We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

From my early check in to my late check out this was a wonderful property to stay. The attention to detail that was taken to restore this hotel makes it a beautiful sight to see. The room was a nice size and the bed was very comfortable. Bathrooms are large with a huge walk in tile shower. No bathtub though, if you are looking for that. All the staff I came in contact with were attentive and helpful. The bartender at the Drum Room was not stingy with the liquor, you got what you paid for. I like that.

The Hilton President in just 3 blocks from the new Sprint Center and in the Power and Light bar/entertainment district. I was able to park my car and walk to the activities I was there for. Parking was expensive, but it is downtown, so that is not unusual in a city.

I'd stay here again and again!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    167
    73
    26
    23
See reviews for
76
160
43
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Queensland Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We only spent three days here, but the Hotel was indeed a delight.
Like many US cities it is very decentralised, however the city is subject to revamp, and the Hotel itself is historically magnificent.
It is within 2km of the city centre, arena football, and the Union Station. Alll worth a visit.
Staff were helpful, although it did not have the feel of a Hilton Hotel. Why, l cannot explain.
I would recommend this hotel though for those that like an English like getaway in the US.
We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Pleasant atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

It is a beautiful hotel, renovated. And as it was done 2 years ago, everything is still new and modern typical of Hilton decor. However it is right next to the new power and light district. This means that if you are on the side that faces it, there are outdoor concerts that play at night which are incredibly loud. Wednesday night the music didn't stop till 10pm. By Thursday night at 11pm, i had to change my room to opposite of the hotel. The hotel expected the concert to end by midnight that night. Even with the room change to the front side of the building, you can still hear noise, but its slight. so i'm not sure how loud it still is on the side rooms.
Also, the backside gets no sun and is dark all day, as it is in a U shape. The front side is facing a high rise, but gets more indirect light. As for the breakfast that you order on the door knob order card, none of the prices for what i ordered matched what i was charged, nor matched the indoor restaurant guide. They promised to readjust, but never did.

  • Liked — old, beautiful architecture
  • Disliked — noise level, bad lighting
Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okie
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2008

Hilton President is a historic hotel within walking distance to the Steamboat Arabia and is located in the vibrant Power and Light District. Union Station is nearby as well. The hotel is definitely "luxurious." The famous "Drum Room" dining room of the hotel oozes with history as you see pictures of famous singers of the past plastered on the walls. Do NOT expect a signature dining experience, though. As of April, the dining room was painfully understaffed. A nice dessert and coffee just to experience the environment is a must, though! Web site: http://www1.hilton.com/en_US/hi/hotel/MCIPRHF-Hilton-President-Kansas-City-Missouri/index.do

  • Liked — The history is the core of this historic hotel!
  • Disliked — construction going on in surrounding streets
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

My wife and I had a "Get Away" weekend in our own hometown. I am a seasoned business traveler and Diamond Hilton HHonors member. Used some of my points and booked the Hilton President for a Saturday Night. I've stayed at more than 200 Hilton properties in the last 9 years and would rank this one close to the top. It is a historic hotel that was recently remodeled. Great "Old School" lobby and modern typical Hilton rooms. Great bed, huge clean bathroom. We stayed on the 11th floor. Elevators are small, but I think everything used to be smaller back then. Staff was very friendly. We did not check out the Drum Room located in the lobby, but it looked very inviting and they had a small jazz band playing, it was pretty crowded. Location is awesome, only 3 very short blocks to the new Power & Light District. We spent most of the night down there listening to free "live' bands and had a nice easy walk back to the hotel. It felt very safe and we used the valet parking, since I wasn't paying for the room! If I were staying in downtown KC, this would be my first choice. Check it out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

Love this hotel ! We have stayed here a couple times and will return everytime we visit Kansas City. The hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. It is in the new Power and Light District, restaurants within walking distance.

  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

We decided to vacation nearby our hometown in KC rather than going away for a short overnight stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We chose the President Hotel because it is right next to the new downtown Power and Light District which has all kinds of new and unique bars and restaurants within walking distance. We used the valet to park our car during our stay since we wouldn't be needing it, and it was very reasonably priced - I believe it only cost 13.00 and it would have cost 10.00 if we were parking ourselves. The hotel has been refurbished in the past few years and retains many of the original light fixtures and marble flooring. The hotel is in the art deco design. The "Drum Room" bar is the perfect spot to meet up with friends or have a cocktail while deciding your evening plans. We didn't eat in the "Walnut Room" restaurant which looked lovely but I believe is often quite empty due to all the new restaurants nearby. When my husband made the initial reservations - at least a month in advance - he ask for a room overlooking the new Power and Light district and we were given a small room on the oppposite side which had a view of the building across the street. We called down to the front desk and the desk clerk told us there weren't any west side rooms left, so she promptly upgraded us to a corner suite which was much larger and had 4 large windows and seating area. We had requested champagne and chocolate strawberries for our room - we had to call down and order them again but they were delivered within 30 min and were delicious! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice with granite countertops and Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries. All in all I would recommend staying at this lovely old hotel - especially with it's terrific location so close to Kansas City's new downtown entertainment district.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#13 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.