We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a low class night, stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you want a low class night, stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very old, understaffed hotel, with poor service. Bring your camera and photograph the beggars sitting on the Hotel benches in the front of the Hotel. Valet parking is $20.00 and you wait 20+ minutes due to the understaffing. The rooms were made over to give that 1920s look but whoever was in charge failed the challenge

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
As you can see by hundreds of prior reviews, your visit was not the normal guest visit. I am very sorry there were some issues with the timliness of the valet service. I am not quite sure about the comment in regards to some homeless people that may have been downtown or near the hotel. If we encounter them we kindly and very respectfully ask them to move on, and we certainly don't condone "taking pictures" of them, we would hope that everyone would treat some of these less fortunate individuals with respect. The homeless problem in downtown Kansas City as in most major metropolotan areas is a problem that needs to be addressed.

We certainly hope you find what you are looking for if your travels bring you to Kansas City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    172
    76
    30
    23
See reviews for
81
167
43
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City Mo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked the hotel originally because of its proximity to the Sprint Center and Power and Light. We realized that we had stayed here before. Both stays were excellant! I highly recommend this hotel. The price was actually cheaper than many other hotels and it was during the George Strait/Eric Church concert.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review of your visit to our hotel. The location is second to none and I am so pleased you took advantage of our short walk to the Sprint Center for the concert. We certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks while I was in town for business. The hotel is an older building but that's just part of the charm. The rooms are very spacious (especially the bathroom) and were very well kept. Only had minor housekeeping issues during the first week stay. The area that the hotel is in is called the Power and Light District and there are plenty of restaurants in the area(walking distance) so that you don't have to eat in the hotel every night. Overall this is a solid 4 stars and if I'm ever in Kansas City again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review Jeff. Two weeks is certainly a long time to visit a hotel, and I am pleased we could provide a great stay for you the entire time. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here to avoid having to drive following a concert at Sprint Center. This hotel is a easy walk to the complex, just a straight shot less than half a mile and you are there. As a bonus, you past several restaurant in a full range of price scales between the hotel and Sprint Center.

To top it off, the staff was very responsive to requests (additional towels, sheets, etc.).

This was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for the quick, wonderful review of the hotel. A walk from our hotel to the Sprint Center takes about 3 minutes, and I am pleased you found our location just right for your post concert visit.
Please look us up again if you should be in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I go to Kansas City 6-8 times per year on business and only stay at the Hilton President. Lots of history, beautiful architecture, great location (the restaurants nearby are good - especially the Bristol), and very nice, clean, spacious rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Larry-
Thanks for that very thoughtful review. It is really the highest compliment we can get from a guest. I am so pleased we are able to provide you with a great visit every time you are in Kansas City. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff at this hotel are truly top notch. They handle every need with ease. Any questions/issues and they're right there taking care of them. The hostess in the restaurant was amazing with my grandchildren, so patient and relaxed it was a very nice lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks Pamela for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. Your compliments about the staff is very flattering. The team at the President is what truly sets us apart from other hotels in the area. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Older hotel that has been remodeled and has a great character to it. It is clean and located right next to the Power and Light District and the Sprint Center. Great place to stay if you are attending an event at the Sprint Center or planning a night/evening out at the Power and Light District.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review. As your review notes the location is just perfect for so many downtown Kansas City activities! Please look us up on your next trip to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.