We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Average Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Colinas - DFW, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Location, Average Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I like the location of this hotel, but the amenities are so-so. The rooms are nice, but the showers are probably the weakest part of the stay. The showers are under powered in water pressure, and you must choose between mildly scalding, and scalding hot for temperature. The gym is small but has enough machines to have a work out if it doesn't get too crowded (3 treadmills). The hotel forgot to give me a bill on the last morning, and I called the phone number on my way out and could not contact the front desk. The system sent me to job listings every time I attempted to get to the hotel operator (THANKS!). Anyways, you can hear noise from TVs and traffics in this hotel, so consider that if you need it to be super quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Well we certainly don't like to be described as "average" but I certainly hear you on all of your points. Some room for improvement in a few areas. Thanks for taking the time to share these thoughts on your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    211
    96
    35
    26
See reviews for
95
213
47
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this delightful hotel in Midwest USA. It has recently been restored to its former glory and it was here in The Drum Room that some of the "greats"" used to perform. Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Patsy Cline. What a stunning building. The staff are great. The food in the Providence Restaurant is first class and not too expensive. The lobby is plush and so comfortable. The room was spacious comfortable and the bed was just heavenly. Three excellent nights sleep. Thank you to all the helpful staff.

Room Tip: We had room 618 - so quiet and right next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review of your visit to our hotel. We are very proud of our hotel and the history. It is indeed an important part of the history of Kansas City hotels. We would love to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wonderful experience at the hotel. Front desk ladies were so helpful and friendly. Room very quiet, great beds and huge bathroom. The hotel has great pictures of the history of the hotel from the 1920's when it was built. I think Hilton put 45 million in to restore the hotel. Wonderful character to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on your visit to our hotel. We are certainly pleased you had the opportunity to look around the hotel and notice the historic nature of the building.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Hilton President Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was recently redone (a few yrs ago) and restored to its former grandeur. Neat interior, modern amenities. Near the arena, right downtown. Good sized rooms and a very reasonable price. The bar, (the Drum Room) looked interesting, but I did not visit it. This is the only place I will stay at in KC. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We could not agree more! We work so hard to provide a perfect visit for each and every guest, it is nice to see this hard work rewarded in your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I thought I would get more for $300 a night. Besides it being a historic hotel, nothing really makes this hotel stand out. The Good: Rooms are updated and clean and staff friendly. The bad: expensive, breakfast buffet was all cold, vending machines on floor didn't work, and free wifi was a joke--Wifi signal was so weak it's no wonder its free. The Westin down the street is much nicer and same price range.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Well it certainly appears we could have done a better job during your visit. All of your comments are taken under advisement. I can say that our WI-FI has been upgraded in the past 24 hours to an entirely new service called "Stay Connected by HIlton and AT&T" The new system is robust and will provide a complimentary service that will rival anyone in the city. We will discuss your review in house to see what we can do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I really liked the charm of this hotel. The room was large, the bathroom modern and clean, and the bar area was nice after a long day. Unlike many other Hilton hotels there was no charge for the wifi Internet or the fitness center. Though the fitness center is small and not up to par to other Hilton hotels. Mark, the concierge, was simply a pleasure to make requests with and Valentine, in the bar, delivered fantastic service. The location is easily accessible via the interstates and the hotel is right on the power and lights district. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review Amanda. I will make sure that Mark sees your comments. I know he will appreciate you taking the time to recognize his attention to guest service details. You pointed out some great features of our hotel and we look forward to providing the same levels of service for all of your future visits to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful clean hotel was a nice surprise. This is a Kansas City gem. Comfortable beds and pillows and everything was very clean. The fresh fruit was an extra added bonus. Friendly and helpful staff was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the concise review of our hotel, I am certainly pleased you had a nice visit. Please look us up again if you are in Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.