We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best old time grilled burger in Kansas City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winstead's Steakburger's

Winstead's Steakburger's
101 Emanuel Cleaver III Boulevard, Kansas City, MO 64112-1929
(816) 753-2244
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 1,200 restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Californian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“The best old time grilled burger in Kansas City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Winstead's Steakburger's are the best old time grilled burger in the Kansas City area. They have great milk shakes and shoe string frys. The frys are great when they are hot. Not so good cold

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    59
    49
    21
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food and Family Restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really can't beat a Winstead's hamburger and chocolate shake.... Been going for years and years and still pulling in the crowds .... Wholesome foods well prepared and great family atmosphere in the Plaza restaurant....

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife kept talking about her experience at Winstead's. She told me how awesome they were to our 2-year old and even brought him out some free sorbet while waiting for the food. I decided we should go try it as a family and my experience was a lot different. We went to the location on Shawnee Mission Parkway and besides the service being very slow it felt like we were ignored. The servers were all joking and at one point the servers and the kitchen staff were all just sitting out in the dining area talking. The service was very slow and we were not offered any refills while we waited or any kind of update. Also, at the end the server just walked by and dropped the check on the table, we had to flag her down to order dessert. She then brought a new check and we waited over 15 mins for her to come back and take our money to cash us out. All I keep thinking is I can't believe we spent $30 for 2 adults and 1 todler to eat. From what I hear, I guess you just shouldn't go at dinner time.
I heard one server say to another "What do you expect when her mom is the GM." You would think that if the GM's daughter was working she would want to keep the service tip top, but I guess not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Frostees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

As high school students in the late '40s we "hung out" here...The best Frostees in the world and they are still available...Retro art nouveau decor is still there including JUKE BOXES !...Right on the edge of the Country Club Plaza.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgu
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“American Soul”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great place . . . nice people both staff and people eating there, don't go there for fusion esoteric foam and avant garde, but if you want perfect hash browns, great eggs and a genuine smile, it's your place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winstead's Steakburger's also viewed

 

Been to Winstead's Steakburger's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winstead's Steakburger's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.