We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KU Sprint Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Save Saved
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #21 of 110 hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“KU Sprint Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good location for KU fans to stay for games at Sprint Center. Only complaint is bad Wi-Fi service (AT&T). Otherwise, rooms are nice and quiet. Easy walking distance to Sprint Center. Beds are good. We would stay here again anytime we are in KC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for the review of our hotel. Certainly pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the proximity to the Sprint Center (we are indeed the closest hotel) Apologies for the internet service. During the first quarter of 2013 we are completing an entire upgrade of our internet and related services, you will see marked improvement. Look forward to having you back...and...Rock Chalk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    172
    76
    30
    23
See reviews for
81
166
43
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I wrote a review back in 2008 after my first stay at the Hilton President. I still love this place after several more stays. Hotel was sold out with the Springsteen concert right down the road, yet the service was still great. I called on my way into town to see if I could check in early, no problem. When I found out my room faced the P&L district, again, no problem changing to the front of the hotel. The front desk could not have been more polite. Valet was very nice and even directed me to a local store within walking distance. Again, when I needed a spoon and asked someone, they went down to the restaurant and got one for me. Everyone was happy to help. The hotel was sold out, staff could have been grumpy and rude but they were very polite. I've been to several less busy hotels with terrible customer service.

With it's location to the Power and Light District, Sprint Center and downtown, plus great service and beautiful hotel, it's safe to say I will return again when I visit KC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. Although the hotel itself is a beauty or staff of hospitality professionals is what sets us apart from any hotel in the area. I am so pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel was perfect for my weekend getaway with friends. We were visiting from Nebraska for a trip to party and shop around. The location is right downtown in the power and lights district so its real easy to get to bars and entertainment. it also is very close to the interstates to get around the city quickly. parking was in a covered garage right behind the hotel with easy access and it does offer in-and-out privilege. There was a wedding party one night when we got in late so we almost had to park on the street but eventually found a spot. The room was very nice and clean, the bathroom was bigger than what i expected and also very clean. They gave us a free upgrade to an upper floor corner room so we had two walls of windows with a good view which was great. I would recommend this hotel for anyone older, not really for kids. The hotel seemed to be more for the business type person, couple, or friends, not so much for families.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. As the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertainment District it certainly is easy to get around and enjoy the benefits. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I would say this place is average at best. I was in town for a concert at the Sprint Center and the location of the hotel is fantastic if going to the Sprint Center. The room itself was pretty small and nothing really special.
The worst part of the room (Room 317) was the shower. The water pressure was horrible. I have never taken a shower with less water pressure. Also, the water was coming out in a weird pulsating way to make things even more annoying. In all the hotels I have ever stayed at, this shower was the absolute worst I have ever been in. I took a shower when I got back home because I felt like Morty Seinfeld when they put in low flow shower heads in Jerry's apartment...I would have complained to the staff, but we were leaving and I didn't really feel like it.
Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Well, that certainly is not the kind of review we like to see! I am terribly sorry there were some water pressure issues during your visit. We will go back and visit the room to see if we can replicate the issue or if it was a one time event. Either way...sorry...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbab
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Maria, Supervisor at the Front Desk was most excellent!! I had booked a 1 King Bed 1 Bedroom Suite for a two night stay. Upon arrival, I was sent to the 13th Floor to my Suite. Bad news... what was on the Hilton web site for 1 King Bed 1 Bedroom Suite picture was not what I got..... "one" wee little window 2X2 way up high.....no big city views! Miss Maria fixed the situation pronto and I was most pleased and had a very happy stay!

Room Tip: Ask to talk to Miss Maria! She knows her hotel!! She aims to please the customer with most excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. Maria is indeed one of our true hospitality professionals here at the President. It is very kind you have taken the time to recognize her efforts! Thanks again for your time and we will make sure Maria is aware of your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel looks old, but that is because they renovated an older property. The lobby is open and crowded at the same time. There are lots of plush chairs and sofas for visiting. There’s a player piano, which was playing way too loud. The staff were willing to lower the volume. Check in went quick, but my HHonors number was not tied into my reservation, despite me doing that online. Even though there are three (small) elevators, it can take a while for one to arrive.

The room was fairly good-sized, but looks old--again owing to trying to keep its historical look. The bed was comfortable and traffic noise was hardly noticeable, even with I-670 only a half block away. There was a desk with office chair, an upholstered chair with Ottoman, and a TV on a chest of drawers. The bathroom was quite large with plenty of counter space. Oddly, they removed the shower doors (and put in a curtain) but left the shower door frame in place. The shower water pressure was fairly low. The fan comes on automatically when it senses movement by the toilet and then stays on for 15 minutes. I wanted to make the time less, but you can’t control it.

Unfortunately, there’s no power outlet on the outside wall. There wasn’t enough light to read while sitting in the chair, but the desk lamp was able to reach over to the table next to the chair, though the cord had to hang in the air. It was still a bit dim, since one of the bulbs had burned out, but I was able to cannibalize a bulb from one of the end table lamps to get enough light to read by.

When I got out of the shower on that first morning, I noticed a used towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. When I first came in the room, I noticed that the bathroom wastebasket was partially blocking the doorway and there was a large food crumb in front of the chair, so housekeeping must have rushed through the room. The hotel was close to my conference, but I wouldn’t stay here again. I really prefer modern-looking properties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to conduct such a detailed review. The hotel is indeed a historic hotel, and we have gone to great lengths to preserve the detail and the heritage of the President. We would like to think we would appeal to any traveller, but it seems that you did not find the hotel entirely to your liking. I am certainly pleased you pointed out the details you did enjoy, and overall it appears you had a nice visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our stay while we attended the Women of Faith conference. We arrived early and was simply going to ask to leave our luggage and the desk clerk said she could go ahead and check us in, no problem. Wow, that was the beginning of a great stay. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. Our room was cleaned to perfection. I loved the historic feel and charm of the old building. Parking was a breeze! The hotel is located in the Power and Light District so we had plenty of choices for dining and we could walk just a few blocks to the Sprint Center for the conference. We saw the same desk clerk on our check out, she was great. Our stay could not have been better, well maybe if it had been longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for the very thoughtful review of our hotel. We enjoy having the Women of Faith event each year in Kansas City, and I am so pleased you chose our hotel! You noted some of the items that seperate us from the other hotels in the area. Location, service and quality of product just to name a few.
We certainly look forward to having you back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.