We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“First Class Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Hilton President in KC is a lovingly restored jewel in the Power and Light District. Located in the heart of the action, yet a serene property with lovely, up-to-date rooms and an outstanding breakfast in a magnificent dining room. Parking is very handy, a plus for a downtown property. We celebrated Thanksgiving weekend and enjoyed their beautiful Christmas decorations! Truly, a wonderful way to get in the holiday spirit!

Room Tip: A corner room, upper floor has wonderful view of surrounding KC from 3 windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful view of your visit to our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. The hotel has a wonderful charm and mix of yesterday and today. We certainly hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    172
    77
    30
    23
See reviews for
81
169
43
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wondeful place to stay! Conveniently located very close to the Power & Light District and some incredible restaurants. Room was very clean, nicely decorated and very quiet. The bed seemed like it could have used a new mattress and the heat wouldn't go low enough for us to sleep comfortably, but I think the heat's a common theme in hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for the quick, concise review of your visit to our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.
If you wouldn't mind sending me your room number, we can take a look at the thermostat to ensure its proper functioning.
Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place has the perfect vintage feel for the city. It is centrally located and you have a lot of things to do in the downtown area. The breakfast provided was also very good. It's a great value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. You pointed out some wonderful features that all Tripadvisor readers should know about. Location, value and service.
We would love to see you again in the future. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Sometimes you stay in historic hotels and they feel old, but not this one. This hotel feels updated and very comfortable. The rooms aren't small, they are roomy. The interior is beautiful and the lobby is exceptionally ornate. My experience here was great and I will stay here again when I'm in KC.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thanks for that quick review of your visit to our hotel. I am pleased you found everything to your liking.
We certainly would like to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Although we live close to downtown, we decided to have a weekend getaway. We stayed here and were so pleased with our entire experience (hotel, Drum Room, Providence restaurant, and the Sunday brunch buffet). We opted for the junior suite, which was much larger than many other hotel suites we have had. The proximity to other attractions was an added bonus. Wonderful and attentive staff - a large, quiet but cozy room - fabulous! Will absolutely stay again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about visiting our hotel. I am so pleased everything was just perfect for you!
We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Nice location in the middle of the Power and Light district. Restaurant downstairs is fantastic, very friendly staff. Highly recommended. Right down the street from Alamo Draft House Cinema and any number of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks for the quck review of your visit to our hotel. I am certainly pleased you had a great visit. Thanks for noting the excellent location! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I lodged with the Hilton President, during a recent business trip for a total of seven days and six nights. The best thing about this hotel for me was its proximity to the KC convention center. The center was located only one block from the hotel. I really appreciated this because I was in attendance of a national conference being held at the convention center and I was able to quickly make it to the room and back as needed.

As for the hotel itself, upon entering you will walk into a grand lobby with high ceilings and marble floors. From the outside, the hotel is a bit underwhelming and your not exactly sure what to expect when you arrive, but it is truly classical and elegant. If you have stayed at Hilton's before, you'll notice that this property is a little different from the rest and we were informed that it was only recently acquired by the company after a short transition period.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful throughout the entire stay. My employer booked the room and faxed over corresponding documentation prior to my stay. This made check-in simple, easy and (best of all) hassle free. Front desk staff happily answered all of our questions and made suggestions for dinner each night. Internet is free if you log on as a guest each day ( it was a little tricky at first because it appears to expire, but it let us log on each day for free).

We parked Valet which is recommended and you can come and go as much as you leave for twenty dollars a day. The Valet staff were probably my favorite (all but the exception of one guy who had not been on schedule until midweek and candidly asked, "do you need help?" upon reentering the hotel - after which I explained to him that I was headed to my room, he was more than hospitable for the remainder of the stay).

The hotel is an older building and the rooms are very small compared to standard size rooms in most hotels. As mentioned in several other reviews, I witnessed the loud knocking from the pipes. It went on for quite some time and we called the front desk who informed maintenance and they came to our room to fix the problem. Although it resolved the knocking one night, the next few days it resumed temporarily on and off. I could not really tell what caused the sound, but found it pointless to call the front desk for a second time. The room was spotless and each day the cleaning staff did a wonderful job keeping it tidy.

Room service was delish, had a speedy delivery and was actually reasonably priced. The serving sizes were huge. We passed the Drum Room each night, but for some reason, I never felt compelled to stop in for a drink. The breakfast buffet is open during the mornings and the hotel will sell you a $10.00 voucher as opposed to the standard $15.00 at the front desk. The food there was also good.

If you're superstitious beware! The hotel has 13 floors and the center elevator actually stops at the 13th floor. I found this a little strange (because I have never seen it in a hotel, most usually skip from 12th floor to 14th floor), but there must be some reasonable/historical explanation, right?

Overall, I would say its a great hotel to stay in if you need to be in The Power & Light District for an event.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks for the very detailed review of your visit to our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed just about every aspect of your visit.
About the 13th floor. Yes, kind of an interesting story to the floor. Back in the 1920's and 1930's the floor was used for a few different purposes. One was trunk and baggage storage. Many people travelling in those days would use oversized trunks, the rooms were simply too small to handle the amounts and size of the luggage, so the baggage was stored on that floor. The floor was also used by the hotel owner as dormitories for several of the service staff. And finally the owner of the hotel in the 1920's had hunting dogs that he kept on that floor, so there are many stories that we know of that relate to that floor. The floor now houses several of our executive suites. The hotel overall has so many stories and such a rich history, and that is just a glimpse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.