We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love this hotel. Was my second time staying. First time was a couple years ago with my daughter as we had attended a concert at the Sprint Center. This time was an anniversary weekend with my husband. The staff are all nice and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a great view of the Power and Light district only downfall was how loud the music was at night when trying to sleep, I think next time I will ask for a room away from that side as when I was there with my daughter we never heard the music. We did eat breakfast there both days and the food was good and the staff very nice. We also ate dinner one night at the restaurant which was very good and our waiter, Andrew, was wonderful! We also enjoyed a couple drinks in the Drum Room. I can't wait to go back I have yet to be disappointed in the service there.

Room Tip: If your older like me and not out partying all night you may want to ask for a room not facing the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a kind review, thanks Deb. We certainly "love" our guest's just as much as you "love" our hotel. We have a wonderful team of hospitality professionals that take great pride in our service levels. It is so thoughtful for you to share such kind words. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    195
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
88
192
46
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Just spent a night at the hotel on 03/09/13. We booked this hotel based on our trip agenda which included a concert at the Sprint Center. The hotel check-in went very smooth along with the valet parking which cost $18.00 but well worth it. The Sprint Center in only a 5-10 minute walk which makes the stay even more valuable. The hotel is clean and the rooms decent sized. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot tell you how it was. We tried Jack Stack BBQ for dinner which was good but overpriced in my opinion. A taxi cab ride from the hotel to the restaurant cost $5.00 each way. The front desk and valet parking attendant were all cordial and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again when back in the area!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the "great stay" review. The hotel is really located in an exceptional location for so many activities. A quick walk to the Sprint Center, and we are proud to be the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertainment District. Thanks for the visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great friendly staff that treated me as a valued client, large comfortable room including a large bathroom, great breakfast again with a great staff (my coffee and water was never empty), front desk people were very helpful, I was attending a conference and the conference rooms and service were outstanding also. I never got a chance to check out the bar but it looked cool and I will try it next time

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for the quick and kind review of our hotel. I am pleased you had such a great visit. Please see us again next time you are in KC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was attending a convention and became snowed in by a snow storm. The hotel was clean and fresh despite being a historic property. The staff were helpful and were ready to handle issues from snowed in customers. I would saty here again without hesitation. I did have two points of concern. First, the valet service was spotty and unorganized. We had to wait just to find the valet. When I arrived, i was hoping for a bellman since I had a great deal of luggage. I found the valet but no offer for my bags, so i made it work. Secondly, since I had many questions over the stay, the staff at the front desk were for the most part helpful and friendly but there were a least two staff members who did not reflect the good service the others provided. I felt more of a bother to them than a guest. But due to the storm, i expected some bumps in the road. Also, the Drum Room was an excellent experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for the review, it certainly was a difficult time during the snow storm, but I am pleased we provided you a nice warm stay. Point taken about the valet parking and we will certainly look into the dates and circumstances that could have contributed to slow delivery times. Please look us up again for future visits to Kansas City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraksa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful during a snowstorm that shut down the city. There was quite a bit of street noise from snow removal equipment even from a high (10th) floor. Food better than average. Quirky layout with lots of steps and ramps....I guess this would be expected with a historic property. Valet/bellman not always present. Carpet getting a little worn and a little mold in shower. I would definitely stay again but I would probably ask to see the room first!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for taking a moment to review your stay at our hotel. There are a couple of issues that we clearly need to address. However overall I am pleased you had a nice stay and most importantly we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Village,TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My company booked me here for a downtown Kansas City convention since Hilton is our preferred hotel vendor. As a Diamond member I asked for an upgrade but when I reached my room it was facing the opposite side of the other wing of the hotel and I felt I was in a downtown apartment with no view from the 10th floor. I stayed here four nights and could have tried to change my room but did not bother as I had more important priorities. This is a historic and very old hotel but the rooms and bathrooms were nicely sized, clean and updated for a very old hotel. My room had a nice work desk and a flat screen TV so no real complaints regarding the room. My issues were with the room service and the kitchen and breakfast services. It was the absolute WORST service and wait staff attitudes of any hotel that I have stayed at in my memory. Considering the fact that my room cost around $225 per night plus $18.00 per day for valet, one would expect a higher class of service with more appreciative attitudes. The best and most friendly service was at the Drum Room bar where the wait staff and bartenders were great - the highlight of my stay at the hotel. Room service forgot two memu items and the silverware and 15 minutes later returned (no apology) with silverware but still without one of the entre items and the delivery staff mentioned that room service was closed for the night @ 7:30 PM really?
Also my credit card number (not my actual card) was stolen after spending my first day here and I had to cancel the card which has never ever happened to me ever! Anyone reading this review please note - this is a privately owned franchise Hilton property not a corporate owned Hilton hence the probable reason why this hotel was not up to the typical high standards of a Hilton corporate owned hotel. I am a Diamond member of Hiltons and love this chain and have stayed domestically and internationally at Hiltons with always a good to outstanding experience, this time was not the case. I do not know if I would ever stay here again because of the credit card situation which was weird because after my card company contacted me the hotel delivered a warning letter to everyone stating that calls were being made to hotel guests and asking for their credit card numbers - what? This was not my case and I think the hotel management learned that someone internally was hijacking card numbers and this was a way to CYA (cover your A__) situation and did not want to alarm guests that they may have had a fraud operator somewhere on their staff, but I can not prove this. I usually would ask to speak to the Hotel manager but my schedule was such that I just did not feel like dealing with the multitude of issues. This review is not indicative of all the hotel staff -the concierge was very helpful and the valet guys were friendly and performed their services great. Just don't have breakfast or room service there. I will however give the benefit of the doubt as they may have been shorthanded due to two large snow storms that had hit the city that week so maybe some staff could not make it in to work. The credit card thing was the most disconcerning. Other then that the hotel is about a block from the KC cenvention center and there are numerous restaurants down 14th street. The Bristol Seafood restaurant was excellent if you like seafood.Good luck to future hotel guests, I hope your stay is more uneventful at the Hilton President in downtown KC then mine was! This review todate is the lowest rating I have given any hotel and does not match their average high ratings, perhaps they will learn from this review and improve their operational efficiency for future guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Baltimore Avenue (front of Hotel). Enjoy the Drum Room bar and have a cold Ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
So sorry you had some issues during your visit, the hotel was certainly stressed to capacity with two major snowstorms in one week, i know our staff really tried to provide the services we would in normal situations. I would be at your leisure if you would like to discuss your visit over the phone. As you can see by our ratings and comments your visit certainly is not the norm.
Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A very nice and comfortable Hotel conveniently located in downtown Kansas City. The Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Hotel is conveniently located to numeous shops and restaurants. The President is my first choice when visiting Kansas City.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Larry, thanks so much for the great review. I am thankful you pointed out the outstanding staff. We have a wonderful group of hospitality professionals and they will certainly see your kind words. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.