We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to check out with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manifesto

Manifesto
1924 Main Street, Under the Reiger Historic Hotel, Kansas City, MO 64108
(816) 536-1325
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Nightlife in Kansas City
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great spot to check out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Exploring KCMO while here for a conference and wanted to see the city, not just the pretend city near the convention center. This place gave us what we were looking for before heading to the Blue Room at 18th and Vine. We all liked our cocktails. I'm a Moscow Mule fan and theirs was excellent. The $11/drink plan is awesome - makes it easy to figure out group bills - just don't forget to remind that cheap friend to include tax AND tip or they'll leave you making up the difference once again!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but on a time limit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A group of my girlfriends and I visited The Rieger Hotel for dinner, and then had a reservation for drinks afterwards downstairs at 8:30pm. It was very neat down there and had a great ambience - almost like you were doing something bad by "sneaking" down to the speakeasy. The drinks were on the high side at $11, but were VERY delicious. We had a great experience, except for the thing that REALLY turned us off was that at 10:15, the hostess came to our table and announced that we had 15 more mintues and we could either quickly order another round or we should tab out. What?? we were buying drinks consistently and hadn't even been there for 2 hours. This was not mentioned to us upon making reservations so we were a little upset. We then decided to give another bar close by our money, and asked for our tabs. About 10 minutes later, the hostess comes back over to us enthusiastically and tells us we are in luck, and that the next 8 top actually turned to a 5 top, so we could stay! (as if she was doing us a major favor). We told her we had already cashed out and she asked if she wanted us to stop the server and get our cards back. We told her no, and that we were going someplace else. It was a major disappointment, becuase up until then, we had a wonderful time. I don't think I would go back there based upon this, because when us gals get together (which isn't often), we like to spend more than 2 hours having cocktails.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Modern Day Speakeasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I had heard about this place for a while and finally made it there with some friends and was not disappointed. Excellent service and excellent drinks. Our server knew everything to know about the handcrafted cocktails that are made here. The drinks are $11 a piece which is more than I usually would pay, but the ambience and the deliciousness of the drinks more than justified it. Reservations are highly recommended. You can actually text 816.536.1325 to get in. When we did this they responded within a few minutes to let us know there was space available. Definitely going to this place again and again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

What a unique, trendy spot! The underground, low light setting gives it a very grown and sexy appeal. Drinks were tasty with many unconventional offerings. Food choices were the same. One suggestion: don't show up extra hungry thinking this a place for a meal. It's is more a place for great drinks and company! Great find on my weekend in KC.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love this bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a great place for handcrafted cocktails. The place is set up like a prohibition era speakeasy. The entrance is at the back of e building and you have to use a push button speaker because they keep the door locked. You have to go down some steep stairs to the basement and it is very dark, mostly lit by candlelight. Call or text for a reservation because you might have to wait a while without a reservation. They do take walk in customers but you might be limited on how long they will let you stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manifesto also viewed

 

Been to Manifesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manifesto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.