We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay but Some Staff Needs Re-trained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 West 48th Place, Kansas City, MO 64112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Omaha
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay but Some Staff Needs Re-trained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The location of this hotel is wonderful About a half of a block from the Plaza. The front desk and valet staff were very friendly and helpful. However, the staff at the pool and bar were slow and even aloof at times.

The pool is a little weird. Three lounge chairs is all they have outside of the two cabanas (which each have two loungers, but are shaded. The rest of the seating is regular chairs. I think they try to make the pool area a "club" scene and that's why they need so many chairs vs loungers. If you're looking for a pool to layout at, this might not be the place for you. Also, the cabanas are first come first serve, which I have never seen. Usually you can pay to reserve one.

The rooms are nicely done. We were upgraded at check-in to a Deluxe King which was nice of the staff. The bed was super comfy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sorella_GM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
omaha7533,
Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. We appreciate the opportunity to learn from your stay and correct the missteps in bar service. Of course we do have the option to pay and reserve the cabanas. They are only first come - first served if they have not been reserved. I do apologize for not properly explaining this to you. We also do have a full length seating area in the pool where you can be submerged only waist-high to relax in the water. Thank you for posting pictures and we will make sure to fix the issues you experienced while also continuing the great service and experience you received elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    48
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
101
5
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A very pleasant stay at this facility! Enjoyed being close to the Plaza. An all-around good experience! Stayed in one of the deluxe rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful in all respects. Would come back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Staff were accommodating and friendly! Loved the rooftop ambiance! Complimentary European breakfast was perfect, thanks Simone for your service with a smile! Rooms were lovely! Only suggestion would be in room microwave and refrigerator. Otherwise, a delightful and elegant hotel experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel Sorella is a good overall hotel; good location just outside the country plaza, modern contemporary feel to the hotel and the room, and friendly staff. Nothing fancy or extraordinary, but rather very solid. Several hotels in the area are a bit old so it is a nice deviation from that. Breakfast is good again but not excellent. Overall, it is good for the price and I may go back again, unless I am looking for something extra special.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better options
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

love the sorella in kansas city...the staff is so amazing and take care of every request i have...Mona is the best at the front desk....she always remembers me when I return....i look forward to coming back very soon...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny,ny
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My family of four enjoyed this hotel near many shops and restaurants. Top notch service from the breakfast team. We especially loved the small but beautiful pool on the seventh floor that was a welcome respite from the intense heat. Also has a very nice gym

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We chose Hotel Sorella, on The Plaza, because it's new. We're glad we made that decision. From check-in to check-out, the personal attention provided by every employee was outstanding. The severely modern design, throughout the hotel, works! We'll return.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza

Address: 901 West 48th Place, Kansas City, MO 64112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and sophisticated, a boutique hotel in Country Club Plaza. The newest hotel by Valencia Group blends timeless elements of classic design with Mediterranean influences. Hotel Sorella is a premier luxury hotel in Kansas City near shopping, dining, museums and events. Your rate includes complimentary, streaming quality, internet access, and a complimentary European breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorella Country Club Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.