We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and close to exciting venues” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #21 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Omaha, United States
1 review
“Lovely and close to exciting venues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My work group stayed here for a strategic planning meeting and team building event. This beautiful hotel helped make our work pleasant and productive. The hotel was spotless, the rooms are quiet. The hotel is steps from many fine restaurants, art venues, and the Sprint Center. The Drum Room Bar is not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for the very kind words about your visit to our hotel. If you see a trend in all of our reviews it certainly is the location. As the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertainment District, the location offers so many different entertainment options. Thanks also for the kind words about the Drum Room, we kind of think it is pretty cool also!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    169
    73
    28
    23
See reviews for
78
161
43
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Hilton President is old school elegance, a hotel built in the early 1900s that has the charm and elegance from that era in a refurbished but 20's era decor complete with 20'-40's era music piped into the lobby. The rooms are large, the staff is great and with only 220 rooms, very uncrowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Gordon, thanks so much for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel! I am so pleased you had the opportunity to take in all the hotel has to offer. Please look us up again in the future if your travel brings you to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our meeting was at a Hilton hotel in Kansas City. Expecting a typical modern hotel, you can imagine my surprise to see a beautiful old building that was completely made over. The President name for the hotel came from the fact that the Republican National convention was held there in 1928. Herbert Hoover was nominated for president. The Drum room and restaurant have the elegance of early 20th century hotels and the menus are very good with very reasonable prices. Located within very short walking distances are numerous eating places and the mecca for downtown nightlife. Most important is that the rooms are all very nice and were enlarged during the makeover into mini suites. All the amenities that one would expect from a Hilton were there. The staff could not have been nicer and met every need promptly. It was a lot of fun to listen to the stories they told about the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review of our hotel. We are all very proud of the historic nature of the hotel. The hotel has been woven into the fabric of Kansas City events since 1927. The magnitude of the renovation was massive, and I am certainly pleased you had the opportunity to really enjoy all of the historic features mixed with current day technology.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here and celebrated a family wedding reception, dinner,and dance. The food, service, and surroundings were first rate. This has been meticulously and beautifully restored and brings back the feel of elegance from days past. Very accessible to the popular power and light district. The rooms were wonderful and we would recommend for special occaision or celebration or just to enjoy if you are in the area.

Room Tip: enjoyed the jr suite for the amazing window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the property and surrounding area!
Please look us up again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night following an evening at Power and Light. It was extremely clean and the atmosphere was great. It was conveniently located for the purpose I was seeking and the rate wasn't to bad. We paid a little to upgrade to a corner room with an incredible view, which was well worth it even if we weren't in the room much to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your valued time in writing that friendly review. I am pleased you found everything to your liking.
Please look us up in the future if your travel brings you downtown again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice historic hotel with great location. Staff is very friendly. Lots of great restaurants and bars in the power and light district. Not too far from country club plaza with bars, restaurants, and shopping

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for the kind quick "5-dot" review of your visit to our hotel. We agree that the location is just perfect for just about any kind of visit. Please do look us up in the future if you return to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything surrounding my stay was exceptional. Love the restored building including the mini museum! The room was clean and cozy and the bed was very comfy. Walking distance to Power and Light district is a plus. Everybody I encountered was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Well, we certainly don't mind being called "beautiful" and thanks for the kind note about the exceptional service, we truly believe that these two points are what separates us from the other hotels in the area. Please look us up again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.