We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“iconic art deco hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“iconic art deco hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just spent a few days here in the heart of the Power & Light District. Traditional early 20C art deci building modernised, with its own restaurant, Drum Room bar and a Starbucks. Staff friendly and helpful. Iconic Power & Light Building just across the street.

Free wifi in the room. In-room safe a real plus. Taking up the offer of vouchers for $10 breakfasts excellent value - silver service with plenty of choice. First room I was offered was not acceptable - tiny and very dark - but was able to upgrade with no fuss at all to a very pleasant room higher up.

Downsides: in temperatures over 100, rooms could really use fridges - ice buckets just don't cut it. Business Center is just 2 computers in cramped space - that could be improved. I wouldn't recommend staying here on a Saturday night - not the hotel's fault, but the surrounding district really jumps and loud music thumping until 3 a.m. not good; after that, very peaceful. No coin-operated laundry, which is such a help when you are travelling around a lot.

Room Tip: Avoid being near elevators. Ask for quiet room and staff will help you if they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for the kind review of your visit to our hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and you offered some nice little areas that we could use some course corrections. The weekends in the entertainment district can be quite loud and I hope that was not too much of a concern for you.
Again, thank you for your time and choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    195
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
88
191
46
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lake st louis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

the hotel was very good and situated in an excellent location. It was a beautiful hotel, The rooms were very nice. The people were very pleasant to us. The check in was easy and so was the checkout.The bar was clean and the drinks were good. The waiters were very nice and friendly to us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the quick review of our hotel. I am pleased you found everything to your liking. most importantly your recognition of our staff is paramount. We agree we have a wonderful hotel, but it truly is the staff that makes the difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Great location, nice staff, clean spacious rooms. I'd stay there again! Located by Power&Light District, the best place of entertainment in Kansas City and close to Sprint Center (walking distance). Place I highly recomend to stay in downtown of Kansas City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the very kind words about your visit to our hotel. You took time to point out the excellent location of the hotel. We certainly are located close to just about anything you would want to do in downtown Kansas City. Just moments from the Sprint Center and many other attractions!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went out downtown Kansas City for my birthday, and the hotel staff even gave us free cover passes to Power and Light District. Between the group of us, the passes saved us $150! I had a great time and would recommend this place for anyone. It was a bit pricey, but I had shopped around and this was one of the better deals for downtown hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Great to hear the staff took such good care of you. We take great pride in providing the finest guest services in Kansas City. With so many hotel choices in Kansas City, we certainly think we offer the finest service, location and product. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff at the Hilton President was AMAZING!! They made me feel welcome and pampered from the moment I walked in the door. We dined in the restaurant and attended a wedding on-site. Service was great from restaurant, bar and banquets. Location is soooo close to many activities and concierge was very knowledgeable. I would recommend the hotel to any one looking for a weekend getaway or event. Sami the Wedding Coordinator was very professional, detailed and a pleasure to work with. Thank you for all your service!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. And first and foremost thank you for the kind words about Samie. She is a true hospitality professional in every sense of the word. I am so pleased you had a wonderful visit and the wedding was a success. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My room was quiet and not bothered by the country music concert that was occurring nearby that evening. The staff put me in a room at the front of the hotel, which was expected to limit any noise (the other option was a windowless room, which seemed extreme and a bit of a disappointing comment) and it did. I slept well.

The best part of the stay was my dinner on property. I ate in the bar, but had access to the full restaurant menu and it was much better than the bland room service food during my last stay. The morning breakfast was also good and I enjoy that the hotel includes hot items with the coupon voucher, unlike some Hilton properties that can be quite stingy.

Room Tip: I asked for a room at the front of the hotel because during the summer I was told that there are con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for writing a review about your visit to our hotel. I am very pleased we had the opportunity to provide you with the stay you expected. Sometimes noise can be an issue on the weekends. You offer an excellent tip to future travelers about room location and the mitigation of noise. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed for 3 days ( family) wedding. Great location right in the middle of everything! Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, view from the corner room on the 9th floor was spectacular, and toiletries were first rate!

Room Tip: corner room on the 9th floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for the review, and thanks for taking the time to point out some of the finer details of your visit. We are proud of our relationship with Peter Thomas Roth. Hilton offers the finest in room toiletries you will find. It's the little details that set us apart from the other hotels in the area, and I am so pleased you too the time to point these out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.