We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place to stay in KC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #21 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only place to stay in KC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was recently redone (a few yrs ago) and restored to its former grandeur. Neat interior, modern amenities. Near the arena, right downtown. Good sized rooms and a very reasonable price. The bar, (the Drum Room) looked interesting, but I did not visit it. This is the only place I will stay at in KC. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We could not agree more! We work so hard to provide a perfect visit for each and every guest, it is nice to see this hard work rewarded in your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    147
    63
    23
    23
See reviews for
62
146
42
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I thought I would get more for $300 a night. Besides it being a historic hotel, nothing really makes this hotel stand out. The Good: Rooms are updated and clean and staff friendly. The bad: expensive, breakfast buffet was all cold, vending machines on floor didn't work, and free wifi was a joke--Wifi signal was so weak it's no wonder its free. The Westin down the street is much nicer and same price range.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Well it certainly appears we could have done a better job during your visit. All of your comments are taken under advisement. I can say that our WI-FI has been upgraded in the past 24 hours to an entirely new service called "Stay Connected by HIlton and AT&T" The new system is robust and will provide a complimentary service that will rival anyone in the city. We will discuss your review in house to see what we can do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I really liked the charm of this hotel. The room was large, the bathroom modern and clean, and the bar area was nice after a long day. Unlike many other Hilton hotels there was no charge for the wifi Internet or the fitness center. Though the fitness center is small and not up to par to other Hilton hotels. Mark, the concierge, was simply a pleasure to make requests with and Valentine, in the bar, delivered fantastic service. The location is easily accessible via the interstates and the hotel is right on the power and lights district. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review Amanda. I will make sure that Mark sees your comments. I know he will appreciate you taking the time to recognize his attention to guest service details. You pointed out some great features of our hotel and we look forward to providing the same levels of service for all of your future visits to Kansas City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful clean hotel was a nice surprise. This is a Kansas City gem. Comfortable beds and pillows and everything was very clean. The fresh fruit was an extra added bonus. Friendly and helpful staff was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the concise review of our hotel, I am certainly pleased you had a nice visit. Please look us up again if you are in Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location to the very happening Power & Light District. Hotel itself has an older feel to it which is nice. Restaurant bar attached to the hotel was pricey but not much more than surrounding establishments. There was a close grocery store within walking distance and there are a ton of restaurants and bars a stones throw from the front door. Dont rely on the hotel van despite it being available, the hotel doesnt staff strong enough with a driver.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to review our hotel. Point taken about the shuttle. I am pleased you enjoyed everything else about your visit. Our hotel is the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertainment District, and as you pointed out, centrally located to all attractions and night life. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love this hotel. Was my second time staying. First time was a couple years ago with my daughter as we had attended a concert at the Sprint Center. This time was an anniversary weekend with my husband. The staff are all nice and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the Power and Light district only downfall was how loud the music was at night when trying to sleep, I think next time I will ask for a room away from that side as when I was there with my daughter we never heard the music. We did eat breakfast there both days and the food was good and the staff very nice. We also ate dinner one night at the restaurant which was very good and our waiter, Andrew, was wonderful! We also enjoyed a couple drinks in the Drum Room. I can't wait to go back I have yet to be disappointed in the service there.

Room Tip: If your older like me and not out partying all night you may want to ask for a room not facing the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a kind review, thanks Deb. We certainly "love" our guest's just as much as you "love" our hotel. We have a wonderful team of hospitality professionals that take great pride in our service levels. It is so thoughtful for you to share such kind words. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night at the hotel on 03/09/13. We booked this hotel based on our trip agenda which included a concert at the Sprint Center. The hotel check-in went very smooth along with the valet parking which cost $18.00 but well worth it. The Sprint Center in only a 5-10 minute walk which makes the stay even more valuable. The hotel is clean and the rooms decent sized. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot tell you how it was. We tried Jack Stack BBQ for dinner which was good but overpriced in my opinion. A taxi cab ride from the hotel to the restaurant cost $5.00 each way. The front desk and valet parking attendant were all cordial and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again when back in the area!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the "great stay" review. The hotel is really located in an exceptional location for so many activities. A quick walk to the Sprint Center, and we are proud to be the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertainment District. Thanks for the visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton
Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
#29 Family Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list