We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what others said” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   11801 Blue Ridge Road, Kansas City, MO 64134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Quincy, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than what others said”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had little expectations coming to this motel because of all the negative reviews I read about it. We showed up and stayed two nights there and it was a pleasant experience. They did mention they are remodeling the lot and that they are doing things to make it better. They do rent to people on a weekly/monthly basis, which could be why some of the comments may be a bit negative. The beds were a bit uncomfortable, but we expected that since we're used to our bed. There was no bugs present as other reviewers mentioned. It's off a major highway and for the price, it was pretty good since it's literally minutes away from the Zoo, the Plaza, and the Kansas State Line.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    2
    3
    18
See reviews for
10
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

When we checked in the lady was very nice and welcoming. She told us of places we should go while we were there. With out her our trip could have been very boring. However they have a nice pool so I think it would with out even if we weren't out on the town. Even though we are just passing thru the town, we will stay here next time we come :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Room was disgusting in every measurable category. Location is in the KC slums with a check into cash store & a liquor store across the street. Nearby convenience store worker said area was not safe and pointed to this hotel. This hotel is filled with many people who live in it for long periods. Lots of hoodlums moving around, standing outside rooms with shirts off, .......broken and beat up cars in parking lot. Staying at a rest area in your car would be better

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmogm, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We apologize regarding your visit at our property. We are located in a quite surburban location near a major interstate. The shopping area near the Hotel accommodates many business like Grocery Stores, Sam's club and many restaurants including PayDay Loan store mentioned in this review. Your comments have been noted and welcome your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is the worst hotel in hotel history. When we came to check in, the lady at the front desk told us we had to go look at the rooms to make sure they were ok before she would give us the keys. We had no choice to stay at this hotel, we literally called every hotel in the city and due to a conference that was going on, all the other hotels were all booked, except this one. So, we had to go ahead and check in.
The room was gross. It had roaches crawling all over the room and shower area. The ceiling was dripping over our beds a substance that smelled like pee. the fire alarm would not stop going off, we had to disconnect the alarm ourselves to make it stop beeping loudly. The beds were hard and very uncomfortable. Etc, etc, etc...
I've stayed in hotels all over the world...and this is hands down the worst hotel ever. Don't stay here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kcmogm, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Sorry you had a bad experience. We strive to maintain our property. We are upgrading our rooms to include new mattresses. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

honestly this place should be SHUT DOWN. there are roaches,mold,spiderwebs,and dirt in every corner of that hotel. housekeeping is non-exsistent. all they do is have somebody come by your room pushing a shopping cart,and hand you new towels and sheets and then they leave. all the sheets and covers have burn holes. we had to change rooms 2 or 3 times because none of the tv's worked,and we still didn't get one that came in clearly. asking for a non-smoking room won't matter and they'll even tell you that people smoke in the non-smoking rooms anyway and they do nothing about it. i never walked barefoot on the floors because they were disgusting. the walls are stained,the showers are dirty and the water backs up in the tub,the sinks either don't have hot water or won't even turn on. nothing but white trash and ghetto people stay there. the whole time my boyfriend and i were unloading our bags we were being watched. the staff are just as white trashy and rude as their guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at the motel on the foruth of July ,and had a great time the front desk staff was very firendly and helpful went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed.They have a beautiful pool and hugh which my kids loved the room was nice and clean.I will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati,Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Never book a place via HOTELS.COM. The list of "Quick Facts" describing this motel was carefully disguised by a very long list of features that were not included. You had to notice the wee astericks. The picture of the motel featured must have been taken years ago. This motel was disgusting. We had paid in advance and they have a "no refund policy". We didn't feel we could afford the cost of five additional nights at a different place. So we stayed. On the third day I saw roaches and insisted on a refund. It was refused. We left anyway. Later the manager called me and said we would be refunded for the night not stayed. What a nightmare. The motel was booked as "Americas Best Value Inn" but the receipt read "Best Value Inn & Suites"

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — roaches
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 11801 Blue Ridge Road, Kansas City, MO 64134
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story exterior corridor. Seasonal outdoor pool. No pets. FREE parking for cars/trucks/buses. FREE guest breakfast and wi-fi. Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants and lounges nearby. Short drive to Kansas City. Meeting facility. I-435, US 71 exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.