We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, charm and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton President Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton President Kansas City to your Saves list
Hilton President Kansas City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast, Parking & WiFi
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely, charm and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My sister and I enjoyed our stay while we attended the Women of Faith conference. We arrived early and was simply going to ask to leave our luggage and the desk clerk said she could go ahead and check us in, no problem. Wow, that was the beginning of a great stay. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. Our room was cleaned to perfection. I loved the historic feel and charm of the old building. Parking was a breeze! The hotel is located in the Power and Light District so we had plenty of choices for dining and we could walk just a few blocks to the Sprint Center for the conference. We saw the same desk clerk on our check out, she was great. Our stay could not have been better, well maybe if it had been longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for the very thoughtful review of our hotel. We enjoy having the Women of Faith event each year in Kansas City, and I am so pleased you chose our hotel! You noted some of the items that seperate us from the other hotels in the area. Location, service and quality of product just to name a few.
We certainly look forward to having you back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    195
    87
    33
    24
See reviews for
88
191
46
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, IA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Costs of everything goes up, but what makes your stay at this hotel superior to others is the staff. The beauty of this 1926 restored landmark is second to the quality of personnel that supports a guest's visit. From the doormen to the desk clerks to the wait staff and cooks in the excellent dining establishments (Starbucks, Walnut Room and the new Providence).
Customer service is definitely their goal!
We stayed there for a family wedding. They were able to accommodate our families and provide a fair price for the rooms. I would highly recommend staying there or holding an event in any of their conference or ball rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review, there is no higher compliment than recognition of our hospitality professionals. They take great pride in delivering the best service in Kansas CIty, and at the same time pride in this wonderful historic building. We look forward to seeing you again at The President!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very busy when I stayed there but the staff was helpful, prompt and pleasant. Will use this hotel for future events that I will attend. Had a wonderful stay, wish I could stay longer. I liked the convenience of the different restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for the kind and brief review of our hotel. I am pleased you found the location and room to your liking. However the most important part of your review is the kind recognition of our staff. They work so terribly hard to provide the finest guest experience in the city. Thank you for your time and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a good hotel for business travelers. Staff was excellent and very attentive and location in downtown KCMO in the Power & Light District was great. The hotel has a small, but adequate, workout room. It has no wet area, pool, or sauna. Probably not the best choice for families. Also, for an older hotel, the lighting was great. One small item, as I was going to bed I discovery I forgot my contact case. Unfortuately, the hotel staff was not very helpful and the hotel did not even sell contact cases in the gift shop. I have seen much smaller, and less luxurious hotels have this item. They should stock the gift shop with some basic essentials. Otherwise, it was a nice hotel for the business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for taking a moment to share your thoughts about your visit. A very kind review indeed. I am sorry we could not assit better with your contacts situation, and we will use this bit of information to see if we can make some slight improvements in our gift shop areas. Look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose the Hilton president for it's downtown location, staying two nights in a "Junior Suite".
The hotel is a 100 years old and has been sympathetically restored and updated, retaining its original character.
Reception was very good, friendly and helpful, provided us with maps and guides. Car parking was convenient just behind the hotel (we chose to self-park) with lots of space. Our room, a corner "Junior Suite" on the 8th floor was large, well furnished with seating area, big desk, and big windows on two sides. We were delighted with the room and slept well both nights. (Just one disappointment, no fridge but a minor point.) The room had wired ethernet as well as Wifi.
Breakfast was included in our room deal and the buffet was excellent, with freshly made omelettes and a good choice of cold foods and pastries and good service.
The joy of the hotel is that it also has a very good bar, The Drum Room, frequented not just by guests, and an excellent, newly opened restaurant, the Providence. We ate there both nights and the food was interesting, the service excellent and knowledgeable and the room comfortable, well lit and with well spaced tables and booths.
For us the President was exactly what a hotel should be, the complete home from home.

Room Tip: We were delighted with the space and light in our 8th floor "Junior Suite" - one big room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
What a wonderful review! It is always nice to hear from our international visitors as you have a different take on hospitality than many of our domestic visitors. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel, and the compliment of being your favorite hotel in five weeks is such a nice compliment! Hopefully you make it to the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here while attending an event at the Sprint Center. Within easy walking distance of the arena (3 blocks). Plenty of eating and drinking establishments nearby. The hotel is a restored facility. The rooms are on the small side, but still plenty of room. Wi fi included but parking is extra. Hallways were noisy at times at night. Staff was friendly and efficient. I did not go to the hotel restaurant or bar, but seemed busy. Overall, I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room well away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for the kind review of your visit to our hotel. We are indeed the only hotel in the Power and Light Entertinment DIstrict. Many of our visitors find the charm and location of the hotel the finest in the city. We certainly look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This centrally located hotel in the "Power and Light" entertainment district of downtown Kansas City is a gem. Built around 1926, it was tastefully restored in 2006 and is an excellent place to stay. The junior suite we had was spacious and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are relatively small but immaculate. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The junior suites are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipstrnad, General Manager at Hilton President Kansas City, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind review, I am pleased you noted the cleanliness of your room, our housekeeping department takes a great deal of pride in their work. We would love to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton President Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton President Kansas City

Address: 1329 Baltimore, Kansas City, MO 64105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kansas City
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#11 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton President Kansas City 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond award winning hotel, and the only hotel in the new Power and Light entertainment district. The hotel was originally opened in 1927, closed for many years. Re-opened in 2005 after a 45 million dollar renovation. This stunning hotel is truly one of Kansas City's grand hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton President Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton President Kansas City Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Hotel Kansas City
Hilton Kansas City
Kansas City Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton President Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.