax. So about $15/16 for a pint! I was standing there, and could see the pint, wanted to eat it in the bar but couldn't. Had to walk to my room and wait for room service. Total crap. I got no ice cream. There is a small grocery store a block or so away if you need something. Constintino's?

Room Tip: Even numbers 1o and under face south, nice view. Numbers 12 and high face west and the building acro...
See more room tips
Green Features: The 130 watt light bulbs don't seem to environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your visit. Point taken on the ice cream cost. If we see you again the ice cream is on us.
I will visit with our Chief Engineer to see if there is anything we can do about the heat in the elevator shafts. It certainly has been hot, and I certainly understand those cabs can get uncomfortable.
Thanks again for your time and candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    176
    77
    31
    23
See reviews for
83
174
43
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton President KC for several days around a family member wedding. Three rooms. Not cheap, but we wanted to splurge a little for the special occasion and thought the hotel looked very special based on what we could see over the internet. Room 1324 plus two others.

Within our first two hours of arriving, we had called guest services four times as follows: 1) Room had only two sets of towels although we checked into a suite with three registered family members and had specifically pointed this out when checking in. After significant delay, housekeeping brought another set of towels; 2) Toilet was running constantly when we walked into the room--maintenance was very responsive in coming to replace the toilet tank flapper; 3) There were no linens available in the room for the sofa sleeper. Here again, we had specifically brought this to the attention of the front desk representative when checking in. Housekeeping had to bring a set of sheets but didn't offer to make up the sofa sleeper for us--no big deal; 4) However, when we got to the comforter, we found that it was very wet. Hoping it had simply spent too little time in the dryer. We washed our hands and called for housekeeping to bring us a dry comforter.

Did not call about this complaint, however caulking around top edge of the bathtub was peeling off and appeared dirty or mildewed in places. Was very surprised to see that in a $300 per night suite. A $5 tube of sealant and 5 minutes time would have fixed that nicely.

Disappointing, not an upscale match for the upscale price...

But then on Saturday July 12 we were out of the room for quite some time. Came back to find that the wedding gift we had sitting on the table for that evening had been unwrapped by someone in our room while we were away. Out of the gift bag, tissue paper removed, just laying there but not stolen. We were very concerned, called the front desk again--call #5 in two days--and were told the manager was busy parking cars and couldn't be located right now. Left a message. Waited... Called again--#6. Did get manager "Ricky" to respond that time. Ricky came to our room and looked over the situation. Ricky expressed great concern, said he would get to the bottom of this, get right on it. Ricky took my wife's email address so that he could email her his findings--assured that we would have this detail when we checked out the next morning. Ricky described that the electronic door locks record all access, and that he would be able to quickly pinpoint which hotel staff had been in our room while we were away. But, upon checking out there was no email, front desk staff had no details, no awareness there had been a problem, and Ricky could not be located. There was, however, a $75 per day credit applied to one of our rooms. Apparently this is how Ricky investigated and resolved the issue we and he were so concerned about.

Now a week later and still no contact from manager Ricky. Hilton corporation responded to our initial complaint by email stating that our concerns had been referred to Hilton President management staff, and that we should expect to hear from them. But, we've had no contact from the hotel at all. Received another generic email from Hilton corporation offices stating that they understood everything was resolved by the adjustment to our bill, therefore no further action was needed. That's not true--please ask us before assuming this.

Would not go back as there's not a culture at the Hilton President that is guest services oriented. That's an organizational leadership issue. We are still waiting on Hilton President management to contact us, and still waiting on manager Ricky to respond to us regarding the investigation he personally initiated and was so concerned about. Ricky, we'll give you back the $75 per day credit you gave us in exchange for details regarding the attempted theft of a wedding gift from our room. Deal?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share you thoughts about your visit to our hotel. I am terribly sorry there were some issues. I do know that our team has indeed reached out to you on a couple of separate occasions to speak with you. We will try to reach out to you again next week to see if we can provide you any additional information that will satisfy your questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel was really nice. We love the charming lobby, friendly service, and comfortably outfitted rooms. The bathroom was clean and modern, though the water pressure on the shower was rather weak. Location is good, we had planned on bumming around the P&L so it's great for that. Be aware that it is NOT a quiet part of town, and there was plenty of loud music going on into the night on Thursday and Friday.

The issue we had was with the A/C, which is the only issue but one worth dinging two bubbles on the review. When we came into the room, the thermostat was set to 65, though in hindsight the room was not exactly frigid. I know what 65 feels like and wasn't interested in freezing to death, so I set the thermostat to a still cool 72. I might as well have gone to a sauna. In the middle of the night I had to get back up and jack the temperature way down, and it was still not cool enough by the time we woke up. The room never seemed to recover, and it was balmy for the second day/night as well, even set on 65.

I still love the hotel but would probably only stay here again if it weren't summer, assuming their heat works. Also, the elevators were not air conditioned and were *incredibly* uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Timothy-
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. So sorry we could not get the air to a comfortable level for you. The building normally has no issue keeping up with the outside air temps and humidity. I will reach out to you via private message so we can take a look at the room you occupied.
Thanks again for your time and feedback. I am pleased the rest of your stay was satisfactory. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The desk staff is helpful and rooms are comfortable. However, do not eat breakfast in the restaurant unless you expect to wait on yourself and eat sub-par food. Also, the water pressure and temperature of the showers is awful. Prepare to be scalded or chilled each morning. It will vary by morning. Stay on a lower floor if you want water pressure. This hotel does not measure up to Hilton standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your visit. I am terribly sorry you had a multitude of issues. We understand your frustration. We will discuss as a team and take corrective action where we can. As you can see by hundreds of previous TripAdvisor reviews your visit is not the product and services our guests nearly always experience. Thanks again for taking the time to share your candid thoughts about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our second stay at The Hilton President KC. We are locals but find that it's nice to just get away from everything for an evening occasionally.

Booking was easy. We asked for a corner room facing the P&L district and did get it. Room 402. Check in was easy and went smoothly.

We had 2 complaints of the room, which we addressed to the front desk at check out. The room thermostat was set at 65 but it never was completely cooled off in the room. It was set to 65 when we arrived to the room and that was the lowest that it would go but it felt 75-80 at best. It made for a not so comfortable sleeping night. The other complaint was the carpet. It was terribly sticky everywhere. Not a humid sticky....just a yuck sticky. When I let the front desk know, the girl replied with "sorry". I hope that they do look into it.

We did intend to have Starbucks on the way out (it was almost noon on Sunday) but Starbucks was not open. That was disappointing as well. Not sure why they wouldn't be open on a Sunday afternoon.

Overall, we love Hilton properties and love the President and will stay again, more than likely. However, I do hope that they fix the things that were addressed. It's such a great property.

Room Tip: High up and corners facing P&L.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. First off, we will certainly address the cleanliness issue you noted in your review. As a seasoned TripAdvisor reviewer we certainly take a great deal of interest in your review. I am pleased that overall you had a wonderful visit to the hotel. We would love to see you again in the future. Thanks again for your time and candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I took my family for a wedding party in the downtown Kansas City. The room was reserved based on the wedding discount offer around $150 including the tax. The dinner and wedding ceremony were held on the different floors but were spacious to accommodate the needs. The room was clean and wonderful. Strongly recommend this hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for that wonderful review. It is always nice to see the "five-dot" review. It sounds like everything just went perfectly for your stay. The President is such a wonderful venue for weddings. I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy such a wonderful occasion. Please look us up the future should your travel bring you back to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is a great place to stay. Built in 1926, everything seems scaled to the times. I'm usually picky about using "historic" hotels, but the President was just fine in terms of comfort and room amenities.

Shortcomings--we were there over 4th of July weekend, and the Starbucks was on short hours. Want a can of pop? No vending, gotta go to the bar (nice bar, though!)

Strengths--beautiful place, walk a couple blocks to great restaurants ( try BRGR, it's great).

Whine--it is a fifty dollar cab ride from the airport. That's not a happy thing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review! Many words have been used to describe this wonderful hotel and yes, cool is one of them. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Apologies for the lack of staffing in the coffee shop, sounds like we could have done a better job scheduling for that weekend. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.