We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Philly Cheese Steak in Kansas City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fred P Ott's Bar & Grill

Fred P Ott's Bar & Grill
4770 J.C Nichols Pkwy, On the Country Club Plaza, Kansas City, MO 64105-2116
816-753-2878
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 1,214 Restaurants in Kansas City
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Good for: Bar scene
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Philly Cheese Steak in Kansas City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I heard on the Radio of the best Philly Cheese Steak was at this new chain in town. Not true!! Best Philly Cheese Steak goes to Fred P Ott's Bar and Grill. Fred P Ott's is not a fancy restaurant but if you want good American Bar Food there is none better. What I like about any of their locations that the food is always good, the music is never too loud, and people are always pleasantly surprised with the quality and value. Their hamburgers are fantastic too but that is another review!

Don't get sucked in by a good advertisement! Fred P Ott's has the best Philly Cheese Steak in Kansas City.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs a deep cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I know Fred P's has been around a long time. The drinks are affordable, and if you are just hanging out for happy hour it is fine, but man there is a definite funk when you walk in the door. I wouldn't eat there for dinner. Used the restroom once and wish that i hadn't.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A great place for burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I wanted something other than a big dinner and the hotel recommended this place. Fred P. Ott's isn't long on a wine list, but the burgers are pretty good and the onion rings just right.

If you want a late night snack or burger, saddle up the bar, say hello to Melanie and enjoy this place. Not a fine dine, but has fine bar food. Worth the stop. I would say that this a definite come back to place in KC MO.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A regular late night place for food. Relaxed atmosphere and good burgers and rings. Plus Newcastle on tap.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A server should wash their hands after they blow their nose.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I ignored bad reviews on another site or two, and had an OK experience here for a happy hour a month ago. Stopped in the other night as I was jonesing for a beer & a burger, and happened to be close. Grabbed a stool at the bar. The burger was good, onion rings great; but any desire I had for another beer was extinguished when I saw the bartender blow his nose right in front of me, then - instead of washing his hands (as I was waiting for him to do) - grabbing & filling a fresh glass for a patron, and opening a can of beer for her boyfriend Really? Yuck. No more for me, thanks!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred P Ott's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Fred P Ott's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fred P Ott's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.